Caramel Apple Green Smoothie

A crisp blue-gray sky, snowflakes falling gently onto the fresh white snow, kids bundled in winter jackets picking mangoes. Wait, mangoes? Obviously, one can see the reason behind the popularity of eating in season, as it’s only natural. While there is nothing better than a ripe mango in the summer, apples are unbeatable in the fall. Recently, I had the opportunity to take home apples right off the tree, which is amazing until you get home and say “What am I going to do with all of these?”

Insert: Caramel Apple Green Smoothie. A warm twist on the classic refreshing green smoothie, this combo couldn’t be more perfect for the season. Somehow, this smoothie is delicious and with a taste that resembles caramel, and having made one nearly everyday for a week now, I can assure you that you will fall in love!

Caramel Apple Green Smoothie

Ingredients:

1 apple, sliced and frozen

1/2 frozen banana

1 cup almondmilk

2 cups spinach

1 T. nut butter (Sunflower butter is amazing in here!)

1 date (if you want it really sweet)

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

shake of nutmeg

shake of ginger

ice cube (optional)

Directions:

Place everything in blender, blend. I love smoothie posts;)

So skip the sugar filled apple cider, and cozy up with one of these smoothies in your hand instead. Healthy substitutions never get old!:)

And if you’ve ever wondered the stats for an apple, here’s the “label” on a medium/large:

pic from nutritiondata

Have a great weekend!

Sunnie

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | 16 Comments

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “Caramel Apple Green Smoothie

  1. Yum, I love green smoothies! I wonder what gives it the caramel taste?

    • I think it’s just the warm flavors of the cinnamon, etc, mixing with the apple, and then the sunflower butter really tops it off:) All I know is that I love it! Thanks for the comment, Em!

  2. Pingback: Sunshine award – fun with questions ;-) Join in if you wish! | EAT and get MOVING

  3. First off — this looks super delicious — second: I just nominated you for the Sunshine Award on my blog today! Hope you get a chance to check it out 😉 Have a great weekend! 🙂

  4. As soon as I saw the title I knew I needed to try this! haha

  5. please excuse this less than mature comment, but as soon as I saw that you posted this I basically said “YAYAYAYAYAYAY!” haha:) I really do believe i will try this tomorrow morning!

  6. Wow, that smoothie looks so delicious! I have been wanting to make an apple-flavored green smoothie for a while now, and this looks like the perfect recipe:) I will definitely be trying it out sometime soon!

  7. mmmmm looks delicious!

  8. You’ve done it again. This smoothie is screaming my name!!

  9. Pingback: WIAW–Happy Halloween! (Or End of October) « veggiedancer

  10. Pingback: Ode to the Green Smoothie « moderngirlnutrition

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

