Putting in the Effort and Mexican Kale Burritos

I don’t know what exactly makes a person “healthy”. But I do know that to me, being healthy means making healthy choices and decisions 90% or more of the time. Sometimes, it’s as simple as passing up that piece of birthday cake, but to be honest, most of the time it takes a bit more time and effort.

The other day, I got home late and was just about ready to eat my arm off. Opening the fridge, I first thought the leftover hamburgers with their ready-to go toppings were calling my name. Then, I stepped back and realized that it wasn’t exactly the hamburgers that tempted me, but rather the prospect of simply microwaving quickly and eating. To be honest, I’m not even a huge fan of red meat and never feel good after a burger. So I took the opportunity to make a healthy choice and to learn from it. I walked out to my garden and picked a kale leaf and some cilantro. I got out a few pots and steamed my kale leaf. Then I processed pinto and black beans with garlic, oil, cumin, and Bragg’s. I made a guacamole using half a fresh avocado, lemon juice, and salt. Finally, I put all my  “re-fried” beans, guacamole, and some crumble taco tempeh in my kale leaf and rolled them up like a mini-burrito. In the end, I had more than just a  plant-based and nourishing plate. I had made a healthy decision by putting in an extra ten minutes to care for my body.

Mexican Kale “Burritos”

Ingredients:

“Tortilla”- 1 big kale leaf

“Re-fried Beans”- 1/2 cup pinto or black beans, 1 clove garlic, 1 tsp. cumin, and 1/4 tsp. Bragg’s, 1 tsp. oil

Guacamole- 1/2 Avocado, juice or 1/2 small lime or lemon, pinch of salt

Tempeh taco filling- tempeh, 1/2 tsp. Bragg’s, 1 tsp. cumin

Salsa (optional)- 1 diced tomato, 1 sprig cilantro (or a shake of dried cilantro)

Directions:

Steam kale leaves. Combine all bean ingredients in a food processor and process until just smooth. Mash avocado ingredients together, and mix the tomato with the cilantro if making salsa. Heat a pan on medium-high heat with a bit of olive oil, then toss in the tempeh and stir for about 2 minutes until just browned. Heat the re-fried beans in a pan until just heated through. Layer kale leaves with beans, guacamole, tempeh, and salsa, then wrap.

You know you want to make this:)

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Putting in the Effort and Mexican Kale Burritos

  1. runservecook

    I really do but maybe real taco meat and I don’t like guac(;

  2. This is GENIUS!!! I have some kale in the fridge I need to use, and I love mexican food. Ahhh I’m so excited!!!

    • Hope you like it! I have so much kale that needs to be used up too! I’m thinking of making Farmer’s Market Vegan’s chocolate kale granola:) Thanks for the comment!

  3. Convenience is quite enticing at times. I’m glad you stayed strong and made this because it looks delicious!

  4. Good for you for making the healthy choice 🙂 I can totally relate to not wanting to put any effort in…

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

