Quinoa Butternut Crockpot Chili

I’ve been using the crockpot non-stop lately. From oatmeal and desserts to stews and chili, I love that you can get that slow-cooked taste without having to babysit a pot all day! Last night, I made this chili, a super healthy vegan take on the normal meat-loaded dish. With its sweetness from the butternut squash and the cinnamon, it’s the perfect blend of sweet and savory and tastes like you poured fall into a bowl:)

Quinoa Butternut Crockpot Chili

Ingredients:

1.5 cups uncooked quinoa

1 15 oz can tomatoes

1 can black or kidney beans

1 onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, chopped

1 T. olive oil

1 T. Braggs

1/2 of a butternut squash, cubed (without skin)

3 cups water or vegetable broth

1 red bell pepper, diced

Spices: 1 bay leaf, 1/2 T. cumin, 1/2 tsp. cayenne(reduce if you want it less spicy!), 1 tsp. cinnamon

1 T. molasses or honey

Directions:

Sautee your onion and garlic with all spices except bayleaf and chili powder in a pan with your olive oil. Combine the rest of your ingredients except honey in a large crockpot, and cook on low for about 6 hours. Your butternut squash should be tender and your quinoa should be cooked:) Stir in honey and desired salt and pepper and enjoy!

I served mine up with Arrowhead Mills Cornbread muffins and garden veggies- yum!

And before I go, here’s a laugh for you guys. Apparently I’m not the only one who gets Kombucha and Kabocha confused!

Have a great weekend!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: | 22 Comments

Post navigation

22 thoughts on “Quinoa Butternut Crockpot Chili

  1. aahhhh!! I needed this recipe last week hahaha! I tried crockpot chili but it was a meh recipe, yours sounds awesome!!! I’ll try it now though -our forecast is cold and rainy all week, perfect for chili!

  2. This recipe looks fantastic! I love butternut squash and have never added it to chili. I get super confused between the squash and the drink too!

  3. caloricandcrazy

    Looks delicious and something to wat while curled up in PJs on a rainy day ^^

  4. you know, ive actually been thinking about making quinoa chili sometime soon. just sounds perfect for this weather!

  5. Looks and sounds amazing! I eat lentils and quinoa as “chili” all the time!! This is making me hungry!

  6. I’m missing my crockpot! I love that this is meat free:)

  7. I think my favorite part about eating chili is the necessary cornbread that has to go along 🙂 HA! That “Kombucha” sign is hilarious 🙂 I totally thought they were the same thing when I first heard of both!

  8. The chili looks delicious. Very impressive.

  9. Linda S

    I am cracking up because I was at the store the other day buying a kabocha squash but the cashier didn’t know what it was to look it up and i accidentally called it a kombucha squash (but I don’t think she noticed!)

  10. I’ve never tried butternut squash in chili, I’ll definitely have to try this out!

  11. that looks so good, i’ve never made chili with pumpkin, great idea!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

