Coconutty Pumpkin Butter

Out of all the festive fall foods, from cider to apples to pie to yams, my all-time favorite part of this time of year is two words: pumpkin butter. Before I became health-conscious, I could literally eat half a jar of TJ’s pumpkin butter without a second thought, not even blinking at the sugar counts. Now, I can still eat half a jar, because I’ve experimented with many a can of pumpkin to find the perfect recipe that is still healthy while being sinfully delicious.

My conditions:

1.) It had to be creamy (insert coconut butter and oil)

2.) It had to be low sugar (insert a bit of agave)

3.) It had to be balanced! (insert Pumpkin Pie Spice)

So…I finally came up with this:

Coconutty Pumpkin Butter

Ingredients:

1 cup canned pumpkin

2 T. agave

1/2 T. coconut oil

1.5 T. coconut butter (I used Artisina!)

1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice (more to taste)

Directions:

Warm up your coconut oil and butter either on the stove, in the microwave, or by placing your jars until warm water. Combine all ingredients in a food processor and process until mixed well. You can also use a whisk

Besides eating this bliss straight from the jar, I give it as gifts, spread it over toast, top off oatmeal, and make PB and P sandwiches. Anyway you use it, it’s sure to be a winner:)

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “Coconutty Pumpkin Butter

  1. Looks really good. I can’t get canned pumpkin in Australia. Which type of pumpkin do you recommend to make this?

  2. Yum I’ve made this before – slightly different ratio but pretty much the same ingredients – I love it! I actually always eat it straight from the jar ๐Ÿ˜‰ It’s too good! I bet it would be great on toast as well… never done that. I have made a delicious oatmeal with this though.. Yum I just love pumpkins!

    • Aren’t they the best?! I crave them all year round, not just in the fall:) You will have to try it on toast! My favorite use for it currently is on almond butter banana sandwiches- yum!

  3. Mmmmm, this looks so delicious!!! I love anything and everything pumpkin, so I am definitely going to have to try making this!

    I am so glad you stopped by my blog and that I found your blog! I love your mission for health, your recipes and pictures make my mouth water, and you are gorgeous! Can’t wait to read more ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you so much Carli! I love nutrition and am so happy I started this blog:) I hope you like the pumpkin butter! I had it today with almond butter on toast- heaven!:)

  4. I need to invest in coconut butter. This looks awesome and would be perfect spread over my warm morning oatmeal!

  5. Great recipe! – Sound delicious! I’m thinking on top of gluten-free cinnamon raisin toast. Yum!

  6. You give it as gifts….sign me up please!

  7. ooooh sunnie, this looks fab AND i have all the ingredients to make it. I know what dessert will be tonight!

  8. Yum I love pumpkin and coconut so you have mixed my favorite flavors ๐Ÿ™‚ Definitely going to have to try this!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

