Easiest Low Sugar Energy Bars

I know, I’ve been MIA on the blog for a while, but I have a good excuse. After all, road trips aren’t exactly friend to neither bloggers nor WiFi, and so I’ve been unable to post for a week now- tragic stuff here! Naturally, I packed enough food for our 3 day road trip to live for months in the wilderness, much to my parent’s annoyance. However, the complaints promptly ended as we passed this sign:

Searching for lunch with one lonely McDonald’s. As you can see, I was extremely glad to have some healthy eats with me, from tempeh wraps on Ezekiel to almond butter sandwiches. But the main star? These incredible homemade energy bars, which saved us from countless gas station eggs and sugar-laden chocolate bars! They were so easy to make, packed up nicely, and stayed a million times more compact than the usual falling-apart bars I seem to end up with. Finally, finally, I’ve mastered an affordable, healthy alternative to costly packaged bars!

Easiest Low Sugar Energy Bars

Ingredients:

1/4 c. dried apricots or figs

4 dates

1/2 c. nuts and seeds (I used the Take a Hike Superfood trail mix from the bulk bins at Whole Foods)

1 T. flax seed

1/2 T. chia seed

1 T. Almond Butter

1/4 cup  honey

Directions:

In a food processor, gently pulse trail mix for a few seconds, until the biggest nuts are chopped up. Pour into a bowl and set aside. Place dried fruit and the date along with the flax, chia, coconut oil, and almond butter in the processor and process for about 10 seconds until a very thick paste is formed. Fold trail mix into the fruit mixture and press the mixture into a pan. Refrigerate for at least 20 minutes. Cut into bars, wrap in foil, and enjoy! Store in the fridge:)

I have to say, we did luck out a few times along the way, like when we stopped for fuel at this place:

Let’s take a closer look…

Is that…Chobani? Could health food and a gas station really be used in the same sentence?? Normally I go for plain yogurt to cut back on added sugars, but this was just too good to be true! Not only did they have Chobani, but they also had hard-boiled eggs, grapes, berries, broccoli, hormone-free string cheese, bananas, tea, and sandwiches that didn’t exceed your weekly sodium intake!;) Of course, this was still beside the nachos, candy, hot dogs, and spray cheese, but obviously, I was so impressed!

Back to the bars…make them! They are so economical and delicious and you won’t regret it

Here’s to WiFi and catching up on posts:) Until next time!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Easiest Low Sugar Energy Bars

  1. It totally makes my day when I am surprised by healthy options at unexpected places! I guess it means that maybe people who push for healthy choices are making a difference and companies are listening 🙂

  2. Those look delicious! Thanks for sharing

  3. If a gas station produces those kinds of eats, there is hope for us yet!! Safe travels.

  4. I love finding healthy choices in totally unexpected places!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

