Variety is the (Pumpkin Pie) Spice of Life- Pumpkin Pie Oats!

Creamy. Steamy. Dreamy. Better than pumpkin pie, if that is possible. With its cinnamon and vanilla notes, this oatmeal was the superhero of my morning. And while it may not wear a cape, it definitely is a superfood, providing plenty vitamin A, fiber, and protein, all with no added sugar!

It’s time to embrace the season! It’s time to get on your fall flavors! It’s time to…..replenish my pumpkin stash-again!

Pumpkin Pie Oats

Ingredients:

1/2 c. rolled oats

1 cup almondmilk+ 1/4 c. for topping

1/3 c. pumpkin

1 banana

1.5 tsp. pumpkin pie spice

1/2 tsp. cinnamon for extra kick

1 tsp. vanilla extract

sweetener to taste (optional)

1 T. flaxseed

nut butter for topping

Directions:

Cook your oats according to package directions using almondmilk. When most of the liquid is absorbed, chop banana into slices, and put 3/4 of the slices into the pot, stirring well. Add pumpkin, vanilla, spices, and the sweetener (if using). Finish cooking, and then remove from heat and let thicken and cool for 5 minutes. Top with banana slices, almondmilk, flaxseed, nut butter, chia seeds, or whatever your little heart desires!

This is so good, I’m beginning to think I’ll just bring this to our Octoberfest dinner! Although I’m not sure how smooth that will go over with my four-year old cousin!

If you’re a fan of “dessert” for breakfast, get out your can opener and oats right now! You won’t regret it.

Have an amazing day:)

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Variety is the (Pumpkin Pie) Spice of Life- Pumpkin Pie Oats!

  1. Sooo.. I need to buy pumpkin. I haven’t yet so far, but now there are many recipes that have been calling me. This looks delicious!

    • moderngirlnutrition

      Thanks Chelsea! I was in a serious pumpkin deprivation untl I went and stocked up! Now I’m in a pumpkin frenzy:)

  2. Wow, this looks so delicious; I will definitely be making pumpkin oats as soon as we get some pumpkin from the store! I love the pumpkin/banana combination–there is a delicious pumpkin-banana cookie recipe on Oh She Glows that I have made a few times before, and it is fantastic:)

    • moderngirlnutrition

      Oh She Glows has to be one of my favorite blogs! I love all the photos:) And pumkin/banana is amazing, especially when you add coconut!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

