Recipe Quickie: Gluten Free Yeast Free Chickpea Flour Loaf (Whew!)

I have a bread recipe for you today, because lately, with all the soups and cold weather around, what I have been craving all the time is carby goodness. Unfortunately, we don’t currently have any bread around, so I decided it was time to finally make my own. However, I was also lacking yeast and wheat flour, and was just about to go to plan B and get out the crackers when I spotted a pack of Chickpea Flour in the back of the pantry! Since Google-ing “Yeast free wheat free chickpea bread” leaves you with about 10 recipes (most of which contain yeast and wheat), I knew it was time to experiment. 2 batches later and I achieved this:

chickpeabread

Moist, dense, and not crumbly in the slightest, this loaf is perfect if you are eating gluten free or just want to make the switch to homemade, easy bread. It’s perfect topped with almond butter and banana, hummus and avocado, or just eaten straight from the breadpan:)

chickpea bread3

Ingredients:

2 cups chickpea flour (an acquired taste-try a little bit mixed with water before making a whole loaf)

3/4 cup warm water

1 tsp salt of Braggs

1 tsp. agave or honey

1 egg white

1/2 T. baking powder

1/2 T. baking soda

chickpea bread 2

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Mix all dry ingredients, then add in wet ingredients one at a time until a thin dough is formed. Pour into a bread pan or muffin tin and bake for about 20 minutes until the top becomes golden. Let cool for 10 minutes, slice, and guiltlessly enjoy.

chickpea bread4

I couldn’t have been happier with how this turned out! I love that it is full of protein and fiber without any strange additives or pesky preservatives. Success!

chickpea5

Until tomorrow!

Sunnie

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: | 32 Comments

Post navigation

32 thoughts on “Recipe Quickie: Gluten Free Yeast Free Chickpea Flour Loaf (Whew!)

  1. great idea – thanks for sharing!

  2. I have a ton of chickpea flour sitting around, so I might make this tonight!

  3. Even though I’m not gluten intolerant, I might have to make this loaf! Looks great. 🙂

  4. This looks really good- I’ve never made anything with chickpea flour!

    • Thanks! I’m starting to like it more and more- at first I thought it had a weird aftertaste, but I didn’t want to waste the bag. Now that I’ve learned how to make it well I’m a little obsessed:)

  5. This would be delicious with some jam! YUM!

  6. This looks awesome! Also, just wanted to let you know that I nominated you for a Liebster award, although as I’m writing this I see you already have one! If you’d like to participate again, the details are on my blog post today 🙂

  7. This looks so great!

  8. It looks fabulous, delicious and healthy!! Love it! Love the texture.

  9. Oh my goodness Sunnie, you are so creative! I’ve never even heard of chickpea flour (I’m totally checking my co-op for this next time I stop in!) Hope you’re having a wonderful day!

    • Thanks so much! It’s really versatile, and the stats are so good that it is kind of like “free” bread (maybe that’s why so many slices are gone;) ) Your cinnamon raisin oatmeal is so creative!

  10. I’ve never used chickpea flour before but I am going to check out my local bulk store for some, looks great!!

  11. Very impressive! Decent bread is hard enough to pull off without wheat flour, but without yeast, too? It’s practically a baking miracle!

  12. kimthevegan

    Oh wow that looks super easy to make. I’m gluten-free and am terrified of making my own bread as it always calls for a bunch of ingredients I don’t have. This looks great =)

    • Thanks Kim! That’s half the reason I had to experiment- the recipes were either so complicated or had wheat flour. I really didn’t expect it to turn out, though!:)

  13. Pingback: WIAW-Last One?! « moderngirlnutrition

  14. Pingback: WIAW | Jessie Bear, What Will You Wear?

  15. Kyra (Scribbles & Sprinkles)

    WOAH SO EASY. Im currently in a bread making fiasco so I’ll be making this very soon. Just be sure not to lick that wooden spoon eugh ><

  16. Fabulous! I have had a bag of garbanzo flour in my cupboard for months but haven’t found a use for it… Until now 😉

  17. Thank you for this receipt! It came out perfectly! Very very Good…

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

