French Meadow Bakery Review!

Lay out a meal of lettuce, hummus, and tomato, and you’re guaranteed to get a few quizzical looks. But place those same ingredients in a tortilla or in between two pieces of bread and suddenly you have something people would even pay for! That’s because no matter how much I love salad or simply vegetables, there’s nothing better than a good sandwich or wrap. Unfortunately, most bread is either a mix of high glycemic white flour and chemicals, or more dry than cardboard. So when I found French Meadow Bakery, a healthy bakery that makes their carby goodness from whole, organic, sprouted grains, I knew I had to do a product review to share with you all.  I’ve already tried (and raved about!) their dense and chewy Hemp Bagels….

So when the company agreed to send me some of their products, I was glad to get the Fat Flush Tortillas, 16 Grain and Seed Bread, Sprouted Grain Bread, and Gluten Free Fudge Brownies. The loot came in a giant box that was steaming a little bit out of one openings- yes, steaming! At first I was a little worried (didn’t I order bread??), so I was relieved to find that the cause was dry ice 😉

I usually save the best for the last, but the Fat Flush Tortillas were so amazing that I figured I’d get right to the point! I have walked past these tortillas every trip to Whole Foods I have ever made, always grabbing my beloved Ezekiel Tortillas, even though they often fall apart and are difficult to roll. I have found a new love! These tortillas have 80 calories and a good amount of fiber, and made  out of Organic Whole Grains, and are nearly as flexible as flour tortillas! I literally brought a wrap to school with me every single day last week, to the point where all my friends were asking, “Again?!” They are that good!

Standard Wrap: Hummus, crumbled balsamic tofu, greens, tomato, avocado

Southwest Wrap: Egg white scrambled, guacamole, salsa, black beans underneath

Breakfast of champions:)

Tahini crumbled tofu, avocado, beets, tomato

Next up was their Sprouted Grain Bread. I expected this product to be like most sprouted sandwich breads- acceptable but a little dry. However, this bread was more denser and thick than the average, which helped it retain some of its moisture. Perhaps the best part was how well it toasted; it didn’t become dry at all! Here’s my everything in the fridge sandwich- balsamic glazed organic chicken, beets, avocado, hummus, tomato. Surprisingly, everything worked amazing together!

There was plenty of guacamole hummus toast involved…

Then I opened up the 16 Grain and Seed Bread, which was thick and chewy like the sprouted. I was mildly sweet with tones of nutty flavor, and made the perfect vehicle for almond butter and banana.

Last but not least, the GF Fudge Brownies. First off, I have to say that you would never know these are gluten free! They are moist, dense, and so flavorful without being dry at all. The second thing I loved was the individual packaging! So adorable and perfect for taking with you. Here’s what I didn’t like so much: although all of the ingredients were clean, I wasn’t thrilled with the actual nutrition info. 8 g of fat and 17 g of sugar seem a bit high in proportion to their size. Still, if you had to choose the healthiest between a hostess, the infamous chemical 2 bite brownies, or one of these, this fudgey little square would win hands down.

Wondering about the other stats? Here’s the info on the Sprouted Grain Bread. The tortillas and 16 Grain and Seed seem to follow the same pattern:)

Ingredients: Sprouted wheat berries, filtered water, malt extract, wheat gluten, contains less than 2% of the following: sea salt, organic sprouted barley, organic sprouted millet, rice extract, raisin juice, yeast, organic apple cider vinegar, organic sprouted lentils, organic sprouted soybeans, organic sprouted spelt berries (wheat), ascorbic acid.

Each slice has 100 calories, 4 g. fiber, 5 g. protein, and 18g carbohydrates.

I’m so happy I’ve found this company! The tortillas, particularly, are life changing! Never again will I have a sawdust tortilla. Thank you so much to French Meadow Bakery!

If you want to get your bread-loving on, here is the company’s link:

http://www.frenchmeadow.com/

Sunnie:)

This review was my sole opinion. I was not compensated.

Categories: Uncategorized | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “French Meadow Bakery Review!

  1. Hemp bagel sandwich? Wow you caught my attention here! 😀 I like how you do reviews. I’ve often times thought about doing some myself, I’ve just never done it… maybe I will some time. I love how it helps to spread the word on awesome new products! 🙂

    • Thanks so much! You should definitely try doing one. I love reading through other bloggers’ reviews to see which product they like before heading to the store:) Thanks for commenting!

  2. Avocado Hummus Toast might just be the best thing every invented! And that tahini crumbled tofu sounds like a great idea. I’ve never tried it before, but thats definitely going to change soon!

    • I loved it! I added a splash of balasmic and some tahini along with a bit of Braggs…perfection:) I’m trying to get creative with tofu, since I eat it so often!

  3. Ohmygosh that brownie. I want to try one! I am all about the gf brownies because I’m too lazy to make them myself.

  4. ohhhh, now I’m hungry again! 😉 You can’t go wrong with the classic nut butter and banana. NOM.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

