Chocolate Coconut Bliss Green Smoothie

Some people can simply eat a spoonful of the most decadent, rich, amazing tasting desserts and be satisfied. In example, I had a friend who would always order a ton of junk food, from hamburgers to chips to shortcake, but would eat just a bit of everything and wasn’t left hungry. I’m a different story. I would choose a giant, filling, healthy salad over a scoop of ice cream any day, and need a substantial amount to feel satisfied. That’s where substitutions come in hand, and green smoothies! This one is full of healthy fats like flaxseed, and is creamy, smooth, and nothing short of decadent. Now, you can have your dessert (or breakfast 🙂 ), and eat it too!

Chocolate Coconut Bliss Green Smoothie

Ingredients:

1 frozen banana

2 cups spinach

1 cup lowfat coconut milk, like So Delicious brand

1 T. coconut oil or coconut butter

1.5 T. cocoa powder

1 scoop healthy chocolate protein powder (optional)

Optional Boosts: ( flaxseed, spirulina, bee pollen, etc.)

Directions:

1.) Combine all ingredients in blender, and blend until smooth.

2.) Float off to coconut paradise.

Naturally, I couldn’t help but add more toppings. Ezekiel cereal, almonds, unsweetened coconut shreds, chia seeds, and a bit of extra dark chocolate made this all the more sinful delicious.

This is one of those recipes that transports you back to summer, and you can pretend you’re not leaving for school at 6:30 AM in the freezing cold! 😉

I hope you all had a fantastic Halloween!

Sunnie

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Chocolate Coconut Bliss Green Smoothie

  1. Ahhh I’ve made something similar to this and it’s one of my FAVORITE smoothies! I’ve never tried adding cocoa powder into it though! I love the way the coconut butter melts 🙂

  2. I don’t know how some people eat like that. When I get fatty or bad food I devour it all. It’s a problem. That smoothie looks delish though. I had a dessert-like breakfast this morning too!

    • Haha I think I just crave healthy food, maybe in large portions;) Dessert for breakfast is the best when your “dessert” is healthier than the average breakfast!:)

  3. Love the flavour combinations!

    I’m like you- I need lots of healthy food to feel full. Unhealthy food is just so unsatisfying!

  4. I love this!! I use coconut milk all the time and make the yummiest chocolate whipped cream so this sounds delicious AND healthy to me. A winning combo!

  5. Can’t wait to try this recipe! Coco-choco delight awaits:) also, I MUST top my smoothies with ‘goodies’ too!

  6. Pingback: Ode to the Green Smoothie « moderngirlnutrition

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

