Ode to Overnight Oats

As you already know, I am in love with oats. I know, I know, you’re probably thinking “A blogger who loves oats. Shocking.” Up until about a month ago, I ate them every single day in some form at breakfast, from steel cut to rolled to gluten free. However, with the weather getting hotter, I stopped eating oatmeal because, let’s face, sweating over a steamy bowl of oats isn’t exactly appealing. Now, I have found a way to reintroduce oats back into my mornings and reintroduced they are! I have finally jumped on the overnight oats bandwagon and have enjoyed a cool, creamy, and delicious bowl every day this week.

Blueberry Banana

Almond Butter Banana

Here’s the basic recipe- once you make this, feel free to get creative and stir in any add- ins:)

Basic Overnight Oats

Ingredients:

1/4 cup rolled oats

1/3 cup almondmilk

1/4 cup greek yogurt

1 1/2 tsp. chia seed

1 T. flax seed (optional)

dash of honey, vanilla, or Stevia

Directions:

Combine all ingredients and stir until very well combined. (Tip: use a jar to eat it out of, it makes this step much easier!) Stir-in any add-ins. Cover and place in fridge overnight.

My favorite combos so far? Mango Cherry and Almond Butter Banana- so delicious! I’m looking forward to experimenting with a pumpkin pie and key lime pie version.

Before I go, a quick update on the garden:)

No color editing on this one:) So red!

i

I must give credit to Starbucks for giving me a free bag of “Coffee Grounds for your Garden”. What a great idea!

As if I needed another reason to love Starbucks…

Enjoy the rest of your Friday and try to refrain from eating the overnight oats you prepare for the morning as a late night snack as I have already done on several occasions;)

 

Categories: Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Ode to Overnight Oats

  1. Yum, yum, yummy!

  2. I love my overnight oats too and starbucks!! Enjoy the weekend!

  3. I had never heard of overnight oats until I read blogs, and I love them! I don’t have them that often, but they are perfect for busy morning since you can get them ready the night before.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

