Pumpkin Chicken Enchiladas

As a food blogger, I take nearly every excuse to experiment with cook healthy recipes that I come across for my family. As you can imagine, I always want feedback, but I know that even if I served them a Lunchable they would tell me I did a good job. So, I’ve become a master at determining whether or not the recipe was a success from all the little signs they unknowingly make. Example: Glancing at the dog with a concentrated look as if wondering how to get the food from the plate to dog bowl without me noticing is not a good sign. On the other hand, not having to refill the salt and pepper shakers is a good sign. And having an enchilada pan empty and licked clean like it was with dinner last night? Very good sign. Everyone agreed this recipe tasted completely gourmet and was definitely one of the best dinners I have made in a while…a keeper recipe without a doubt!

Pumpkin Enchiladas

Ingredients:

For Enchiladas:

About 6 tortillas (I used 8 mini Ezekial tortillas)

1 sliced bell pepper

2 cups shredded cooked chicken

1 onion, chopped

3 cloves crushed garlic

1 handful spinach

For Sauce:

2.5 cups pumpkin puree

3/4 cup milk ( I used almondmilk)

1/4 cup Greek yogurt

2 tsp. cumin

1/2 tsp. nutmeg

1/2 tsp. salt +pepper to taste

1 bunch chopped cilantro

For topping:

(Optional) 1/2 cup shredded cheese, avocado, and salsa

Directions:

In a pan, saute the onion, garlic, and pepper. Add in spinach to wilt. Add in chicken and cumin and mix until evenly combined. In a seperate bowl, combine all ingredients for the sauce and mix until smooth. Place 2 spoonfuls of the chicken mixture in each tortilla and roll, then lay them in a baking dish. Evenly pour sauce over the enchiladas. Sprinkle with a bit more salt and pepper. If using the cheese, layer it on top evenly. Bake at 400 for about 20-25 minutes until the cheese is lightly browned.

Plastic red plates? Only the classiest around here:)

Let me know what you think!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

