Gnu Bar in Town (Product Review!)

We’ve all been through it. You wake up early to catch a plane, grab a Starbucks, eat some peanuts at the airport, call another latte lunch and then go out to dinner for a burrito with so much salt that you’re left more parched than the Gobi desert. And at the end of the day, you look back and realize that your daily fiber intake couldn’t be farther from the 40 recommended grams. That’s why Gnu has a bar, Flavor & Fiber, that has almost half that amount in a portable, delicious form.

When the company agreed to send me a few samples, I never expected they would send me an entire box! They were so generous, and I’m so glad they did because I can’t seem to get enough of them!

The first one I broke into was the Banana Walnut Bar, naturally.

This was one of my favorites out of the whole group! Somehow, they took whole grains and turned them into a moist, sinful tasting banana bread. I ate half as it was and then saved the rest to crumble over my Banana Acai Bowl. This was such a good idea! Even though the bar was coated it smoothie, it held its flavor and gave the whole bowl such a boost.

Next up was the Blondie Bar-obviously 🙂

I packed this one in my lunch and took it along to school with me. The verdict? Amazing! They’re were whole chocolate chips in here, so I expected it to be nothing short of decadent.

As if I needed another reason to eat more chocolate, they also sent me the Chocolate Brownie Bar!

After the memorable Blondie Bar, my expectations were super high. However, this one wasn’t my favorite. It needed a stronger chocolate flavor, and tasted just a tiny bit off. I still enjoyed it though, and crumbled it into a Greek yogurt mess.

Since I’m a huge fan of Carrot Cake, I chose to review this one next 🙂

You know how a lot of bars are sound like 5- Star dessert but end up just being an average energy bar? Not these ones! The Carrot Cake was moist and tasted like warm spices- perfect for fall! It definitely was a redemption from the previous. I used some as a topping for my Carrot Cake Green Smoothie! Naturally, it was the perfect complement!

And then came the Peanut Butter Bar…

I stirred half of this one into my Classic Green Smoothie. All of you peanut butter lovers out there- this is your bar! It’s decadent, soft, and tastes like it has a million spoonfuls of peanut butter in it! It’s the perfect thing to satisfy a peanut butter craving without eating an entire jar!

Left with 3 more kinds, I picked the Blueberry Cobbler. I have always been fond of blueberries, and they remind me of when I was a little girl and my grandma would make the most decadent blueberry cobbler in the world. As you can see, I had high expectations.

And they were fulfilled! There were whole pieces of blueberries sticking out everywhere from this bar, and the smell was better than an actual cobbler baking. As for the taste, it was sweet but not overly sugary, and would make a fantastic dessert alternative! I ate this one just how it was, because with blueberries, the simpler way is always the best.

The next flavor to undergo my rath was the Cinnamon Raisin.

I used some crumbles as a topping for my Cinnamon Crockpot Oats. I loved, loved, loved this bar! I’ve never been the one to choose an Oatmeal Raisin cookie, but this bar might have redeemed raisins for me. Full of cinnamon with a hint of spice, it would be a perfect addition to any cereal or smoothie, but was best melted into my oats.

Finally, I was down to one last flavor- the Orange Cranberry bar.

This bar was everything an Orange Cranberry bar was supposed to be. Any cranberry lover out there would fall in love with this flavor, but unfortunately I’m not fond of the tart little berries, even when coated in sugar on Thanksgiving. I ate half in my yogurt along with chia and banana, and am saving the rest for my sister, who I know will go crazy over it!

Here’s for the nutrition, because our body doesn’t appreciate taste as much as our brain does;) This is for the Banana Walnut:

Nutritional information
Nutrition Facts
Serving Size: 1 bar (45g)
Amount Per Serving
Calories 140 Calories from Fat 35
% Daily Value *
Total Fat 4g 6%
Saturated Fat 0g 0%
Trans Fat 0g
Cholesterol 0mg 0%
Sodium 40mg 2%
Total Carbohydrate 30g 10%
Dietary Fiber 12g 48%
Soluble Fiber 9g
Insoluble Fiber 3g
Sugars 8g
Other Carbohydrate 10g
Protein 4g 6%
Vitamin A 2%
Vitamin C 0%
Calcium 6%
Iron 10%
* The Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet, so your values may change depending on your calorie needs. The values here may not be 100% accurate because the recipes have not been professionally evaluated nor have they been evaluated by the U.S. FDA.

Ingredients

Gnu High Fiber Blend™ (whole rolled oats, organic whole wheat flour, wheat bran, organic KAMUT® Brand khorasan wheat, psyllium, flax, millet), chicory root inulin, fruit juices, rice dextrins, apples, canola oil, walnuts, rice, plums, banana, wheat protein isolate, natural flavors, baking powder.

Wow! I was really impressed with these bars! They’re low calorie for being so dense and only have around 8 g of sugar. They are a bit high in carbs because they are grain based, but the grains are so high quality! Organic whole wheat flour, wheat bran, and even psyllium and flax!

The overall opinion? I’ve found a gnu love! I’m a huge fan of these chewy baked bars, which taste more like a dessert than a healthy snack. They are a nice change from my usual nut/seed based bars. Thank you again to Gnu Foods for letting me review this awesome product!

http://www.gnufoods.com/

This review was my sole opinion. I was not compensated.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Gnu Bar in Town (Product Review!)

  1. Those bars look fantastic, and the ingredient list doesn’t have any strange chemical-sounding ingredients–always a plus:) All the flavors look delicious, and the nutritional stats are quite impressive! I loved reading your detailed comments on each bar, and I will definitely be looking into requesting some samples from Gnu Foods. I will be posting an Artisana nut butter review on my blog within the next week; their products so far are amazing! It was very generous of the company to send me so many samples free of charge–a perk of being a food blogger, I suppose:D Oh, and your pictures are lovely as well:)

    • I can’t wait to read that review! I did a review for them too, and loved every single one of the products- especially the cashew butter! Thanks for all the nice words!

  2. OMG!! These are one of my favorite bars!!! I haven’t seen the carrot cake one tho! I must find it! All the others I am addicted too except the brownie, I’m not a fan of that one either!!

    • They all taste like Desserts and I LOVE the nutrition info 🙂 The carrot cake one is great- I’ll send you one! I think I still have your address from when you won that giveaway haha

      • The nutrition stats are totally AMAZING!! You don’t need to mail me one! I can see if they have them around here. Maybe I have just missed them….I hope! 🙂 But I LOVE carrot cake, so I am dying to try it!

  3. YUM! I will have to see where I can track these down!

    • They’re definitely becoming a staple around here! I love the nutrition and you can’t beat the taste. I like a ton of bars, and these are definitely in my top 10 haha:) Thanks for visiting!

  4. Whoa!! I had no idea they had a Blondie Bar! *mouth drops open*
    I HAVE to look for that!

  5. Those stats are super impressive. I may have to try these.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

