Journey Bars Review

Okay, I have a confession. I’m addicted to bars. (Not that kind, I’m not old enough to drink!) ๐Ÿ˜‰ Energy bars, health bars, granola bars, nutrition bars, oat bars- if it’s healthy and in bar form, I’m obsessed. Hence, I’ve had every kindmy fair share of bars, and never pass up the opportunity to try a new one. That’s why when I heard about Journey Bars, a genius company that takes a new twist on energy bars by making them in savory flavors, I couldn’t wait to do a review!

The company was kind enough to send me 5 of their unique flavors, Hickory BBQ, Parmesan Romano, Rosemary, Pizza Marinara, and Coconut Curry. Needless to say, I was very excited and curious as, like most people, I had never seen a savory bar on the market.

I couldn’t wait to rip open the Hickory Barbecue, and brought out my “western” plate for my energy bar photoshoot:) When I opened the wrapper, the first thing I noticed was how fragrant the bar was. I loved that it smelled exactly like fresh BBQ! The other thing I noticed was the abundance of amaranth in the bar, which is a “super grain” with it’s numerous health benefits. The flavor of the bar was very true to the hickory, and was the perfect blend of sweet and salty. Texture wise, it was chewy and not too dense.

Being a coconut fan, I decided to try the Coconut Curry bar next. The Thai spices were the dominant flavor here, which was a nice surprise. Coconut worked well with all of the other flavors, and since it had a low-sugar content, I didn’t have to worry about a sugar crash. The texture on this one, ulike the others, was a tiny bit crumbly. Overall however, it was delicious and stayed with me for many hours!

Next up was Pizza Marinara, which is a very healthy alternative to actual pizza! The flavor is spot on here, a bit salty for the “cheese”, a little sweet for the “marinara”, and a tad spicy for the “pepperoni”. Honestly, I think I’d rather have one of these over a piece of pizza:)

I chose the Rosemary next, and didn’t know what to expect as I’m not rosemary’s biggest fan. However, I was totally surprised and ended up loving it! The rosemary wasn’t too strong here and the flavor of the grains really shone through. The nutritional info of the bar is perfect for a sustaining snack.

I left the Parmesan Romano for last, and went in with huge expectations as I’m a bit of a “cheese snob”. ๐Ÿ™‚ This bar lived up to my high standards, and I loved the saltiness. The crunchy texture was a nice change of pace, too! I gave a piece to my mom to sample as well, and she gave it a ten out of ten!

As nutrition goes for these bars, I think they are perfect for a filling snack to power you through a workout or a long day. The fat in the bars is primarily healthy, and each one has a good dose of protein and fiber. If your diet is already high in sodium, I think that the sodium counts on these bars are a bit hefty. However, they are fantastic alternatives to sugar-packed energy bars. All in all, I loved getting to try Journey Bars, and think that the concept of a savory bar in such delicious and unique flavors is genius!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Journey Bars Review

  1. These look like such a great snack, I am definitely loving on-the-go bars these days, but the sugar in most bars gives me headaches ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Do you think they carry these at Whole foods?

    • I completely agree and I always feel more hungry after a sugary bar! These bars are such a nice change of pace:) I don’t think Whole Foods does, but on the Journey Bar website, they have a “Journey Stores” page that you can search for by state. I’m going to do a post coming up on my favorite low sugar energy bars, so keep checking back:)

  2. I’ve never seen savoury bars before!! That’s so cool. ๐Ÿ™‚ Are they gluten free?

  3. I have never even heard of these bars before… and they are savory? I am intrigued! Thank you for the review on them lady, nice to know what’s available out there!

    • You’re welcome Tessa! Yep they are completely different than most bars- they remind me of the “complete meal” in a small package like in Charlie and the Chocolate Factory;)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

