Sweet Potato Pie (Green?) Smoothie

My favorite part of Thanksgiving? Not the turkey. Not the green beans, the mashed potatoes, the cranberry sauce, or even the pumpkin pie. Since I was a little girl, yams have always been my favorite, and even now I eat sweet potatoes and yams almost every day.  I have wanted to make a Sweet Potato Pie smoothie for ages, but just got around to it. The verdict? AMAZING! I can’t believe I let laziness (who likes baking sweet potatoes?) hold me back from making this for so long!

Sweet Potato Pie Green Smoothie

Ingredients:

1 frozen banana

1 cooked sweet potato (chopped and frozen if desired)

1 c. almondmilk

1 c. spinach

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

1 T. maple syrup

1 tsp. cinnamon

Boosts: (flaxseed, chia seed, protein powder, spirulina, bee pollen, avocado pit)

Directions:

Blend until smooth, sip, and savor:)

Okay, so it’s an orange smoothie. I put a whole cup of greens in, but I guess sweet potatoes have a pretty strong color! I must say this with every green smoothie post I write, but this one is a keeper! It’s so filling and is perfect topped with granola, muesli, or coconut. It may seem a bit out of season, but it’s so refreshing and cold that it’s the perfect summer breakfast!

 Yes to making the healthy options the delicious ones!:)

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Pie (Green?) Smoothie

  1. Oh I love sweet potatoes! I love how naturally sweet they are and how they go well with sweet or savoury toppings!

    This smoothie sounds great- I’ll have to remember this next time it’s chilly out 🙂

    • I do too! No sweeteners needed:) I’m a bit mixed up in my seasons as I have been loving yams and pumpkin in everything lately, but I bet this would be even better in the fall as a big smoothie bowl! I want to try adding oats to imitate the crust:)

  2. Ah, I am obsessed with sweet potatoes! This smoothie looks awesome. 🙂 I am all about out of season things, so maybe I’ll try it tomorrow.

  3. Oh this looks great 🙂 I love sweet potato so I want to try this 🙂

  4. Love sweet potatoes. Never thought to have it as a smoothie for breakfast – I like your style hehe.

    • Thanks Anna! I’ve been practically living off green smoothies so I have become pretty creative in flavors haha:) Next on the list is Red Velvet!

  5. Hello delicious!!! I have a sweet potato that’s just dying to be made into THIS smoothie 🙂

  6. great scott

    if you do not want to cook the sweet potato, and use a mitamix, just throw it in raw with the rest of the ingredients. same flavor, not nutrient loss.

  7. Darin

    Hey, that is great smoothie recipe, but I am mystified how this avocado pit is used (in “boosters” section), thanks :). Anyway I’ll make it today.

  8. Pingback: Ode to the Green Smoothie « moderngirlnutrition

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

