WIAW-Last One?!;)

It might just be the last WIAW…Ready for the world to end? Haha

funny-calendar-end-of-the-world

Well I’m ready for Christmas! There’s plenty of family, friends, and good eats to look forward to during winter break:) But before we jump into WIAW, I want to give another condolence to the family and little angels of Sandy Hook. I think I’m still in shock.

candle2

On to this week’s WIAW, thanks to the lovely Jenn at Peas and Crayons:) Breakfast was these cocoa blueberry oats, and this peach banana berry smoothie. Definitely provided major staying power as I was barely hungry for lunch!

1219oats

peach berry best

We discovered this little gem while driving today: Go Raw Cafe. I had heard so many great things about it, but had failed to go there for some odd reason. It is sooo good. Although their menu was huge and everything sounded great, I went with the half order of the Raw Enchiladas, which came complete with “beans”, guacamole, and “rice”. I loved it all, and definitely plan on returning!

1219raw

I also had a Greek yogurt when I got home, which felt so wrong after going to a raw cafe! 😉

After a lightish lunch,  I was hungry for dinner! Sunflower seed bread w/ hummus, pan seared salmon, and veggies did the trick. I wish I could say I grew those veggies, but my dog is currently using my garden as a bone cemetery.

1219veg

1219 samlom

Another great dinner this week was a chickpea flour flatbread with a broiled egg- yum! I then proceeded to pile on a mountain of toppings.

1219pizza

And dessert was a new one- 1/2 a Kombucha+ chia seeds went into the freezer last night and made this popsicle! That’s what I do with all my smoothie fails, too. Does that count as recycling?:)

kombuchapop

Product loving!

1219products

1.) Bob’s Red Mill Garbanzo Bean Flour: I used up half the bag trying to make something edible, and then this happened…yum!

2.) Coconut!: Coconut water straight from the coconut is a million times better than bottled. I sound like such a coconut water snob, but it’s true!

3.) Green and Black’s 70% Dark Chocolate: Smooth and creamy

That’s it for now, except I am snacking on some of my sister’s dark chocolate (shhh). Have a great week!

Sunnie

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | 41 Comments

Post navigation

41 thoughts on “WIAW-Last One?!;)

  1. What a great idea with the Kombucha, Sunnie! And a great idea for smoothies, too, fail or not. It would feel like a real treat that way!! I’m sure we’ll all be back here next Wednesday…No Problem!

  2. Wow, I would love to go to that cafe; I adore raw food restaurants!:) And I always have a stash of that chickpea flour; I use it to make flatbread, pancakes, and other bread-y recipes. That dark chocolate looks delicious, as I definitely prefer dark chocolate to milk or white “chocolate” (since white chocolate isn’t really chocolate at all!). Since the Mayan calender doesn’t technically “end” on Friday (just a cycle of it ends), I am fairly sure that the world won’t be ending:)

  3. That dark chocolate bar looks yummy! That weather graphic is too funny 🙂

  4. That chickpea flatebread looks awesome! And I totally forgot about “the end of the world.” I am so clueless these days >.<

    • Thanks! And I think it is just because time is going by so fast lately haha- I could swear Thanksgiving was just yesterday and now it’s already almost December 21st and Christmas! Thanks for stopping by:)

  5. I’ve never eaten I’m a raw restaurant. I’m not sure how I’d get on. I do love my salads but I also like a bit of a cooked element as well, like roasted veg or chicken. That ice lolly looks amazing, what a cool idea!

    • I actually do too (beans are my fave on a salad), but it’s always fun to see how they manage to make food taste like the real thing without even cooking it- it always surprises me! Thanks for stopping by!:)

  6. I made the Yogurt and Fruit Salad this past Sunday night! Everyone in my family loved it 🙂 Thanks again for sharing that recipe 🙂

  7. I made the Yogurt and Fruit Salad this past Sunday night! Everyone in my family loved it 🙂 Thanks again for sharing that recipe 🙂

  8. The Popsicle looks divine, i could go for one right now! I also esp love the green and blacks chocolate, a fave brand of mine 🙂

  9. Haha, love the first image with the end of the world on the 5 day forecast. Very clever!

  10. I sincerely hope that this isn’t our last WIAW ever. That would be so sad 😉 Cute weather report at the top by the way!

    That Raw Cafe looks really neat. I’ve always wanted to go to one!

  11. Leave it to Sunnie to make you want to go to a raw food restaurant, grow a garden and crack open a coconut. All before Friday. 😉 Your eats look delicious and I still cannot believe how creative you are! Rock on, girlie.

    • Haha! Your comments always make my day! Yes, I suppose you never know when you’re going to be stranded on an island and actually need to crack open a coconut instead of grabbing a bottle of Zico coconut water;) Have a great night!

  12. what did you use for the chickpea flatbread? suuuuch a good idea!

  13. caloricandcrazy

    I would love to visit that cafe. Makes me miss Native Foods even more ;(

  14. Oh my gosh I read the title and got so sad because I thought this meant your retirement from blogging!!! Well, its good to know that is NOT the case 🙂 I just checked out the menu of Go Raw Cafe….that looks like a place where I could seriously never decide what to order because everything sounds awesome!!

    • This comment just made me so happy- I always knew there was a reason I spend so much time on here lol!;) I must have spent a good ten minutes just staring at the menu- next time I want to definitely try a wrap!

  15. I need to go to that cafe!! WOW!

  16. I would love to go to a raw cafe! I actually had a raw enchilada at a vegan restaurant and it was delicious, the ‘beans’ seriously tasted just like beans even though they were made out of nuts and seeds. I just think it’s so cool how you can make so many things raw!

  17. I am so jealous of your meals!

  18. Your raw lunch looks amazing! And what a great idea for the Kombucha!

  19. I love your product finds! Kombucha is a new addition to my life but I can’t get enough of it. How fun to turn it into an ice pop!

    • I love Kombucha, and it seems like every flavor is better than the next:) I don’t care for the chia kind however because I can’t get over the texture from the seeds. They are great as popsicles, though! Thanks for stopping by Joanne!

  20. Haha I sure hope the world doesn’t end! I’m sure it won’t, and I’ve been loving the same chocolate bar lately! I have a dark chocolate addiction I won’t apologize for 🙂

  21. I keep wondering what’s gonna happen Friday too….haha. I love that the weather forecast doesn’t even show a report for Sat or Sun because it isn’t need. I haven’t tried the coconut water from teh coconut yet…must try it asap

    • Yes it’s definitely a must try! I’m going to be so spoiled now when it comes to coconut water because I don’t think any of the bottled kinds compare to straight from the coconut!

  22. I love the kombucha popsicle idea! So smart! And since the world hasn’t ended yet, I’ll get a chance to try it out!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

