Healthy Summer Fig Butter

So far this year, my fig tree has produced…wait for it… 2 figs. And the birds had no mercy and ate them.  I know you’ve got to have patience with gardening, but I still had the picture in my head of overflowing bowls of ripe figs sitting on the counter while a big batch of fig and brie brioche baked in the oven. So you can imagine that when a friend offered to let us pick figs off her tree, I jumped at the opportunity. Then I got my wish: I had overflowing bowls of super ripe fruit…and no clue what to do with them all. Then I remembered thinking how Trader Joe’s fig butter would’ve ended up in my cart if it hadn’t been for all the sugar, and I decided that I must make a healthy version, no sugar added! This recipe is super easy and it will last for jars in the fridge for quite a while…enjoy!

Heathy Summer Fig Butter

Ingredients:

About 25 ripe figs

1/2 cup water

Juice of 2 big lemons

1 1/2 T. Cinnamon

1 T. Vanilla Extract

2 T. Mulling Spice

Directions:

Wash figs gently and cut off stems

Combine water with the mulling spice and simmer for about 10 minutes

Strain out the mulling spice.

Place figs in crockpot along with the lemon juice, mulling spice water, cinnamon, and vanilla.

Cook on low for about an hour, stirring once.

With an immersion blender, gently puree the figs.

Store in the fridge. This batch made a ton! Good thing it’s great for gifts:)

My current favorite thing to use it on? Plain yogurt + granola…so delicious! I have also been slathering it on Ezekial toast with nut butter and in cottage cheese.

Before I go, a quick garden update! (On the things that are actually producing!)

I have broccili, kale, lettuce, tomatoes, carrots, cilantro, bell pepper, and cucumbers all going strong right now:)

Kale+ Bragg’s+ garlic powder= amazing

My birthday is coming up and I am going out to dinner with the family, as usual:) My pick? Kabuki. Love the Seaweed Salad! Have an amazing rest of your weekend!

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Healthy Summer Fig Butter

  1. I LOVE FIGS!!! How lucky you are to get to pick some, even if it’s off someone else’s tree! Your garden looks beautiful, and I hope you have a wonderful birthday!

    • Thank you!! Yes, I have researched them and they actually are very nutritious, but I still only use a fourth of one in each shake and make sure it is all blended up. You can’t taste it at all!:)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

