WIAW-Back in the Kitchen!

I can’t even describe how glad I am to be back in my own kitchen now that I’m home from traveling. I swear I got to the point where I almost went to Wal-Mart to buy another blender (like that’s an easy thing to drag across the country) just to have a green smoothie.  Simply put, I missed cooking, and I’m happily taking back the reins as a food snob 🙂 What’s more, it’s kicked any bit out cooking laziness out of me, and I’m more than happy than ever to steam kale, roast sweet potatoes, babysit steel cut oatmeal and veggie chips, and of course, get creative in the kitchen!

Drumroll please… finally, a long missed green smoothie! This one is Sweet Potato Pie, which is easily one of my favorites. Topped with granola and gogi berries, which the nice people at Navitas Naturals sent me (review coming soon!) Oh, and other breakfasts this week? Yep-the same thing:)

Definitely one of my all time favorite snacks- Siggi’s and nuts. I love, love, love this yogurt. It’s always a close call between Orange Ginger and Peach!

Lunches have been a bit random- case in point, organic egg whites, an amazing Sunshine Veggie Burger, and a bowl of unpictured massaged kale salad on the side. Odd, but exactly what I was craving!

Lucky for me, we picked up a few goodies from Whole Foods the other day. I swear I could eat there every single day and never, ever get bored! My mom chose the Quinoa and Black Bean Salad, while I went with some Sesame Tofu. The verdict? Well, when isn’t anything from Whole Foods incredible?

As usual, I’ve been loving big yogurt messes as well. My pick of yogurt? Wallaby non-fat Plain and Chobani Greek Plain, which I mix to make a yogurt that’s not too drippy, but not hold-the-bowl-upside-down thick. This work of art has cocoa powder, lucuma, granola, chia seeds, banana, and blueberries.

Dinner #1: The “I need food now”. Veggie burger, balsamic-infused squash, and 1/2 of a sprouted english muffin with hummus and avocado. Obviously, I was ready to eat my arm-hence the ugly picture!

Dinner #2: The Chopped version;) Corn, Avocado, and Orange cold chowder. Surprisingly these flavors worked so well together! Recipe coming soon!

Dinner #3: The “Maybe I should put some real effort into dinner tonight” :). Honey/Bragg’s glazed wild salmon, sweet potato/yam, and garlic kale salad from the garden. After countless tries, I finally cooked a salmon perfectly! This time, I pre-portioned the fish into smaller filets, then cooked was able to cook it for less time- amazing!

Last but not least, my “What’s left in the fridge?” dinner: Roasted Red Pepper Tomato Basil soup with tempeh crutons and kale chips. Might even have been better than the salmon!

I was able to try out so many new products this week, and all were more amazing than the next! First up is TJ’s Guac/Hummus. Oh my goodness, my two favorite foods blended together with the perfect touch of spices? I knew I’d love it before I even opened it up. Then there’s Sunshine Burgers. Finally- a healthy veggie burger! This one is organic and full of whole grains- plus has incredible flavor:) Last but not least, Navita’s Naturals Power Snacks. I’m posting a review soon, so can’t tell you too much, but you can probably tell from the empty bag that I’m in love.

Before I go, I decided to add one cosmetic product a week to the product loving line-up! To start us off, Alba Kukui Nut lotion. I love, love, love this scent!

Off to study- and sadly, not recipes;)  Until next time!

As always, a big thanks you to Peas & Crayons!

Sunnie

Categories: Uncategorized | 27 Comments

Post navigation

27 thoughts on “WIAW-Back in the Kitchen!

  1. Siggi’s Orange GInger Yogurt is my all time favorite! I eat at least one a day and keep no less than 6 in my fridge at a time so I don’t run out! I’m addicted to that flavor!! :)Your eats look delicious! I want to try that hemp and sage burger!!

    • It’s always close with peach, but I have to say orange ginger is my fave too! Have you tried any of the other flavors? I need to but can’t seem to give up beloved orange ginger haha:)

      • I have tried all of them! The pomegranate, pineapple, acai and coconut are my all time favorite! And the vanilla is great for doing mix-ins!!

      • Oh my goodness I haven’t seen the coconut! I feel like I’ve been living under a rock haha. Thanks so much for the reccomendations!

  2. I had a green smoothie for breakfast this morning–SO delicious!! And I agree that Whole Foods has delicious food, though the store isn’t nicknamed “Whole Paycheck” for nothing…I have actually made homemade guacamole hummus before, and yes, it is amazing:)

    • Haha I know- I try to ony go there for specialty items like tempeh, energy bars, etc. I’ve made homemade hummus and guacamole, but not guacamole hummus! Definitely putting it on my to do list:)

  3. I could eat at Whole Foods daily if it wouldn’t cost as much as our mortgage for a salad. 🙂 But, yes, they have quality food.

    Glad you are back in your food-making element. Happy cooking/blending/spreading/dishing (and eating!).

  4. hahaha I love the creativity boost! I always feel like that when I come home from traveling 🙂

  5. Corn, Avocado, and Orange cold chowder — Sounds define 🙂

  6. What a great selection of food! You must be so happy to be back in your kitchen- I go crazy when I can’t prepare my own food for a while too!

    I love Navitas Natural’s products- I have some reviews of theirs to catch up on too!

  7. mmm that chowder looks (and sounds) amazing!! Haha I definitely have done the whole “Im eating the exact same thing for breakfast because its delicious” thing before:) I shall have to try it with your sweet potato smoothie though. I feel a food rut coming on!!

    • Haha thanks Lacey! Someone told me yesterday that you don’t have to cook the sweet potato before putting it in the blender- it still has the same taste. I’ll have to try that but I’m a bit worried about my digestive system lol. Thanks for visiting!

      • a vitamix would blend it up and break down anything hard to digest, so it probably would be fine! Just a different texture maybe…

  8. Happy WIAW! I don’t know how I missed the guacamole-hummus at Trader Joe’s. I will have to add that to my shopping list. I like the Alba kubui but body cream too. 🙂

    • I’ve been in that store a hundred times and just discovered it lol! It’s hidden in the hummus section:) Happy WIAW to you too! As usual, all of your eats look amazing:)

  9. Tomato basil soup sounds scrumptious. And tempeh croutons? How cool. Some great foods here. 🙂

  10. I love Siggi’s! I have actually never eaten at Whole Foods. That guac/hummus sounds delicious jeez! I love those two things. 🙂

  11. Haha! I actually just bought an Oster blender online from Walmart, so it’s funny you mention it! I try to have a green smoothie each day, but it doesn’t always happen. I definitely feel better drinking them though. 🙂 Your ‘big yogurt mess’ sounds delicious! I love lucuma, but I’m allergic to it….it’s fun to salivate over your bowl anyway! 🙂

    • Oh my goodness that’s so sad! At leasts there’s maca, which is close:) Couldn’t agree with you more- I try to have all the ingredients prepared so all I have to do is throw them in the blender, but now that schools started, it’s hard to even get that done! Thanks for visiting:)

  12. Ah, all of your meals look so friggen good. Come cook for me pleasee?? 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

