WIAW [Garden Fresh]

 

Peas and Crayons

Hi there! This week’s (Tuesday edition) WIAW is filled with an abundance of healthy food from my garden! I have been so spoiled to have salads and vegetables picked in my backyard that I’m worried I’m going to become quite the snob and start turning down any produce grown farther than 5 feet from my house;) But first, we must cover breakfast. For about a week now I have been alternating without tire between Bob’s Red Mill Oat Bran (love!) and smoothie bowls every morning. Can’t get enough!

This morning’s smoothie bowl was Chocolate Carrot Cake. In the mix: frozen banana, carrot, flax oil, spinach, almondmilk, organic hemp protein powder, cocoa powder, and spirulina powder. I topped it with Maple Pecan Galaxy granola and chia seeds.

Around 9:30, I had a Siggi’s Pomegranate Passion Fruit. So, so delicious, and meets all of my picky guidelines with it’s low sugar and high protein!

Lunch was a salad using garden lettuce, roasted veggies, beets, garbonzo beans, tomatoes, mushrooms, cucumbers, and a giant sprig of garden cilantro. (Learning about some of the great health benefits of cilantro!) I also had a few Mary’s Gone Crackers and a bit of guacamole mixed with salsa for dipping.

                                                                                  (up close and personal)

 Later, I had a Kind Fruit and Nut Delight  (love the brazil nuts!)

along with 2 apricots from a friend’s tree. Now I want to plant more fruit trees!

I didn’t get the chance to snap a picture of dinner, but I cooked up Trader Joe’s Chile Lime Chicken Burgers on the George Foreman grill along with asparagus and more garden salad. These burgers are so flavorful and really healthy!

Finally, dessert was a few prunes, which I mostly bought because of the adorable individual wrappers they come in:) Extra fiber doesn’t hurt, either.

Speaking of fiber, I picked up one of these at the store the other day since they are popping up everywhere and I hadn’t seen fresh (healthy) veggie burgers on the shelf before. The verdict? Really flavorful and has a denser texture than most veggie patties.

Can’t wait to read all of your WIAWs! Visit back soon for some great smoothie bowl posts coming up! Three words. Bananas. Almond Butter. Coconut. Enough said:)

Have an amazing rest of your week!

 

Categories: Uncategorized | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “WIAW [Garden Fresh]

  1. I am so jealous of the fresh veggies from your garden! Yumm

  2. Yummy eats! I love that KIND bar. 🙂

  3. Im so jealous of your fresh produce!! I want to start a garden too; did you start from seeds just like from lowes or somewhere? And those chicken burgers are soo good, you should try them on tj’s pretzel roll(:

    • You should definitely start one- it’s still not too late:) I started all from seed with the exception of tomato, kale and jalepeno which I picked up from Home Depot. That sounds delicious- I’m sure I will love that as I love pretty much everything from Trader Joe’s!:) Thanks for stopping by!!

  4. Wow – that Chocolate Carrot Cake smoothie bowl sounds delicious! I will keep an eye out for those WildWood burgers at the store. They sound a lot less processed than most!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

