Grateful Granola and the Evolution of MGN

It wasn’t too long ago that Modern Girl Nutrition had 10 views. I first used it as a place to record dinners and recipes, thinking about how we spent hours of planning and preparing a meal that would never be seen again in half an hour. So I began to snap pictures of all the healthy recipes that worked out, and ta da, I found myself a part of the vast world of health food bloggers! Gradually, I realized how amazing the concepts of a blog and nutrition were, and completely immersed myself in the blogging world, learning everything I could from sites like Peachy Palate, Peas and Crayons, and Carrots N’ Cake. I got involved in food photography, learned about a magical thing called a background, and watched as my picture quality turned from this:

into this:

I couldn’t believe it when I checked my stats page and saw that I had over 3,000 views yesterday! Overall, I’m so grateful that I started MGN- and that I have such amazing readers! So I’ll thank you by sharing what I love- coconut granola:) It’s super healthy and will blow you away into coconut paradise. The best part? It’s so low in sugar compared to most granolas that you can virtually double your serving size, instead of settling for a meager fourth cup. I pour this over smoothie bowls, on top of yogurt, and eat it dry!

Low Sugar Coconut Granola

Ingredients:

3 c. oats

1/2 cup mixed nuts of choice, roughly chopped

1/4 cup Honey or Agave

2 T. Coconut Oil

1/3 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

1/2 c. dried fruit of choice

1 T. chia seed

1 tsp. cinnamon

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lay oats flat on a baking sheet, and toast for 10 minutes, turning halfway through. In a saucepan, combine shredded coconut, honey, coconut oil, and cinnamon and warm on medium heat until coconut oil melts. Remove your oats from oven, and in a bowl, combine oats, nuts, fruit, seeds, and honey mixture. Stir well. Place mix back in oven on baking sheet and bake for 15-20 minutes, stirring occasionally. Cool.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “Grateful Granola and the Evolution of MGN

  1. Congrats on the pageviews 🙂 The granola looks great too, I haven’t made any in awhile but I have almost all the ingredients for this one so I’ll have to try it out soon!

  2. Congratulations on all of your hits yesterday!!! That is amazing!! They are all well deserved hits too! You have so much to offer people; great recipes, OUTSTANDING product reviews and more!! I love reading your blog and I’m sure other do too! We all learn so much! Keep up the awesome work! 🙂

  3. Ohh that granola sounds delish! I’ve been trying to cut down on my sugar, so this would be perfect!

  4. Over 3,000 hits!! That’s amazing! Good for you; you deserve it.

  5. Love what you are doing! Keep up the good work 🙂 You are making such a difference…

    ps: that granola looks delish!

  6. Woot that’s so exciting about the page views! Plus that granola looks delish girl 🙂

  7. YUMMO! I’ve been meaning to try making my own granola for a while now so I’ll take this as a sign. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

