Raw Vanillaomega Almond Butter and the Healthiest Nuts

When I spend an hour finding the food processor (I still don’t know how it got in the garage!), I know I’m dedicated. When I spend 15 minutes in front of the food processor wearing headphones to block out the insanely loud noise, I know I’m in love. And when I spend another 10 minutes have a photo shoot with a jar of nut butter, I know I’m addicted. With what? Almond Butter. But not just any old butter. Because what’s better than almond butter? Practically nothing. Unless it’s creamy, flavored, sweet almond butter with antioxidant loaded and anti-inflammatory flaxseed. So that’s exactly what I made:)

Raw Vanillaomega Almond Butter

Ingredients:

2.5 cups almonds

1.5 tsp. vanilla extract or about 10 Stevia Vanilla Creme drops

1/4 cup flaxseed

1.5 T. flax oil (or other neutral oil)

Directions:

Get out headphones. 😉 Combine all ingredients except for the oil in food processor, and process until creamy and drippy. This should take between 10-15 minutes. Add oil if the nuts are not converting into butter easily.

I’ve always considered almonds to be one of the healthiest nuts out there, due to their abundance of mono-unsaturated fat. Here’s how they stack up with other nuts:

Nut Charts

Chart from sheerbalance

So with that excuse, it seems that the jar has developed a hole in it 😉 It’s been busy lending a vanilla undertone to my Almond Butter Banana Overnight Oats…

https://moderngirlnutrition.wordpress.com/recipes/breakfast-recipes/overnight-oats/

…and making a creamy addition to Cacao Chia Pudding!

…but my favorite way? Right from the spoon! Sometimes simplicity is bliss.

Have a fantastic, almond-butter loving rest of your day!

Categories: Uncategorized | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Raw Vanillaomega Almond Butter and the Healthiest Nuts

  1. Yum, that almond butter looks fantastic!! Haha, I love your comment about the headphones–I need to try that sometime:) I agree that almonds are one of the best and healthiest nuts; plus, they tend to be easier to digest than certain other nuts. My favorite way to eat almond butter is from a spoon as well–how else can you get the full flavor, right??:)

  2. Uh oh, my favorite nuts are macadamia nuts, cashews and pistachios…thankfully pistachios got more than one measly star!:) The almond butter looks delicious and the pictures make it look like Fall in a jar!

    • My favorites are cashews and pistachios, too! I was confused when I first saw this chart until I realized that they are getting 1 star compared to the healthiest of the healthiest! They are coth stillso good for you!:) Which is good because I can go through cashew butter like nobody else!;) Thanks for visiting!

  3. umm YUM!! This looks delicious, totally gonna make this (perhaps a cheaper version of my beloved Justins?) my favorite nuts are almonds and pistachios, I like peanuts too but generally only in peanut butter/flour/flavor, oddly the nuts themselves I’m not a huge fan of!

    • That’s so funny because as much as I love peanut butter and flavor, I never eat the nuts by themselves! It’s hard to beat Justins, but I think this one comes close!:) Thanks for visiting!

  4. That almond butter looks AMAZING. I need to bust out my food processor and make some of my own soon!

  5. vanilla flavoured almond butter is amazing 🙂 I love that you added flax to it! What a great way to squeeze in some omega 3s!

  6. Haha I can totoally relate to the whole “put your headphones in” because my food processor is super loud and it’s horrible but I still make almond butter no matter what! Great recipe too, can’t wait to try it out!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

