Sunshine Veggie Burgers Shine New Light on Frozen Food!:)

We all have those days. The “run around nonstop, just want to faceplant into bed when I get home” kind of day. And as much as I would love to make a marinated salmon dinner or fresh juice-pulp veggie burger, I can barely summon the strength to turn on the stove. When I try to cook on those days, this is what happens:

Yes, yesterday I left my beans on simmer, forgot about the stove, and let’s just say that the smoke is still clinging to my hair. That’s where Sunshine Organic Veggie Burgers come in hand. They’re vegan, low sodium, delicious, and a monkey could easily cook them 🙂

When the nice people over at Sunshine sent me a few coupons to try out more flavors, I immediately rushed to Whole Foods to pick up my burgers of choice. I’ve already raved about the Hemp and Sage burger, as shown below.

So this time, I went with the Barbeque and the South West- two of my favorite flavors:) Not to mention, I was interested to see if the vegan burger could conquer two of the most meat loving and vegan unfriendly flavors.

I got home late one night, ready to eat my arm off, and decided to have the Barbeque flavor rescue me first. I went the traditional route and “fried” it in a bit of olive oil on the stove. The first thing I noticed was how dense the burger was, which I loved. Most veggie burgers, especially frozen kinds, either are more crumbly than dirt or are tiny little hockey pucks of processed soy. Not these. They held their shape even when flipped and were cooked in no time. I served it along with baby greens and avocado, then later drizzled on a bit of BBQ sauce.

Amazing! The flavor was the perfect mix of sweet and savory, and had that hint of smoky flavor that usually only meat can accomplish.

I pulled out the South West for lunch, and this time broiled it in the oven, then crumbled it over a salad along with avocado, a beet, a bit of corn underneath. I loved the density it added to the salad! I wasn’t left hungry or wanting more, and the texture was exactly what you want in a veggie burger. I also loved that you can see whole beans and seeds, so that you know its real food and not over-processed.

Next, I toasted up a Barbeque and topped it with my thick Tahini dressing, which I wrote decorated with  Sunshine Burger initials. Yes, food bloggers have an excuse to play with their food. 😉

Finally, I made myself an alternative to my Turkey Enchiladas by wrapping up a South West Sunshine Burger in a whole wheat tortilla with my healthy cumin enchilada sauce. I left off the cheese on mine and went for a vegan meal 🙂

When a company takes this much pride in their product, you know it’s going to be healthy! Here’s your stats for the South West:

These burgers are sunflower seed based, have 10 grams of protein, 8 grams of fiber, and the best part? Less than 200 mg of sodium! You would have less trouble finding a needle in a haystack than that low of an amount of sodium in the freezer section 🙂  All of the ingredients are super high quality- even the cilantro is organic!

The final verdict? I’m a Sunshine Burger fanatic! I love how healthy they are, and the fact that they don’t try to mimic meat, instead celebrating clean vegan ingredients. I look forward to many more veggie burger nights and can’t wait to try all of the other flavors! Thanks again to Sunshine Burger!

*This review is my sole opinion. I was not compensated.* 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Sunshine Veggie Burgers Shine New Light on Frozen Food!:)

  1. Those burgers look delicious; I LOVE that wholesome and organic ingredient list–no processed soy or other “questionable” ingredients:) I agree that veggie burgers with chunks of veggies, beans, grains, etc…are the best type; I couldn’t care less if they aren’t quite firm enough to grill on a barbecue. Flavor is more important to me! Your tahini dressing looks great as well, since I love most tahini-based sauces and dips. I know the bitterness takes a bit of time to get accustomed to, but now I love the slightly bitter taste it has. I hope you have a great weekend!

    • I used to hate it, even sometimes in hummus, but I bought some about a month ago and fell in love! I pour it on everything- from salads to veggies to hummus. Agreed- I would way rather have a flavorful and healthy burger than a stale one that holds it’s shape! Thanks for stopping by- your comments make my day!:)

  2. Sunshine burgers are the only veggie burgers I buy at the store now, they’re just that good! It’s good to hear that you like the barbecue ones since I just bought those for the first time and now I can’t wait to try them out!

    • The barbeque was my favorite! It was sweet and perfect with avo and bbq sauce. Well, when isn’t anything with bbq sauce and avo on it amazing? 😉 THanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

