Roast Chicken with Lemon, Garlic, and Thyme

Mission: roast a whole chicken and actually have it turn out. Status: conquered:)

Since forever I’ve been apprehensive about roasting a whole chicken from start to finish and have always gravitated toward the chicken burgers, ground turkey, and fish. I suppose it’s because the whole removing the giblets factor makes me feel as if I’m doing a biology lab instead of making dinner. The other day I was grocery shopping and organic whole chickens caught my eye. Rather, their 4.99 price tags grabbed my attention! As I contemplated resisiting the urge to head to the checkout with my much-loved box of chicken burgers, I realized that not once have I cooked a whole bird. Not even a turkey! I knew then that the bird was heading home with me. I followed this recipe, and besides the washing part, this dinner was incredibly easy and the turned out some of the best chicken I have had!

Roast Chicken:

Wash and clean bird. Salt and pepper inside and outside liberally. Stuff with one fresh bunch thyme, one halved lemon, and a halved garlic clove. Cut carrots and 1 big onion and place around birdalong with desired amount of whole potatoes. Drizzle generously with olive oil and add 1/2 T. Italian spices. Cook uncovered at 375 for 1 hour up, (20 min for each pound) Take out and let rest for 20 min. Serve over wilted spinach

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

