My Evolving Salad Bowl and a Sweet Tempeh Salad!

Although I’ve always loved salads, my bowl has definitely evolved over the years! Case in point:

Circa 2004-2007:

 A swimming pool of heavy dressing with lunchmeat and cheese + a few green leaves

Circa 2007-2011:

Vegetables coated in sugary store-brand dressing with plenty of crutons

Circa 2011:

Lots of veggies, no fat, no carbs, with plain vinegar

Now:

Tempeh salad

As I grew up, my salad did too:) I now turn to salads for easy lunches and healthy dinners, and always try to keep my favorite toppings and dressings on hand. Complete with healthy fats, protein, lots of veggies, and a creamy hummus dressing, this Sweet Tempeh Salad is one of my all time favorites.

Sweet Tempeh Salad:

IMG_6504

Ingredients:

For tempeh:

1/3 block tempeh

1 tsp. agave or honey

1 T. Braggs

2 T. vinegar

For salad:

Kale and/or spinach

1/2 baked sweet potato

1/2 carrot, finely chopped

Additional toppings of choice

For dressing:

3 T. Hummus

splash of vinegar

IMG_6507

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425. Slice tempeh and place in a small dish with other tempeh ingredients; let marinate for at least 15 minutes. Combine veggies in a bowl. Mix hummus with a splash of vinegar to thin it out a bit, and set aside. Bake tempeh at 425 for around 15 minutes, flipping once and checking every so often to avoid burning. Remove tempeh from the oven and mix all ingredients with the hummus dressing, coating evenly. Enjoy!

IMG_6506

Basically a plate of my favorite foods, it’s no wonder why I never tire of this combo. Another bonus? It is super satisfying and keeps me going for hours thanks to the high protein tempeh! Sweet, salty, creamy, and healthy…what’s not to love?:)

Have a great Saturday!

Sunnie

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “My Evolving Salad Bowl and a Sweet Tempeh Salad!

  1. So funny, my salads made almost the exact same progression!

  2. Your salad looks great. I’ll take hummus over regular salad dressing any day!

  3. Nice! I love how customizable salads can be! Mine definitely move with the seasons. 🙂

  4. I love tempeh when it’s done right. This salad looks soooo good. My salads over the years look identical to yours haha.

  5. Ive had tempeh in my fridge Ive been meaning to use! I needed inspiration so this is perfect!

  6. Your salads always look amazing! And I just bought tempeh for the first time yesterday! I didn’t know how I was going to use it, but I think this would be the perfect way! 🙂

    • Thanks for all the nice words Sarah! It’s definitely different from tofu- but I like it much more because it’s fiber stats make it extra filling and dense:) Hope you like it!

  7. your salad is right up my alley! i always use hummus as my dressing people think im crazy lol and my salad progression was exactly the same haha

  8. Talk about a well balanced salad. You’ve got everything it needs. Yum.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

