WIAW: New Obsessions

Wednesday again? I feel like I was just watching fireworks! This week has been full of great eats and amazing foods, many of which are from my garden:) It’s also been packed with new and perhaps strange combos and foods that I can’t seem to get enough of!

As always, thanks to Jenn!

I’ve been so impressed with them that they are threatening to put me in a food rut. Example one: I have had the exact same breakfast for 4 days in a row now. Crockpot Oatmeal. It’s so creamy and fluffy, but the best part is that its waiting ready for me in the morning! Since the temperatures have been over 100, I have been putting my bowl in the freezer for 10 minutes before I eat it, which chills it down and makes it so refreshing.

On the few days before my Crockpot Oats obsession struck, I was enjoying Overnight Oatmeal with raw coconut butter and flax seed. Such a good combo!

I’m sure that oatmeal will be so out next week and I’ll be making green smoothies every morning:)

With an explosion abundance of kale in my garden, my lunches have been featuring a whole lot of these “kale wraps”, which I fill with egg whites, chicken, tempeh, vegetables, or hummus. Iv’e been eating massive amounts of hummus lately, spreading  layers on everything from bagels to bananas (so weird, but so delicious!)

Hippie bowls with tempeh are becoming staples around here, too! I throw every leftover vegetable in the fridge along with tempeh, quinoa, and my avocado dressing, which I have been drowning everything in. I can’t believe I had only tried tempeh once before! It’s much more tense than tofu and is so healthy:) I try not to eat too much soy, but when I do I make sure it’s in whole, delicious forms like tofu, tempeh, and edamame, rather than icky soy isolates and oils.

Sweet potato and black bean salad with more avocado dressing…

Simple Avocado “Dressing”

1/3 avocado

2 T. vinegar

1 tsp sesame oil

All you have to do is blend or process the ingredients for a few seconds.

As for snacks, I really don’t have much to show as I’ve been eating these Pumpkin Parfait Bowls every single day along with Galaxy and Love Grown Granola (review to come!)

I combine a big spoonful of canned pumpkin with greek yogurt, stevia, vanilla, and cinnamon, them mix in flax and chia seed, pepitas, bananas, and granola. Yes, between the oatmeal and pumpkin, I realize I’m a bit mixed up on my seasons.;)

I had to feature these Journey bars again, since I can’t seem to get enough of them. Such a nice break from sweet snacks! P.S.- Keep checking back for an amazing giveaway soon:)

Remember last week’s grill obsession? That has slowed down a bit as cleaning the (big and heavy) grill plates isn’t the most fun activity. The highlight dinner from this week was spaghetti squash “pasta” with homemade marinara topped with organic chicken sausages and a bit of Parmesan. I don’t think I’ll ever go back to using noodles when I make pasta for the family. Spaghetti squash is so light and delicious, not to mention ten times healthier! Not the most photogenic of dinners, but definitely a keeper!

I also made healthy turkey meatballs by combining lean turkey with Bragg’s, a piece of crumbled Ezekial bread, garlic powder and cumin, and an egg. Super simple!

Finally, my Product Lovin’ for this week…

ProBars- They’re a little sugar and carb heavy, but so addiciting! Plus they keep you full for hours

French Meadow Bakery Hemp Bagels– the healthiest sprouted grain bagels I could find! Amazing with hummus and egg whites

Cedar’s Hommus: I need to go stock up right now! This is the best hummus I’ve had…and thats saying a lot!

Categories: Uncategorized | 15 Comments

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “WIAW: New Obsessions

  1. Wow, that Journey bar sounds/looks very good. I’ve never seen them before.

    Love the pumpkin parfait bowl, I do this almost daily. Have you tried frozen banana or blueberries to really help cool you down? This is an awesome combo, and vanilla stevia really stands out (in a good way) in this dish!

    Great eats, Happy WIAW

    • Thanks for the idea! I love frozen bananas way more than regular, especially in the summer! The Journney bars are fantastic- I can’t stop talking about them. Check back for a big giveaway in the next few days…:)

  2. I’m loving tempeh these days too! So much tastier than the usual tofu!

  3. reader

    I think you mean tempeh is more dense. ‘Tense’ does not make sense.

  4. Alexiasana

    so much tasty food here! and great products! love the savoury snack bar! i wonder if i could get it shipped to austria!?

  5. Wow I love your eats! I am a new reader and you gave me so many fabulous ideas! I DEFINITELY need to find those bagels. They look AMAZING!

    • I can’t believe it took me so long to try them out- they are fantastic! Plus they’re the healthiest I’ve seen out there, full of chia and other power seeds. I found them at Whole Foods, aka my second house;) Thanks for commenting- they make my day! Make sure you enter my Journey Bars giveaway!

  6. I really wish that I had a crock pot to make oats in – I can only imagine how creamy and delicious they turn out

    • You have to get one:) I can’t imagine not having mine- I use it almost everyday! Fish and meat turns out really well in it, too! Thanks for stopping by:)

  7. Oh my coconut butter in overnight oats? That sounds sooo good! Do you mix it in the morning or the night before?

    • For this batch I mixed it in the morning of, but I bet the flavor would be even better if it got to soak all night! It would also probably make it super creamy:) as if overnight oats could get any better;)

  8. I can’t wait to see your review on that granola. I have been thinking of trying some, but I’m not too sure about the sugar.

  9. Our garden is exploding with kale too.. Kale wraps are such a good idea! I eat oatmeal every morning basically, so I feel ya on sticking the bowl in the freezer!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

