Manitoba Harvest Hemp Protein Review

Over the past week, I have had the opportunity to make incredibly delicious and healthy smoothies in the morning using Manitoba Harvest Hemp Protein Powders that the company sent me to sample. Lately, I have been looking at more and more protein powder labels to find them full of additives and all kinds of scary ingredients!  I love that this company uses only a few quality ingredients in their protein and stars the hemp rather than loading it up with chemicals and fillers.  I had no idea how healthy hemp seed was, and it’s definitely going to become a staple around here along with my chia and flax seed. I was generously sent 5 of their proteins to try, Hemp Pro 50, Hemp Pro 70, Hemp Vanilla, Hemp Dark Chocolate, and Hemp Pro Fiber.

Although I was like a kid in a candy store and couldn’t decide what to try first, I finally settled on the Hemp Pro 70, which has 21 grams of protein per serving and is full of Omega- 3 and 6 fats. I made a tropical green smoothie with spinach, frozen banana, mango, pineapple, spirulina, flax oil, a bit of coconut milk, and the protein powder. The hemp gave it an even creamier texture and blended in so smooth that I couldn’t taste it at all.

The next powder to undergo my rath was the Hemp Pro Fiber, which I mixed in plain with almondmilk.  On it’s own, this flavor took a little getting used to. When I first tried it, I though wasn’t a huge fan, but by the time I was finished I decided I liked it! This one includes 54% of your recommended daily fiber intake!

I whipped up another green smoothie (I know, I really must start making other smoothies, too!) the next day at breakfast, this time a Vanilla Cinnamon Banana version. I used the Hemp Vanilla, Vanilla Almond milk, a frozen banana, vanilla extract, cinnamon, spinach, spirulina, and flax oil. Of all the hemp flavors, this one was my favorite of all! I tried it the next day in plain almondmilk and it still gave it a great flavor:) Love the 11 grams of fiber per serving, too!

The Hemp Dark Chocolate was reviewed next when I made a cocoa-banana-peanut butter smoothie for breakfast. Although I liked the vanilla better, it was still tasty and had a mild chocolate flavor which shone through when mixed with almondmilk. I love that it used fair trade and organic cocoa powder.

The last powder I sampled was the Hemp Pro-50, first in the form of almondmilk, and next blended into a strawberry-banana smoothie. This one tasted very similar to the Hemp Pro Fiber and took a little getting used to as well when mixed in the almondmilk. In the smoothie, however, it had a very mild flavor that didn’t overpower the fruit. The Pro-50 has 15 g of protein per serving and is a raw food.

In addition to sampling all of the protein powders, I was also able to try Hemp Hearts. I had seen these being given away as samples at Whole Foods and had heard great things so I was really looking forward to trying them. The verdict? Amazing! I love the texture they add when you mix them in smoothies and you can sprinkle them over anything, even salads! Each serving has 2,000 mg Omega-3 and 8,000 mg Omega-6, plus GLA.

Overall, I really enjoyed sampling these products, and would highly recommend them. Start with a half-serving at first and get used to the different flavor, then move to a whole. Trust me, you’ll want more!

This review is my sole opinion. I was not compensated for reviewing these products.

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Manitoba Harvest Hemp Protein Review

  1. I love hemp protein!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

