WIAW: Vacation Edition!

I love travel. And I love eating healthy. Unfortunately, the two can be very difficult to put together, especially when you’re eating out 2-3 meals a day! When we decided to head down for a little beach vacay, I made sure to try to stay on track by finding some healthy cafes in the area and packing a few of my go-to staples. Before we get started, remember to enter my Journey Bar giveaway! Winners are picked on Thursday!

https://moderngirlnutrition.wordpress.com/2012/07/13/journey-bar-giveaway/

Thanks to Jenn for the  WIAW party!

For breakfasts, I have basically been scrounging for whatever healthy thing I can find, even if it’s a bit unusual. Example 1: Avocado+Hummus+Lemon Juice on sprouted toast…suprisingly really delicious and filling! Plus more of my favorite combo of organic egg whites and hummus on hemp bagels.

MGN Travel Tip 1.) Embrace having eggs for breakfast. Especially in restaurants, they are a way better option than sugary pancakes, french toast, etc.!

And this is the result of staying dangerously close to an organic juice bar… Apple Ginger and Carrot Beet!:)

MGN Travel Tip 2: Always bring a loaf of good bread and a jar of healthy nut butter. Easiest meal ever!

Looking up healthy restaurants is the way to go! For lunch the first day, we had a grilled vegetable, brown rice, and tofu plate along with a brown rice curry bowl that was to die for at a little place we would’ve drove right by without a doubt!

MGN Travel Tip 3.) Get close with Google. And even closer with MapQuest! Finding a healthy little place is worth an extra few minutes. 

Yesterday we found an adorable little health cafe called the Naked Cafe, and naturally I was all for it! We ordered the Goddess Wrap (sesame ginger tofu, mushrooms, brown rice, vegetables, etc. in a spinach tortilla) and a custom chicken breast wrap with their homemade black bean hummus. All I can say is that this plate was empty:)

As always, I made sure I was loaded down with a insane amount plethora of bars to take with me! I finally got around to trying out a Perfect Foods Bar, which was amazing! The bar has a little too much sugar to be a daily snack for me, though. Next up is the OH Bar, which was also incredible! Review coming soon:)

MGN Travel Tip 4: Bars, trail mix, nuts, and more [healthy!] bars! Keep a few in your purse and you won’t be caught starving with nothing but a donut shop around.

Mmm…Kombucha in Trilogy flavor! I normally go for the MultiGreen when I splurge on one but lately I’ve had about 5 people say it looks like I’m drinking pond scum…yummy.

My idea of road trip food…:)

Another health food store find…Vegan Curry Nori Wraps, which I haven’t tried yet. They definitely look interesting! With no shortage of fresh fruit…it’s summer after all!

MGN Travel Tip 5: It’s all about the little choices! A dozen small good choices will help even out a bad one! 🙂

There you have it! I have a myriad of reviews on some amazing products coming up soon as well as a few great recipe posts! Check back soon and let me know what you think…your comments make my day!:)

Categories: Uncategorized | 24 Comments

Post navigation

24 thoughts on “WIAW: Vacation Edition!

  1. I love those little packets of almond or peanut butter you can buy that are great for traveling!

  2. Everything looks so good. I’m leaving on vacation soon…a LONG road trip and I need to start thinking about snack prep. Yikes!

  3. Oh wow.. loving the look of your eats! Great ideas, I’m going to have to get my hands on some of those bars 🙂

  4. I’m on vacation too but thankfully we have a kitchen. Other wards vacation eating can be so hard especially when you’re trying to find flavorful and healthy options. It looks like you’ve done a great job.

  5. Alexia @ NamasteYoga

    hemp seed bagel? looks fabulous and your topping with avocado, hummus and sprouts even better:) love that combo!

  6. Love the healthy travel tips!! It’s good advice. 🙂

  7. Great travel tips! I always bring food with me on trips because you never know! Great eats as well, I can’t wait for your reviews.

  8. Wow The Naked Cafe looks like such a perfect healthy place to eat when traveling! Is is a chain or just a single cafe?

  9. Great tips on how to eat healthy while travelling! I love bringing nut butters with me too, as well as bars and trail mix! I often bring oatmeal packs with chia seeds and protein powders. Your eats looks awesome too! Amazing that you were right by a juice bar 🙂

    • I know, I got so lucky! My wallet wasn’t as happy as I was, however;) I always bring a packet or two of protein powder and nut butter, also- just in case the only thing around is In N’ Out 🙂 Thanks for coming by…your comments make my day!

  10. Love the tips for healthy traveling. I have been traveling a bit lately and I’ve had a hard time sticking to eating healthy (it’s especially hard when everyone else is eating junk food!)

  11. I LOVE this list! Not to mention packing you own stuff also saves a ton of money!!! When my husband and I went to Europe in June I made sure to pack oatmeal and nut butter packets because you can use those basically anywhere! PERFECT for a 9 hour flight and the weird time change!

    • Couldn’t agree with you more! You would think they had more healthy options in airports, too! I like to bring my little unsweetened instant oatmeal packs, too, and then just ask for a cup of hot water from Starbucks. Easy and healthy! Thanks for all the kind words:)

  12. Great list you have here girl… and like CJ said, you are saving a whole bunch of $$! I always bring nut butter packets like that, dried cereal, nuts, and energy bars galore! I like to have options 🙂

    • Agreed, options are key! Although I don’t think I could ever get bored of energy bars…yum! Dried cereal is a good idea for fiber-I like to bring flaxseed in case I’m low on veggies one day:) Thanks for visiting!

  13. Thanks for all the traveling tips,girl! I just wish I could use them because I won’t travel at all (again!) this year… 😦

  14. Whenever we travel, we try to take sandwiches and a cooler. It is much cheaper and then we can spend $$ on a really good meal a day, instead of meh food as we are driving. All of the healthy food finds look tasty!

    • Couldn’t agree with you more! One really amazing meal is sooo much better than 3 just okay ones! I pretty much always have a cooler with me so that I never am caught hungry:) Thanks for visiting!!

  15. I agree it is hard to eat healthy while travel. But I think you did a great job! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

