WIAW- Plant-Based!

Welcome to this week’s WIAW post! Thanks as always to Peas and Crayons 🙂

Peas and Crayons

As much as I adore Thanksgiving, I have to say that I love the leftovers almost as much! Turkey sandwiches, turkey soups, and all sorts of leftover goodies made regular appearances this weekend, but now I’m glad to be back on track with the clean and the green. Yesterday, I made this Carrot Lemon Apple Green Juice in my VitaMix using a cloth to strain out the pulp. Before straining, it had a horrible consistency, was the ugliest shade of green-brown, and smelled like spinach. Needless to say, I was scared to take a sip after straining out the pulp! However, it turned out amazing! The lemon is so refreshing and the apple gives it sweetness that makes it taste exactly like Naked’s Green Machine:)

Later on, this happened:

Peach Banana Berry Green Smoothie. Topped with raw granola. Enough said! Recipe coming soon:)

Lunch- Sunshine burger on a wheat English muffin with avocado, hummus, and veggies. I never get tired of this combo! It keeps me full for hours, too!

I snacked on almond butter and an orange before dinner…

Whole Food’s! Beans, lentils, hummus, kale, tomato, beet, and shredded kabocha- amazing! It’s ridiculous how much I love that store!

Dessert was the last of this decadent (Almost raw) pumpkin “casserole” with a walnut date crust. I brought this to Thanksgiving and everyone who tried it was a fan:)

Product Loving!

1.) TJ’s Organic 3-grain Tempeh: I’ve waited for Trader Joe’s to get tempeh for ages! Now, they have it, and it’s organic, and it’s only $1.99! Score!

2.) Whole Food’s Grain English Muffins: As much as I love Ezekiel, these are a million times better. Light, fluffy, heavenly. I love that they list the nutrition for both halves of the muffin, too! Because really, who eats half a muffin?:)

3.) Blueberry Coconut Rise Bar: Wow, this is better than a brownie! It’s so rich that it’s hard to believe it’s not sugar-filled! Definitely makes an amazing dessert.

Can’t wait to read all of your posts! Have a fantastic WIAW!:)

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | 25 Comments

Post navigation

25 thoughts on “WIAW- Plant-Based!

  1. I love when smoothies surprise you! Looks like am amazing day of eats, especially since there were 2 smoothies 🙂

  2. I just bought some tempeh at Trader Joe’s too! I need to actually make it now haha. I love it baked with bbq sauce or with teriyaki sauce!

    • I procrasinate so much too when it comes to making tempeh, but once it’s done I’m always so happy to have it on hand for lunches and dinners! Thanks for visiting 🙂

  3. I need to buy some Sunshine burgers!! That meal looks INSANELY delicious! And the banana berry smoothie…YUM!! My cousin just told me last night she is vegetarian so I told her to go and check out some of your amazing meals! She would get lots of inspiration from you! 🙂

    • Thanks Sarah! And yes, you should! I let mine thaw and then bake it, and it doesn’t get dry… I could live off veggie burgers haha. And you are so sweet- I hope she comes and visits!:) Have a great day

  4. your green smoothie looks awesome! i’m thinking of making one for lunch….Whole Foods hot bar is the best! I always make sure I go at least once when I’m home on break. Have a great day!

  5. Oh my goodness- do you have the recipe for that pumpkin casserole? It looks absolutely delicious!! What a fun substitute for a pumpkin pie 🙂 Also, the hot bar at Whole Foods is one of my favorite things 🙂

    • Thank you! It was amazing- it was originally meant to be a pie but I blended the dates with pits and didn’t have enough for a full crust since I had to start over. But it was a huge hit, so I guess everything happens for a reason!:)

  6. That smoothie looks good.

  7. I just bought that tempeh! I’m excited to test it out. What’s your favorite way to use it

    • I’m a huge tempeh fan too! I love this recipe from Basically Barefoot:
      2 8-ounce packages of tempeh
      1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
      2 garlic cloves, minced
      2 tablespoons prepared mustard
      2 tablespoons maple syrup
      2 tablespoons lime juice
      2 tablespoons tamari (I use liquid aminos. You could also sub soy sauce)
      I just cut the recipe in half, since I only use 1 package, steam the tempeh for 10 minutes, let it marinate for 30 minutes, and bake it in the marinade at 425 for 20 minutes, turning once. Thanks for visiting!

  8. mmmmm that pumpkin casserole looks ridiculously good

  9. Your eats look great, and I’m with you…leftovers are the best, but I can’t wait to get back on track.

  10. Oh wow looks like youhad some such good eats. I loved going to wholefoods when i was in the states..the salad bar there is amazinggg!

  11. awww, no more pumpkin casserole 😦 are you going to make more?

  12. I am obsessed with the Whole Foods salad bars! I wish I could go there more often but it’s a little bit too pricey. That dessert looks so good, I love making raw or almost raw desserts because they’re so simple but taste amazing.

  13. Wow, your blog is so great! And your recipes are amazing! I think the only things I could make when I was 15 were canned tuna and toast…yum 😉

    • Thanks so much for all the nice words Devon! Tuna on toast used to be a favorite of mine, too-Complete with lots of not so healthy condiments and on white bread! Have a great weekend:)

  14. Pingback: Healthy Way To Cook What I Ate Wednesday Roundup - December 5

  15. Pingback: Sunshine in a Glass « moderngirlnutrition

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

