Healthy Avocado Corn Chowder

It’s no secret that I adore avocados. For goodness sake, my logo is an avocado! They often appear at breakfast, lunch, and dinner, adding a healthy creaminess to every dish, and I admit that I consider guacamole a food group. As if I needed an excuse to eat more of them, they are considered by some to be a perfect food! While low in sugar, they are high in nutrients and monounsaturated fats, which are essential to every person’s health. I add a slice to my smoothies for a unique cream texture, pile guac high on kale burritos and bean bowls, throw them on every salad, and include them on sandwiches, bagels, and wraps. So without further adieu, I proclaim them my favorite food.

Recently, I branched out from my usual way of including avocados in my diet, and decided to make a healthy chowder. I thought, “If one slice adds that much of a creamy texture to my smoothies, imagine what a whole avocado would do!” So I sacrified to of my avocados to experimenting, which is a big deal, because they are like gold to me (and can be as pricey as gold!) 🙂

And it paid off! Here is the rich yet guiltless chowder I came up with…

Avocado Corn Chowder

Ingredients:

2 avocados

1 cup water

1/2 almondmilk

Juice of one large orange

kernels of 2 ears of corn

1 tsp. honey

1 little clove garlic

1 T. Braggs, or dash of salt

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a blender. Blend until just smooth. Chill in fridge for at least 10-15 minutes, or heat in a small pot. Top with chicken, black pepper, corn, or veggies.

The chowder turned out to be a perfect mix of tangy, sweet, salty, and creamy. Plus, I love that this chowder can go hot or cold. My sister preferred it warm, while my mom loved the cold version. As for me, I couldn’t decide, so I split mine into two bowls, and had half hot, and half cold. Sometimes I worry about myself;)

If you’re looking for an easy dinner, you’ve just found it! It also makes a perfect lunch, or if you’re one of those “Chinese food for breakfast” people, it’s just the thing to break the fast.

Anyway you have it, it’s amazing! Enough said:)

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Healthy Avocado Corn Chowder

  1. All I have to say is…..GENIUS!!!! This looks absolutely AMAZING Sunnie!!! I can not wait to make this!! I am buying an orange tomorrow!! Oh my goodness! Hope you had a great weekend! 🙂

    • Thanks Sarah! Sometimes the most odd combos end up the best. I did have a great weekend! Especially because it involved this chowder haha:) Have a great night!

  2. mmmm that looks awesome!! I love avocado, I’m so lucky to live in CA!! I love sliced avo on toast with tomatoes and black pepper, but this looks absolutely amazing!

  3. I LOVE avo’s too – always love an interesting avocado recipe to try. Thanks for posting.

  4. this looks delicious!!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

