Blue Mountain Organics Nut Butter Review

When Blue Mountain Organics sent me a few of their raw, sprouted nut butters to review, I was in heaven. I mean, not only am I obsessed with  do I love nut butter, but they came in the cutest little jars. It was extremely hard to restrain from eating them straight out of the jar, but the recipes I came up with make me so happy that I did:) The company sent me four to try: Just 4 Nuts, Cashew, Almond, and Walnut Butter.

The first jar that I broke into was the Almond Butter. I spread it on Food for Life 7 Sprouted Grain Bread as a snack. Since the nut butters are not roasted, I had suspicion that they might be somewhat…flavorless. However, I was pleasantly surprised! This one had a bold almond flavor and a really creamy texture without being too drippy.

The next day, curiosity got the best of me and I broke into Just 4 Nuts at breakfast. This nut butter is made with pecans, cashews, almonds, and walnuts. I topped my steel cut oatmeal with a sliced banana and a big spoonful of this wonderfulness, which melted all over the top. The pecan flavor was dominant and made my oatmeal taste like a pecan pie!

The next jar to undergo my rath was the cashew butter. I spread a healthy dollop of it on Food for Life Sesame Bread then added a drizzle of agave. This one was the thickest and creamiest, which surprised me because it had the least fat of them all. It’s flavor was sweet and it’s safe to say that the Cashew Butter jar is nearly ready for mini overnight oats in a jar:)

Since I’m a huge fan of walnuts, I saved the best for last. I spread the walnut butter on sprouted multigrain bread and then added a bit of unsweetened apple butter and a fresh picked apricot. Maybe it was just because of my huge expectations, but I thought this one tasted more almond-y than like walnuts. However, it had the most amazing texture with just a bit of crunch and I loved the sweet-tart combination of the apples and butter.

Then the hard part came…choosing my favorite. Nut butter tasting is a very serious buisness, you know:) The final verdict? The Cashew Butter. I intially thought this would rank 4th but its sweetness and creaminess won me over.

I also incorporated the butters into a few recipes throughout the week in place of my normal almond and peanut butter. All of these are delicious and I highly reccomend trying out a few!

3 Step Energy Bites:

These are like little Larabars in a ball form, only much more fresh. Definately a keeper!

Ingredients:

1.) Prunes or dates, pitted 2.) Just 4 Nuts Butter 3.) Chia Seeds 4.) Coconut (optional)

Directions:

Cut date or prune and spread out, creating a cavity. Fill with a little dollop of nut butter. Top with chia seeds and coconut, fold to shut, and roll into ball.

I also added them to my smoothies…

                                              Berry Cashew Smoothie:                                                           

  Blend: 1 cup berries, 1 T. Cashew Butter, 1 cup nut milk,  handful spinach, and flaxseed.  (I also added vanilla protein powder and spirulina powder) Topped with nuts and chia seeds

                                 

                                   Banana Almond Smoothie:  

Blend: 1 frozen banana, 2 T. Almond Butter, 3/4 c. almondmilk, handful spinach, flaxseed, 1 T. Cocoa powder

              Topped with Galaxy granola, chia seed, and coconut

                                           And, last but definately not least! Avocado, Banana, Almond Butter Wrap.                                            

                                         

                                            pic from heathereatsalmondbutter

 Just combine 2 T. Almond Butter, 1/2 of a sliced banana, and 1/4 of a ripe avocado in a whole grain wrap. (I used Ezekial). Warm slowly in a skillet and roll. Mmmm my favorite.

Overall, I loved the Blue Mountain Organics Nut Butters, and will be looking into purchasing some raw nut butters without a doubt!

Quick disclaimer: I was not compensated for reviewing these products; my opinions are solely my own.

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Blue Mountain Organics Nut Butter Review

  1. I LOVE cashew butter! It is by far my favourite nut butter out there! I also love the avocado banana and nut butter combo! It is surprisingly tasty together. I’ve never seen those nut butters, but will be on the lookout I usually use artisana, but they’re so expensive

    • Couldn’t agree more! I thought I would like it the least but it ended up being my favorite:) I love the almond butter -banana-avocado combo as perfect morning or pre workout “fuel”. Thank you for stopping by!

  2. I haven’t had walnut butter in so long this post reminds me I need some of it back in my life! I haven’t had cashew butter in awhile either hmm….

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

