WIAW: Dinner is Served!

I often get home from school and riding late, and as much as I would like to make a homemade vegan veggie burger or a whole wheat lasagna, my mind seems to go blank and I end up staring mindlessly into the refrigerator waiting for something to cook itself and magically turn into a healthy meal. This results in nothing but becoming even hungrier and wating time and power! So for busy nights like those, I keep a stash of easy and super healthy recipes on hand, and always buy ingredients to make at least one of these meals. Without further adieu, I present to you…5 nights of no effort healthy dinners:) ThanksΒ  to Peas & CrayonsΒ for hosting!

Day 1.) Tempeh Pumpkin Noodle Bowl: I am in love with this recipe! It’s a twist on the classic uses for pumpkin, and all of the flavors work so well together. I used spelt pasta- perfection!

Recipe: http://www.veggiegirl.com/2012/09/28/tempeh-and-pumpkin-noodle-bowl/

If only mine looked as good as hers- sigh. πŸ˜‰

Day 2.)- Spaghetti Squash Pasta! The easiest of them all, and one of my all time favorites. Adding nutritional yeast boosts it to a comfort food and you can’t get much healthier! Here’s what you do: Put a spaghetti squash in oven at 400 for an hour. Take out, let cool, scoop out seeds, and top with a healthy pasta sauce and veggies. Amazing!

Day 3: Broiled Salmon with Spiced Quinoa: Although I don’t eat meat often, I have a weakness for good, wild-caught salmon. Which is not a bad addiction, with all of its omega-3 fatty acids! In a hurry, I simply rub my salmon with kosher salt and pepper, garlic, and whatever other spice I feel like at the moment, and broil at 500 for 8-12 minutes. Quinoa “risotto”, or quinoa with a tsp. of oil and a tsp. of Braggs, and garlic powder, compliments the salmon perfectly.

Day 4: Tempeh Salads: This one is pretty self explanatory, but is another favorite! Let the tempeh soak for 10 minutes in a healthy marinade of your choice, then broil at 475 until just dark on the outside, usually about 8 minutes. Use a salad with avocado as a base, top with healthy vinegeratte, and dinner is served! I love adding a bit of TJ’s Kimchi to my salads.

Day 5: Massaged Kale Salad with Broiled or Grilled Tofu: This salad is very light, so I always add a grain or bean or some sort to round it out. Essentially, steam your kale until it is just soft, then massage it with a fourth to a half of an avocado. Add a bit of salt or Braggs and as well as lemon juice. For the tofu, cut out a large triangle and soak for 10 minutes at least in any healthy marinade. Then, broil of grill until browned. I also love Whole Food’s tofu for this recipe!

Or… you can go out πŸ™‚

Zaba’s Black Bean Bowl with Guacamole, Rachel’s Kitchen Egg White Omelet, Greens and Protein’s Salmon, Sweet Potato, and Kale

I’ve also been making Tangy Peach Green Smoothies, Paelonola-topped “soft-serve”, and Pumpkin Pie Power Parfaits often…

….and my Raw Almondtella is a huge hit in my house! (Recipes>Snacks and Others)

Products of the week with a sweet theme:

TJ’s Unsweetened Cocoa Powder, Bragg’s Concord Grape Vinegar Drink, and Orgain Chocolate Shakes

Have an amazing day!

Categories: Uncategorized | 22 Comments

Post navigation

22 thoughts on “WIAW: Dinner is Served!

  1. Glad you like the tempeh and pumpkin noodle bowl recipe! πŸ™‚

    • I love it! All of the flavors are perfect together! I didn’t know how this would turn out, and was a little worries to sacrifice my tempeh haha, but it was a huge hit:)

  2. Those meals all look both simple and delicious! I have tried spaghetti squash before, and while I enjoyed it, it can be rather bland, which is why topping it with sauce and veggies is an excellent idea:) Your raw almondtella looks delicious; I have tasted Nutella before and it is too sweet for me, but your recipe would probably be much tastier (and healthier)!

  3. I loooovee Spaghetti Squash Pasta! And I use that Trader Joe’s coco powder in oatmeal, smoothies, baking, etc, it’s so good! Where did you find that apple cider drink? I’ve never seen it.

  4. I love meals that are healthy, filling and quick. Especially when you’re stressed and tired but want something nutritious. Salmon is definitely a good go-to food! And goes with so many foods.

  5. Wow, everything looks yummy. Great easy dinner ideas. Mine are huevos rancheros.

  6. I really like TJs unsweetened cocoa (used to put it in everything!) and love that APple Cider Vinegar drinks too…they’re just a little pricey so I don’t drink them often

  7. that pumpkin tempeh noodle dish looks awesome. I really have stopped thinking of canned pumpkin as something savory. I’ll have to try that one.

  8. that pumpkin tempeh noodle dish looks awesome. I forget that canned pumpkin can be savory! I’ll have to try this one.

  9. Spaghetti squash pasta is my absolute favorite! All of your dinners look so great though!

  10. I love TJ’s cocoa.. It’s so good! I didn’t know you still rode (horses I assume?)! That’s so great. πŸ™‚ What do you do?

    • moderngirlnutrition

      Agreed- it’s some of the best! I couldn’t live without riding haha:) I ride horses usually but have a weakness for pony hunters! I was lucky enough to get to show in Pony Finals this year- such a blast! Do you do hunters? Happy WIAW and thanks for visiting!

      • Chelsea @ Chelsea Runs

        I really love hunters but my natural ability lies in the dressage direction. I just look/ride like a dressage rider, y’know? I really will do anything though, as long as it’s on a horse. That’s so cool that you went to Pony Finals!

  11. Hmmm… I love spaghetti squash. But only if it’s in season! If it’s out of season it is just plain tasteless.

    Love the looks of that broiled salmon. Fish is so good!

  12. I really really need to make your Tempeh Pumpkin noodle bowl – looks delicious πŸ™‚

    • moderngirlnutrition

      I never thought the flavors would’ve worked, but everyone loved it! I always forget how good pumpkin is in savory dishes:)

  13. Happy WIAW! I love spaghetti squash too. πŸ™‚

  14. Ummmm yum, I think I’m going to have to try the tempeh and pumpkin noodle bowl! Three of my favorite things in one dinner sounds amazing!

    • moderngirlnutrition

      That is exactly what I said! It was amazing, as expected:) When isn’t something with tempeh not amazing? Haha

  15. I have a box of rice noodles and have been debating what I’ll use them for–the pumpkin noodle bowl sounds perfect! yummm

    • moderngirlnutrition

      I didn’t have any rice noodles so I used spelt pasta, and it was still great! I bet the rice nnodles will make it even better:) Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

