I’m a Fan-a Manna! [Product Review and Giveaway]

Closed! Congrats to the random winner- Sarah at Ingredients of a Fit Chick:) Thanks for entering everyone!

Let’s face it- most sprouted bread is dry and tastes like cardboard. That’s why when I heard about Manna Bread, a sprouted bread that has cake-like consistency, I knew I wanted to share a review with you guys. Then I found out it was organic and additive-free…sign me up! This bread is aptly named, as it is exactly what I imagine the bread in old times would taste like. It’s vegan and yeast free, and has no added sweeteners, oils, or refined flours. Plus, all of the ingredients are super high quality and organic, which is always nice! First, here are the ingredients for the Multigrain:

Sprouted organic wheat kernels, filtered water, organic brown rice, organic barley, organic millet, organic flax seed, organic rye kernels, organic soy beans, organic rolled oats, organic oat bran, organic cornmeal.

Obviously, this bread is the real deal. Who needs preservatives in their breads?

As you can see, the bread has a nice dose of fiber and protein from all of the grains. It’s a bit more high in carbohydrates than most breads, but that is because of its incredible density and its lack of fillers. All of the bread has a bit of sugar, but after seeing that there was no added sweeteners, I found out that it’s due to the sprouting process, which converts starches into maltose and complex carbohydrates. Nice!

The nice people over at the Manna team sent me four flavors: Banana Walnut Hemp, Multigrain, Whole Rye, and Fig, Fennel, and Flax.

The firstΒ  bag I tore into was the Multigrain, which I used in place of my usual toast by topping it with hummus, egg whites, and avocado. Let’s just say I’ve made a serious dent in this loaf while my usually beloved Ezekiel has been abandoned! The bread is so dense and has a texture just like a piece of cake. The flavor is subtly sweet, and pairs amazing with savory toppings. Used to thin toast, I cut two slices, but realized that this bread is so filling that you really only need one! This was definitely the best multigrain bread I have had in my life.

Naturally, I tried the Banana Walnut Hemp next, which I paired with a bowl of yogurt mixed with cocoa powder. I loved the huge pieces of banana throughout the bread, which made the bread taste like a banana nut muffin! I warmed this slice up in the oven for about 3 minutes, which really brought out the flavor. I think that this bread could’ve been a tiny bit sweeter, but for having no added sugars, it did the job!

I broke into the Whole Rye next, and remembering how amazing the hummus+multigrain combo was, I topped it with hummus…and an avocado heart for the photo shoot!;) Since I am quite the rye fan, I had very high expectations for this bread, which were definitely met! It was a tiny bit sweeter than the traditional rye, but that was a welcome change. I love this bread topped with sweet ingredients, too.

Last but not least, I sliced into the Fig, Fennel, and Flax. Right away, I loved this bread because of the seed topping, which gave the loaf an extra healthy boost. Conveniently, I had just made homemade fig butter, so obviously I used the slice as a bed for that and served it with yogurt and muesli. This bread wasn’t anything like what I was expecting, but in a good way! I was surprised by the hints of licorice flavor, which went so well with the sweet fig. I also tried it topped with almond butter, which was also an amazing combo. It was different from any bread I had ever tried, and is one of my favorites without a doubt!

I don’t think I need to tell you that I loved Manna bread….I honestly couldn’t find a bad thing to say about it! But I do have some tips if you buy Manna, which is so reasonably priced that you should!

1.) Pre-slice the breads into 6 or 7 pieces, depending on the serving size.

2.) Freeze the breads- they will last so long! Just make sure you don’t let them get freezer burnt.

3.) Warm your slice for just a little bit, which really brings out the flavor!

Now, here’s what you get! The company generously offered to send a lucky reader a box of 4 loaves of their incredible bread!Β  All you have to do is leave a comment telling me which bread you would like to try most and I will choose the winner randomly! The giveaway closes next Monday, July 30th! Don’t miss out on this one!

I know I’m switching my staple bread! After all, any time I can have “cake” for breakfast that’s organic, raw, and truly healthy, it’s a win in my book!:)

Categories: Uncategorized | 43 Comments

Post navigation

43 thoughts on “I’m a Fan-a Manna! [Product Review and Giveaway]

  1. Banana Walnut sounds divine! Yet again I’m a banana addict to begin with so its not much of a surprise! Fig would be a close second though. P.S Love your blog!

    • I love your blog, too! So glad I found it (or technically you found mine haha). If you love banana, you’ll love this bread. There’s huge pieces throughout the whole loaf! I may or may not have robbed my other slices of their bananas πŸ˜‰ Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Hey, there again. So, this is pretty awesome. Manna bread, I’ve read about that in the Bible so it would be interesting to taste it. Your descriptions were quite lovely and made me want to try some. I would love to be the winner, but if not I will most definitely go out searching for Manna bread. If I were to win, I believe I would like to try Fig, Fennel, and Flax. I love flax, I incorporate it in most of what I make. I’ve been meaning to try/buy fennel. And I’ve been searching for fresh figs/ really do enjoy figs. I love rye, banana, and multigrain as well, but that is the one that I would like to try first:) good day, mate

    • btw; I did make those zucchini fries and they were good(:
      and then last night I made zucchini ribbons for my spaghetti, also good. you should deff try

      • Thanks for all the nice words, Erica! Glad you liked the zucchini fries- I love the ribbon idea, too! I would probably just end up using them as pasta, since I love spaghetti squash as noodles:) Couldn’t agree with you more on the flavors..yum! And if you don’t win, I found some at Whole Foods and it’s so affordable!:)

  3. Fig, Fennel and Flax!! I am in love with figs and flax! Throw in some fennel and that sounds like such an amazing sweet and savory combination!! Plus you can’t beat all of the health benefits that each brings to the bread!!! Wow!! I need to get this bread!! Amazing! πŸ™‚

    • Agreed, it’s the best combo I’ve had in a long time! Definitely my favorite flavor overall:) Thanks for the comment! By the way, I just stopped by your blog and those Cashew Chip cookies sound incredible…I will be making those later!

      • Awesome! Let me know how they turn out for you!! I am super jealous you got to sample all those breads!! Every single flavor looks amazing!!

  4. Meg and Lee

    Definitely would love love love to try the fennel, flax and fig bread! Ohmygoodness it sounds delicious. Of course you made the others sound great as well hahah:)

    • That seems to be the popular one! For good reason, too:) Haha truly they were all amazing and I couldn’t find a bad thing to say about them:) Good luck!

  5. I would love to try the Banana Walnut Hemp! I love hemp seeds but have never experienced it in bread before!

  6. I probably don’t count in the give-away as I’m from the UK, but I wanted to comment anyway: the bread sounds awesome! I love love ‘interesting’ bread. Bread with bits, I call it. Sound really filling as well.

  7. Thanks for all the comments and thoughts from the Manna team! You guys ROCK!

  8. Maryann D.

    I would love to try Manna Organics Fruit and Nut bread, it sounds delicious!

  9. I have heard so much about this bread and would love to try the Whole Rye. It sounds absolutely delish!!

  10. I love this bread…my favorite is the cinnamon date!

  11. Holly

    Definitely the Multigrain. It sounds wonderful!

  12. Emily

    I would love to try the Fig, Fennel, and Flax bread!

  13. Renata

    Fig, Fennel and Flax for sure! Figs are my favorite fruit and what a creative blend! Must be tasty!

  14. Ray

    Multigrain! Who knew so many grains existed and could be baked into one loaf?! Sounds quite delicious and wholesome!

  15. I would love to try the rye!

  16. Renata

    Fig, Fennel and Flax is my pick! Sounds delish!

  17. Lisa Guse

    I would love to try any of them, but I think my first would be multi-grain. Please, where can I find this bread? I am vegan and only eat organic whole grains. This would fit perfectly into my lifestyle, Bread is my main meal everyday. I need it to fill the void when I am eating only veggies,

    • Agreed, they would be perfect for you! I’ve seen them at Whole Foods and other health stores in the refridgerated bread section:) Hope you find them!

  18. Inna

    I want to try gluten free

  19. Georgiana

    I’d love to try the fruit and nut bread although they all look and sound so healthy and nutritious! Definitely would boost my protein and fiber intake too! Thanks for the giveaway!

  20. I think the fig, fennel and flax sounds like an interesting combination! Great giveaway πŸ™‚

  21. I’ve never had sprouted bread! I’d love to try the banana walnut though!

  22. Alisa Fox

    Okay, so all of the more plain ones sound good to me, although the fig, fennel, and flax sounds good too. But, since I must choose just one, I would like to try the millet rice. This way I can put anything on it πŸ™‚

  23. Wow, that bread looks incredible!!! I would love to try the fig fennel and flax– sounds like a perfect combo with my favorite almond butter and banana on top. I love sprouted bread but am admittedly a bit sick of Ezekiel these days.

  24. Banana walnut hemp sounds deeeeelish!

  25. I’d like to try the Banana Walnut Hemp one first πŸ™‚ You came up with some incredible looking concoctions btw!

  26. Lauren

    Banana Walnut Hemp!

  27. Your pics made me crave some Manna Organics so bad!!! They all sound really good, but I’m going to have to go with either the gluten free ciao chia or the sprouted carrot raisin! livinglearningeating@gmail.com πŸ™‚

  28. Angela M. Fryfogle

    Oh yes, I’m a Fan-A Manna!!I love every Manna bread I have tried, carrot raisin, fruit and nut, and multigrain!! I would love to try fig, fennel and flax. Not only that it sound delicious, but a very original and creative combination!!! Whole Rye would be my next choice. Eating Manna bread is a yum yum adventure!! It fits my vegan lifestyle!!!

  29. Sara

    I love the banana walnut hemp bread but have not tried others yet. Really want to try the fig as it was a seasonal bread.

  30. I’d most love to try Banana Walnut Hemp! Yum!

  31. nik

    Fig, Fennel, and Flax sounds superyumful…I’d love to try it! πŸ™‚

  32. Geneva

    Banana would be my safe choice, but I might push myself out of my flavor-comfort-zone and try fig!

  33. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday #8 – Ingredients Of A Fit Chick

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

