WIAW: Recent Eats

Letโ€™s get right to it, shall we? Thanks Jenn!

http://www.peasandcrayons.com/Peas and Crayons

I can’t believe it’s already What I Ate Wednesday… this week flew by! Like a good little blogger, I snapped some pics throughout the week of a few different meals. Here is this week’s WIAW in a recent eats version:)

Strawberry Shortcake Kale (still turned out pink!) Smoothie with chia seed and Hemp Hearts. In the mix: a frozen banana, strawberries, almondmilk, vanilla, spirulina, garden kale, and strawberry Whey Naturals USA protein powder.

Cherry-Blueberry Oatmeal with almondmilk, flax seed, and Hemp Hearts and a side of realizing it’s WIAW when you’re halfway done eating. ๐Ÿ™‚

Breakfasts this week have also included TJ Sprouted Bread with homemade raw almond butterย  or Blue Mountain Organics Raw Walnut Butter and honey

Snacks have been bars as, much to my wallets disapproval, I have been on a bar kick. This week has been full of Go Hunza Go Take a Hike Bar (so good!), Rise Protein Almond Honey Bar (also great), Lydia’s Spirulina Bar, and Go Raw Pumpkin Seed Bars.

And, of course, plenty of fresh fruit

Lunch today was a “snap a pic with your i-Phone” clean out the fridge salad…in the mix: spinach, roasted eggplant, lentils, beets, bell pepper, tomatoes, and broccoli with Bragg’s apple cider vinegar. Another recent lunch is a Modern Girl Nutrition sandwich: 2 pieces of Ezekiel with avocado, mushrooms, beets, tomatoes, spinach, garlic hummus, and pepper. I think I missed my calling and need to go work at Subway as a sandwich artist;)

Dinners have been filled with produce from the garden (still going strong ๐Ÿ™‚ )

Last night included wild caught salmon with Bragg’s seasoning on kale from the garden along with green beans.

Before I go, some product loving for this week: Ultima Electrolyte mixes! It’s been so hot an these are so refreshing! Plus, they are all natural and not filled with chemicals like Crystal Lite.

I have a ton of recipe posts planned and I’ll give you a sneak peek… chocolate coconut green smoothies and much more! Have a great rest of your week!:)

Categories: Uncategorized | 15 Comments

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “WIAW: Recent Eats

  1. All your meals sound so good! Not to ask what may be obvious, but for your homemade almond butter, do you just spin some raw almonds till they’re butterized? Do you soak them or add salt?

    • Don’t worry I was completely clueless at first haha- you just put the in the food processor and wait until they release fat and become creamy, which takes a little while. Mine turned out too chunky at first so I added a tiny bit of water. Then you put in your “add-ins”, like salt, cinnamon, honey, or chocolate:) Let me know how it goes!

  2. It’s so cute that you put MGN in beets on your food! Love it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. You homemade butter looks so good! I need to start making my own!

  4. I never would have guessed there is kale in your smoothie!! Sneaky way to get your greens ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Bars are so convenient for busy days. I’ll have to try the Spirulina Bar.

    I host a weekly health and fitness link up, Fitness Friday, if you’re interested in joining. This is the link for last week’s link up so you can see what it’s all about.
    [Fitness, Health and Happiness]: Fitness Friday

    • Thanks for inviting me! I’ll definitely check it out:) I’m so loving bars right now that I’m planning a post on my favorites…do you have any favorites I should try?

  6. Your food looks so fun!

    And it’s my first time here – I love your banner.

  7. Jealous of the veggies growing in your garden! Mine are TINY, haha! ๐Ÿ˜€
    Good job on the meals– I bet it’s all delish! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. I’m so jealous of your garden. My garden consists of two tomato plants, because nothing else will grow on my apartment balcony and I haven’t found local herb starts that I’ve liked. I wish I had the space!

    • Thank you! I saw in a magazine some great layouts for gardens in balconies! Google it and see if you get any inspiration:) Thanks for stopping by!

  9. Mmm your homemade butter looks so good, I really want to start doing that again (I used to more!) it’s fun to customize flavors and it’s cheaper too!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

