WIAW- Favorites!

Naturally, just as I opened up my laptop to write this week’s WIAW  post,
my computer crashed. Since I’m typing from a computer with internet that’s
slower than molasses, please bear with me!:) Even though I can’t feature all of
this week’s eats, I’m going to cut it short and list my favorites. As usual, thanks to

Favorite 1.) Taste Nirvana Coconut Water- review to come as soon as I get my laptop back!:) It’s so refreshing, and is the perfect way to start the morning.

Favorite 2.) Homemade Garlic Hummus- Although I’ve mastered almond butter and almondmilk, hummus has been on my “Figure out how to make” list forever! Despite the fact that it seems easy, I’ve discovered there is a whole science to the art of hummus making, with each recipe calling for a little more of this and a little less of that. Adding more tahini made this normally watery hummus amazingly smooth and full of flavor!

Favorite 3.) Blueberry Softserve- Also known as a green smoothie with barely any liquid. I’m so happy I accidentally discovered this bliss when I forgot to add almondmilk to my smoothie the other day!

Favorite 4.) Vegan lasagna I may not know how tofu and spices combine to make a substance oddly similar to ricotta, but I do know that when I cooked this for my family, nobody knew it was vegan!:) Recipe to come

Another favorite of the week has been mangoes. I remember how when I was little, I would always request whoever went grocery shopping to come home with at least 5 mangoes. Mango juice, mango smoothies, mango anything- I wanted it. Although my addiction has been reduced to an obsession, they still are a staple 🙂

…and we can’t forget Pumpkin Pie Oats. I posted this recipe a few days ago, and haven’t been able to stop making it. Not that that is a problem:)

Also, extra thick protein “green” smoothies have been making plenty of appearances. All I do is add a slice or two of avocado, and the results are amazing!

I may officially be 100 years old after writing this post, but it’s worth it for WIAW 🙂 Have an amazing day!

Categories: Uncategorized | 21 Comments

Post navigation

21 thoughts on “WIAW- Favorites!

  1. Oh I cannot wait for your lasagna recipe. It sounds AMAZING!

  2. Everything looks delicious…can’t wait for the lasagna recipe!

  3. Ohhh I wanna know how to make that lasagna!!! 🙂 and yay for that blueberry softserve!

  4. I always eat my green smoothies that way! Feels so much more like dessert 🙂

  5. Tahini definitely makes or breaks the hummus. Sounds great!

    And I have never really been one to eat mangoes… I guess because the only way to get them around me is in the freezer section. I may just have to check them out.

  6. That lasagna looks out of this world!! Please share! 🙂

  7. We got through a lot of mangos too. They are really cheap down here, which helps. 🙂

  8. I agree with the hummus situation! It is always a guessing game when you are trying out a new recipe of that good stuff. I made stuffed shells similar to your lasagna, and I kept it a secret that it was vegan till after the meal! Sometimes a little trickery is necessary 🙂

  9. I LOVE Mangos…and anything that is made with Mangos. Such a sweet treat!

    Thanks for sharing 🙂 Happy WIAW…

  10. Oh now I am wanting lasagna for dinner haha!! Really, a little avocado makes thick smoothies? So trying that!! And I’ve found that the best way to make hummus ever is blending it in a vitamix, it comes out super creamy!! And for non traditional hummus, try just kidney or black beans with a few tablespoons of salsa, its sooo good!!

  11. I’m not a huge fan of coconut water :/ I really want to like it, but I just don’t. That lasagna looks delicious though. Can’t wait for the recipe!

  12. Good stuff as always. My Hubby’s favorite yogurt is the wallaby brand.

  13. I love hummus so much, seriously. You made me miss it! Also, the vegan lasagna sounds awesome.. I’ve never thought of tofu as a sub for ricotta!

  14. I’ve wanted to make vegan lasagna for forever, so I’m excited for that recipe! And I love mangos too, I just bought one this week so I can’t wait for it to get ripe so I can devour it!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

