Massaged Kale Salad with a Lemon Avocado Dressing

Trivia! What is one of the two foods that have a perfect ANDI score (nutrient density test)? If you guessed kale, congratulations! I never used to be a huge fan of kale, until I started to grow it in my garden. Overtime, I developed a taste for it, and now I throw the superfood into everything from smoothies to salads to stews. I love it steamed, raw, massaged, and pretty much any other way you can think of, like in this kale salad! Delicious with sweet beets, dried cherries, and a light but creamy lemon avocado dressing, even Zazu gave it the paw of approval…

Massaged Kale Salad with Lemon Avocado Dressing

Ingredients:

2 cups kale *organic if possible

1 avocado

1 T. vinegar (apple cider, balsamic, etc.)

juice of 1/2 a lemon

small handful dried cherries

1-2 chopped beets

desired toppings (I threw on some butternut squash)

Directions:

In a food processor, combine vinegar, avocado, and lemon juice. Pour half of mixture onto kale, and “massage” with clean hands until kale is soft. Add beets and cherries, as well as desired toppings. Pour more of the dressing over the salad if desired, or save the rest.:)

I added salmon and chickpeas to my salad to make it dinner-yum! If you are a kale lover, you’ll adore this salad!

Off to enjoy the last of the Thanksgiving leftovers!:) Have a great day!

Categories: Uncategorized | 25 Comments

Post navigation

25 thoughts on “Massaged Kale Salad with a Lemon Avocado Dressing

  1. Zazu…like from The Lion asking? He’s adorable and apparently a big fan of kale. I love that you grow it in your garden. Very cool, and it looks yummy…of course!

    • Thanks Meghan! Yep- from the Lion King:) He does like kale, but then again he pretty much eats anything;) Thanks for vistiting and hope you had a great holiday!

  2. Lemon Avocado Dressing sounds so good 🙂 I’m always looking for new dressing ideas. Maybe I’ll try this sometime this week! Thanks for sharing!

    • I’m always looking for new dressings, too! I love the bottled ones, but they are usually either pricey or filled with salt/sugar. I love when I make one that turns out just as good! Thanks for visiting, Di:)

  3. This recipe sounds AMAZING! Thanks for sharing. I love anything with avocado.

  4. This salad looks amazing! I didn’t start off loving kale myself, but it has grown on me over the years! I love it sauteed with other veggies and DEFINITELY paired with beets. They are natures candy after all!

  5. That salad looks to die for!! Yum!!

  6. mmmmm this looks HEAVENLY.

  7. Zazu sounds like a smart puppy! I would gobble down this salad if it were put in front if me too…

  8. That looks so tasty! I never think to eat kale salad. I either roast it or add it to soup. Your salmon looks fantastic too!

  9. Julia H. @ Live Young & Prosper

    Loving the ingredients in this! I’m a big fan of beets in salads…yummmm.

  10. I have been ADDICTED to this garlicky kale recipe. My kale addiction hasn’t gone anywhere though so I think I need to try this dressing to freshen things up!

  11. Yummm! avocado dressing is my fav 🙂 And I love anything with kale! thanks xx

  12. That salad looks great! I’ve been meaning to try kale….so this may be the perfect start! I love anything with avocado, so that sounds perfect, too 🙂

    • I’m an avocado addict too! Without it, salads are just salads, but add avocado and all the sudden it’s the best thing you’ve ever had!:) Thanks for vistitng!

  13. I love that you included “massaged” in the title. 😉 It makes it sound that much fancier. And man, oh man does that salad look delish! Kale is a favorite of mine and I’m always looking for new recipes to use kale.

  14. Kale and avocado are two of my favorite things!! And I have all the ingredients for this!! Yes! 🙂

  15. Pingback: Health/Fitness Links To Get You Through The Day «

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

