My Perfect Hummus!

Give me hummus and I am good to go. After all, spreading it over a tortilla can transform a dull, lacking wrap into the best one you’ve ever had, adding a dollop to quinoa gives it an unbelievably creamy thickness, and eating it with veggies makes them a trillion times more appealing! From sweet potatoes, to sandwiches, to dips and spreads, the possibilities are endless!

Although I love many hummus brands for their wonderful flavors and convenience, I have decided that it’s finally time to master making hummus. It may seem simple, but adding even a bit extra water can ruin your batch, and too much tahini will transform it into a hummus butter. With plenty of patience and a boatload of beans, I set out to make my perfect hummus, and here’s what I came up with…

Perfect Hummus

Ingredients:

1 can chickpeas, rinsed well

2.5 T. Tahini

1 T. olive oil

juice of 1/2 of a fresh lemon

1/8 cup warm water

1 large garlic clove, smashed and peeled

1/2 tsp. cumin

1/2 tsp. salt or 1 T. Bragg’s (more salt if necessary)

Directions:

Toss garlic clove into the food processor to get somewhat of a mince on it. Add in the rest of your ingredients, except water, and process until smooth. Taste, and if needed, add water slowly.

One of my favorite uses for this hummus is on garden carrots. Fresh on fresh is an unbeatable combo, and  hummus is a million times better than any ranch, nutrition and flavor wise! Full of fiber, protein, and healthy fats, this dip is a great pick me up any time you need it:)

Have a great week!

Sunnie

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “My Perfect Hummus!

  1. Yum, yum! What kind of food processor do you use?

  2. Yummmmm! I love making hummus 🙂

  3. I tried SO many hummus recipes before I found one I really liked! I feel like they can be hit or miss! This one sounds great!

  4. Looks great. Are those lovely carrots from your yard. Nothing quite like a home grown carrot. Thanks for the recipe. My Hubby uses hummus on his veggie wraps every day.

  5. Your garden carts look great! If I ever have a garden (fingers crossed I do sometime!), carrots are one of the things I’d love to grow

  6. Ahhh hummus is amazing. Love it. And you’re right, it goes with eveything! And there are so many variations of it as well…mmmm!

  7. Hummus is one of my favorites! 😀

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

