WIAW- Now and Then

Eating should be simple. However, with the countless amount of different theories and diets out there, you can easily get lost. Between vegan and paleo, it seems like one food that has a health halo in one diet wouln’t be touched with a ten foot pole in the other! That’s why now I eat in balance, not following any one theory but rather combining pieces of all of them with common sense. I eat mostly a vegetarian diet, get my dairy from yogurt, and eat organic meats and fish. This way of eating works well for me- I’m not left craving anything nor do I feel bloated or am hungry. But it wasn’t always like this. Not too long ago, I got lost in the swarm of theories and essentially tried to follow them all at once. As you can imagine that blocked out a huge selection of foods! As you can imagine, I was left with pretty much 3 foods on the acceptable list: Vegetables, berries, and avocado. Obviously, you can’t have a balanced diet with just those 3 foods, and I’m so happy I came to realize that! I was eating healthy, but definitely not balanced. Here’s a comparison of some examples of what I eat now and what I ate then. Thank you Jenn over at Peas and Crayons for hosting!

Breakfast Then: Vegetable juice, a piece of fuit, or a 1/2 cup oatmeal

Breakfast now: Power Parfait (Recipe coming soon!!) or a  Green Smoothie+oatmeal with chia, berries, and almond butter

Snack then:

Nothing. Not very tasty, right?:)

Snack now: Homemade Low Sugar Energy Bars or a healthy snack bar

Lunch then: Small piece fruit with 1 piece bread + 1 T. nut butter or a plain lettuce salad with balsamic dressing

Lunch now: Whole Foods salad bar mix of beans, lentils, kale, beets, guac, etc. or Greens and Proteins Salmon, Kale, and Sweet Potato Mash. You probably think I go to Whole Foods every day! I swear I don’t, and pack my lunch everyday, although that would be rather nice! These are the highlights of this week 🙂

Snack then: a couple of crackers

Snack now: Green protein smoothie with flax, chia, fruit, nut butter or yogurt bowl with fruit and granola

Dinner then: Bowl of veggies with a bit of quinoa, veggie kale wrap with bit of lentils, sweet potato

Dinner now: Salmon, whole sweet potato, veggies, or 2 veggie burgers+ veggies, or big bowl of lentil bean soup with avocado on side

Dessert then:

Nothing, or:

Dessert now:

As you can tell, I’ve added carbs, protein, and veggies to every meal, upped my portion size, and feel better than ever because of it! I’ve found that the best way to eat for me is with balance, nothing off limits, and clean. And another WIAW means another product loving!

Have a fantastic rest of your week!:)

Sunnie

Categories: Uncategorized | 27 Comments

Post navigation

27 thoughts on “WIAW- Now and Then

  1. Love this post and seeing how far you’ve come! All of your “now” meals look delicious hunnie xo

  2. WOW Sunnnie!! What a difference! So glad you’ve switched to eating based on what you like, want and how your body feels!! The meals look sooo good! 🙂 And that Bragg’s dressing ROCKS!

  3. Wow. I love this concept! And it’s so amazing that you eat this well and insightful at your age. When I was in high school I like lived on chicken burgers and gummy bears. I had no clue about nutrition. When I tried to diet (which was constantly despite being a normal weight already) I’d just try to live on fruits and veggies and “low fat” products then give up. Hence, I’m super impressed by you and your blog! 🙂

    • Thanks so much I really appreciate it! Ive found that eating healthy makes me feel great, and I love when friends start bringing healthy lunches after seeing my tempeh etc! Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Those are some awesome improvements! Balance is something I’ve always struggled with, so keep it up girl, it’s awesome.

  5. That’s a great “improvement” Sunnie! It sounds VERY much like my journey with food the past year or so… I got caught up in trying ALL diets at once because I was so fascinated by them and wanted to see how they’d work for me… yet that left me with not a lot of foods to eat (I also have a lot of food allergies, so on top of that… not a good idea!) I’m now eating whole foods like you do. Organic whenever possible and I mix up vegetarian days with meat and fish. I love how it makes me feel and makes it easier to eat out 😉 Happy WIAW!

  6. Wow, that is amazing to see the difference. You really must’ve been so tired all the time on that old diet! I’m glad you’ve improved now and are feeling the awesomeness. 🙂 I got sucked into the same mindset before, and I literally can’t imagine living like that again looking back. I’m sure you feel the same way!

  7. I love this post so much! Thank you for sharing. I’ve been so confused about vegan vs paleo and all the other diets out there and which is the healthiest for me. I think I’m starting to learn how to just eat balanced though!

  8. Looks like you are eating pretty good NOW!

    Thanks for sharing…love the then and now idea 🙂

    Happy WIAW!

  9. Well said. All good things in moderation.

  10. Well said. I believe all good things in moderation. Although I do like them to be clean.

  11. I love this! I remember you said you were going to do a post like this! So awesome 🙂

    And a woman at work was eating one of those perfect bars yesterday… I was dying to ask her what it was but I had literally just met her and I didn’t want to go all “foodie” on her 😉

  12. Awesome! All of your eats look so pretty, tasty, and satisfying! Im so glad you found a way to eat that works for you, every single person is different and what works for someone may not work for someone else. Yay for balance:)

  13. I love this post! I can definitely relate. My entire perspective on food has been changed in the last year all thanks to blogs. Before I knew anything about nutrition, I used to be overly restrictive. I remember viewing nut butters as unhealthy and something that should only be eaten as a dessert. But now I eat nut butters at least once a day. I agree that it’s all about finding that balance and not being overly restrictive. Instead just eat real food that makes you feel great and doesn’t leave you feeling deprived. Anyways, I loved this! And what is in that green protein smoothie? Looks creamy and delicious:)

    • Thank you Kylie! I couldn’t agree more- I used to be so confused and even thought that you were only supposed to have 1-2 sevings of fat a day, even if it’s healthy. I don’t know how I lived without avocado!;)

  14. Heya! New to your blog , love it. Love the idea of a healthy eating teen!! I think it is a great idea to be very aware of your changing diet over the years. A new reader here!!

    http://thepescetarianpantry.blogspot.co.uk

  15. OMG, can I just say you are a total rock star to be starting so young on your clean eating journey. I’m beyond impressed.

    BTW, where did you get the maca protein? That looks awesome and I’ve never seen it before.

    • Thanks so much! I actually got the protein as a sample at Whole Foods, so I’m sure they sell it there:) Definitely one of the best samples I gotten! Thanks for stopping by!

  16. LOVE all the changes you’ve made! It’s definitely a big difference but you have so much more balance now…and so much more deliciousness! 😀

  17. Pingback: Top 12 of 2012! « moderngirlnutrition

  18. Pingback: Tuesday Thoughts « moderngirlnutrition

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

