Health-ified Coconutty Curry

I have a collection of coconut products that the show Hoarders would be proud of. Coconut oil, coconut butter, coconut yogurt, coconut milk…you get the picture. However, I rarely use coconut in my savory recipes or dinners, and at this rate I will still have that jar of coconut oil when I’m 90. So I made it a goal to start incorporating it into more of my dishes. I contemplated on where I would start. Then I though of coconut curry, which I have a weakness for. However, at the same time, it can be healthy or super unhealthy. Use full fat coconut milk with additives and add a bunch of salt, sugar, and white rice and you might as well go to McDonald’s. Or, use light and natural coconut milk, healthy coconut oil, boost it with veggies and use quinoa or brown rice and it’s your best friend. So that’s just what I did. And this one turned out so good, I made it again the next night for dinner. I may or may no make it again tonight;)

Health-ified Coconutty Curry

Ingredients:

3 cups of a whole grain, cooked

1 1/2 cup light coconut milk

1 cup nut milk

1 T. garam masala

1/2 T. cumin

1 1/2 T. Braggs amino acids (or a bit of soy sauce)

1 block tofu or tempeh, drained

1/2 c. frozen peas

1 carrot, sliced

Handful leafy greens

1 large yellow onion

3 cloves garlic

1. T. coconut oil

Directions:

Cut firm tofu into 1 inch cubes. In a bowl, combine cubes, 1/2 c. coconut milk, a shake of garam masala, and a 1/2 tsp. Braggs. Marinate for at least 20 minutes- the longer, the better. Heat coconut oil and sautee onion, garlic, and carrot until lightly browned. Add garam masala and cumin, then remove from heat. In a medim pot, combine tofu, nut milk, coconut milk, the other veggies, and your sauteed mixture, along with Braggs. Bring to medium heat, then reduce to simmer and cover for 20 minutes, adding more liquid if necessary. Serve over your grain.

Then float away in curry paradise with clouds of puffy tofu, coconut suns, and sandy shores of brown rice. Yes, it’s really that good:)

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Health-ified Coconutty Curry

  1. Looks delicious! I rarely use coconut in savory recipes either, but I should start trying that.

  2. This looks so tasty! I am so much like you, I always reserve coconut for sweet recipes or baking and I totally forget that it is great in savory dishes too.

  3. mmm that looks delicious!! I love coconut in sweet and savory dishes! I’ve made my own curries before, even curry oatmeal topped with coconut, but I’ve oddly never actually made a coconut milk curry. to make list!!

  4. Excellent use of coconut! Not sure if you’ve heard, but coconut oil is starting to get rave reviews in the nutrition world.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

