WIAW: Recipe Testing!

http://www.peasandcrayons.com/2012/06/sensible-snack-thon-wiaw-74.html

 

One of the best parts of summer is that you have time to try recipes…and time to take lots of pictures! This past week I’ve tried to challenge myself to really try out some new ideas rather than reaching for throw-together breakfasts of toast and oatmeal. Which isn’t hard to do with all of the great recipe ideas I get from all of your WIAW posts…IΒ  always want to do so much cooking on Thursday after blog reading that it’s a wonder I don’t weigh a million pounds!;) Anyways, one of the best things so far to come out of having time for recipe testingΒ  is this Key Lime Pie Green Smoothie (see previous post for recipe). I swear there’s pie in there somewhere! The morning started out with one of these bowls of epicness (new word)…

Mid-morning, I had a Pumpkin Apricot DIY LaraBar…this was so delicious and your wallet will love you!

Pumpkin Apricot DIY LaraBar

Ingredients:

1/2 cup almonds, soaked for at least an hour and drained

1 date

1/2 cup pitted apricots (I used fresh but dried will work best!)

1/3 cup pitted prunes

1 heaping spoonful pumpkin puree

1/4 cup pumpkin seeds

1/2 T. Cinnamon

1/2 tsp vanilla

Directions:

Place almonds in food processor and process until they are broken into little pieces. Set aside. Place dried fruit, pumpkin, cinnamon, and vanilla into processor and process until mixture is a sticky texture (only about one minute).Β  Fold almonds and pumpkin seeds into the fruit mixture and lay into a pan, making the bars about 1 inch thick. Place pan in freezer for about 10 minutes until it hardens up a bit, then cut into 4 medium or 3 large bars. Wrap in tin foil and enjoy:)

Lunch involved kale from the garden, which I wrapped around mixed veggies, avocado, and a bit of leftover salmon. Interesting combo, I know, but it was delicious! Lentils+Bragg’s and some sweet potato on the side…love those carbs!

The afternoon called for an Orgain, which I practically inhaled! You know how people on death row get to pick their last meal? Mine would definitely require one of these! πŸ™‚

I also had an orange, which I am beginning to think is my new favorite fruit. I never was a huge citrus fan, but I have been craving them all the time now!

Dinner was wild caught cod wrapped in a blue corn tortilla (My sister and I have been eating these so much that this post should be called Children of the Corn Tortillas!”) with microgreens, salsa, avocado, and Fage. AKA Healthy Fish Tacos. I also had a side salad with balsamic.

Dessert is unpictured but was a mix of Galaxy Granola, almondmilk, blueberries, and pumpkin seeds…definitely hit the spot!

…and I can’t forget this week’s product loving! I tried one of these Vega One Nutritional Shakes the other day in a basic banana green smoothie and fell in love! The flavor isn’t chalky or chemical-like and it boosts my smoothie with all kinds of good things, including 15 g of protein! I can’t wait to try the Vanilla Chai flavor.

There we have it-another WIAW complete! I love doing these because they are almost like taking little snapshots of my life. In a year from now, I can scroll through and say “I remember that week!”, instead of letting it slip out of memory forever. I’m sure you know what I mean:) On the menu for tomorrow morning: Mango Vanilla Overnight Oats…if they survive until then! Have an amazing rest of your week!

Categories: Uncategorized | 21 Comments

Post navigation

21 thoughts on “WIAW: Recipe Testing!

  1. The bars sound fantastic! Basically anything with pumpkin is a winner in my book! Thanks for sharing the recipe….I can’t wait to try these at home!

  2. The bars sound delicious and pretty easy, too!! Thanks for the recipe!

  3. OMG Love your blog! It is sooo cute. I’m going to have to make those larabars. They look super yummy and pretty simple to make. I can probably handle it without destroying my apartment.

    • Don’t worry you should see the kitchen after I cook! I always have to remind myself to put singredients away as soon as I’m done using them-that seems to help…a bit:)

  4. I love how you are always eating veggies from your garden, that is something I have always wanted to do! How long ago did you start growing your own veggies? P.S. I totally feel the same way about looking back on your WIAW and seeing how your daily eats evolve

    • I started my garden back in March but it’s definitely not too late to plant some summer produce- I have always wanted to be able to eat from my garden also and feel so fortunate now! Agreed, it’s a great way to see how your eating habits change and to make changes for the better:) Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Happy WIAW! πŸ™‚ I need to make a DIY Larabar sometime. We dont have Larabars here in Germany and I looovee them!

  6. I love the DIY Lara bars. They sound even better than a regular Lara bar!

  7. Thanks for the LARABAR Recipe!! I love making my own bars πŸ™‚

  8. Oranges are a slippery slope- I eat one and then I crave them for days! Then it goes away and I don’t crave the citrus until I’m ready to eat them all the time again πŸ™‚

  9. I don’t know which I’m drooling over more – that bar or your dinner. The blue corn tortillas seal the deal, I think. πŸ™‚

  10. Thanks for sharing. I am going to have to try your smoothie recipe! πŸ™‚

  11. Happy WIAW! I absolutely love the pumpkin bar. And your dinner – wow! Looks fantastic πŸ™‚

  12. I love making my own type of lara bars. So much cheaper! I love the vega vanilla chai flavour!!! Its my fave protein powder, I hope you like it too!

    • I will definitely have to try it! Agreed, I might even like the DIY version better- I see a lot more recipe posts on them coming in the future:)

  13. I enjoy trying and creating new recipes. The pumpkin LaraBar looks yummy. I just started using Vega products this week. Love the performance protein powder and the recovery accelerator. I haven’t tried the all in one shakes yet.

    You mentioned Shakeology being unhealthy. I’m always open to new information and was wondering what about it is unhealthy? Thanks!

    [Fitness, Health and Happiness]

    • Sorry that was a confusing comment- I said Shakeology > a chocolate milkshake by far, as in it’s a million times more healthy and delicious!:) I love Vega and definitely want to try some of their performance products. Thanks for stopping by!

  14. Wow, that looks delish. Would love it if you link it to Piquant Potluck

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

