WIAW: Clean and Green

Hi and hope you’re having a fantastic fourth of July! This week, I dragged our old friend the grill out of the back of storage and am so happy that I did! After a through cleaning (3 year old steak pieces? I’ll pass on that one), I made it a goal to become the grill-master for the rest of this summer. So far, I grilled Trader Joes Mahi Mahi Burgers, zucchini, sweet potatoes, and chicken kabobs that you’ll see in a bit. As for regular eats, I’ve been trying to keep them as clean and green as I can, and having access to garden produce makes that super easy! Let’s get right to it:) As always, a huge thank you to Jenn, who makes all the WIAWs possible! (thanks, Jenn!)

Breakfast was a Grasshopper Green Smoothie, which I boosted using half of a Vega chocolate shake packet, spirulina, fiber, and flax along with my green smoothie base. I can’t get enough of the chocolate mint combo and have been giving our blender a workout every morning since I tried this recipe.

I also had old fashioned oats cooked in vanilla almond milk with a bit of Stevia, cinnamon, and pumpkin seeds.

Mid-morning called for a mini Ezekial tortilla which got dressed in Trader Joes Raw Almond butter, as well as an orange.

Thanks to my garden, I have more kale than I know what to do with and can’t stand the thought of another steamed leaf. Hence, I have been experimenting with recipes and loving kale chip and “tortillas”. Today, I tried massaged kale, which I made by “massaging” the leaves with a fourth of an avocado and a bit of lemon juice. Then I threw in a few roasted sweet potatoes and topped the whole thing off with some vinegar. The verdict? Delicious!

Later, I had greek yogurt with a chocolate mint Rawxie, which was to die for! Reviews on this awesome product coming soon.

Dinner resulted from 4th of July anticipation, and included marinated organic grilled chicken kabobs, grilled sweet potatoes, and watermelon. (No, not grilled)

My day ended with a half of a banana topped with a bit more almond butter, because really, everything is better with nut butter:)

This week I’m skipping product loving, because I’ve been enjoying many great samples that have reviews coming soon! Have an amazing rest of your day and remember to eat plenty of [healthy] BBQ!:)

Categories: Uncategorized | 15 Comments

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “WIAW: Clean and Green

  1. Yep,nut butter makes everything better – I agree with you! 😉
    I also love that chocolate + mint-combo,like,a lot… And I’ve always wanted to try Rawxies,they look just so cute in their heart shape! 😀 What a bummer they aren’t sold anywhere near.

  2. I’ll trade garden veggies with you! I’ve been growing broccoli greens this year and have so much! Have you ever tried them? They’re a bit bitter than kale, but really good. I don’t have any kale in my garden but would love to. I love mint choc combo too!

  3. Lisbel

    What a yummy healthy day! I also am an almond butter fanatic :p I’ve never heard of rawzies before, looking forward to your review!

  4. Nut butter is so good! I agree. Chocolate + mint is delicious too, I haven’t had it in forever.. But I think I should now 🙂

  5. StoriesAndSweetPotatoes

    These are the cutest little meals! 🙂

  6. The Rawxie looks amazing! I can’t wait to see the review (looove product reviews).

    I noticed that you visited my old blog and I just wanted to let you know that I’ve moved over to blogspot and it’s now http://living-learning-eating.blogspot.com/
    I hope you’ll come visit my new blog!

  7. Mmm what a healthy and delicious day you enjoyed! These meals are cute and look great!

  8. How were those TJ’s Mahi Mahi Burgers? Sounds good!

    Have you ever tried grilled watermelon? It’s actually really tasty!

    • They were delicious! They looked soggy on the grill so I was prepared to be disappointed but was pleasantly surprised. I will have to try that! I love grilled fruit, so I suppose it doesn’t sound too weird:)

  9. Mmmm, I have never heard of Rawxies before but the flavor sounds delicious! And I love that they are cute and heart-shaped! I’m looking forward to your review of them

  10. Your meals are adorable. I love your little banana bites and those rawxies look pretty dang good

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

