Life Saving Kitchen Tricks!

As much as I love cooking, I never look forward to the tedious parts…crying while chopping onions, the sting of garlic under your nails, and waiting an hour when you want a sweet potato for lunch are all things we could live without:) Here a few kitchen tricks that are such life-savers in my kitchen. Whether it’s preventing food spoilage or giving inspiration, all of these tricks reduce cooking time while increasing effectiveness!

1.) Stuck on what to do with leftovers?

I recently discovered Big Oven, and I love its recipe>leftover page! You click the ingredients you have, and they narrow down their some 250,000+recipes to meet your requirements. And, most of the recipes are healthy! Win!

Big Oven

big_oven_111204304953

2.) Throwing away coconut milk

Generally when I make coconut curry or smoothies, I never end up using the whole can. Then it ends up sitting in the depths of the fridge and going rancid until I finally end up throwing it away. That happened countless times until I found this trick: freeze leftover milk into an ice cube mold and use for future recipes!

Coconut milk cubes

I also do the same with leftover tomato puree and pasta sauce! These go great in almost all recipes and save you money! Pic from  LoveThroughtheStomach

tomatensaus8

4.) Health trick: Use leftover sweet potato to sweeten smoothies, oats, and other recipes. This is such a handy tick to cut down on added sugars, and sugar in general. Plus, it makes the prettiest colored dishes:)

sweet potato green smoothie

sweet potato oatmeal

5.) Crystallized Honey stuck in the bottom of the bottle?

No worries, just place the bottle in a bowl of warm water for a few minutes and you are good to go. By the way, sweet potato+nut butter+honey is a must try!

sweetpotatonutbutter

6.) We all hate peeling garlic…

I used to dread cooking with garlic, until I found this video: Peeling Garlic. Just crush, place in a salad bowl, cover with an equal sized bowl, and shake! This really does help sooo much, and is great for recipes that use plenty of garlic, like my curries:

garlic gold curry

7.) Onions!

And I didn’t forget about the infamous onions! Here are a few tricks on how to chop them without looking like you just had a tantrum:

Chopping Onions

They will be ready to add to your next wrap, stew, or curry in no time!

veggie wrap3

Hope these help you out a bit- I know they are all staples in my kitchen!

We are still all here, so have a great day! Haha

tumblr_mfc3d2fRr51qz4cuyo1_400

Sunnie

Categories: Uncategorized | 29 Comments

Post navigation

29 thoughts on “Life Saving Kitchen Tricks!

  1. I hate throwing away the rest of the tomato paste!!!!! Always….

  2. Freezing coconut milk for smoothies? That is genius!! I will be doing that 🙂

  3. # 2 is SUCH a good tip that I’ve never thought of! So using that!!

  4. Oohh I love all of these! I will definitely be using the app, another one similar to that is a website called “my fridge food”. You type in what you have and it gives you recipe suggestions.
    Don’t even get me started on the sweet potato/nut butter combo. I could eat it everyday. Hope you have a fabulous weekend 🙂

    • I will definitely have to check out that app! As if I needed another cooking app on my phone- I always get a few strange looks when I have two screens worth of food apps haha! And yes, I think I’ve decided that nut butter makes everything better;)

  5. Great ideas! I really have to start ice cubing everything. I need to try sweet potato and pumpkin in smoothies too. Do you use steamed or roasted as well?

    • I think either way works for the sweet potatoes- I usually just wrap mine in tin foil and bake them for an hour:) Somebody told me that raw works as well, but I’ve been too scared of trying that one haha. Thanks for visiting!

  6. What great tips! Especially the freezing of the coconut milk and pasta sauces! I’m definitely going to use these tricks. 🙂 Thanks!

  7. Thanks for these great tips! I was just cutting up an onion yesterday when making soup, and it was making me cry haha! I also love the idea of freezing sauces in ice cube trays. I hate wasting food!

  8. Love this post — I absolutely hate throwing away or wasting food. So glad I stumbled across this and the Big Oven site 🙂 Thank ya!

    • No problem- I always feel horrible throwing away food, too! I’m definitely looking forward to using BigOven more! Plus it’s really entertaining selecting the most random ingredients and seeing what it comes up with haha:)

  9. I really need to start using my freezer more! I know it is there but I never freeze things! So wasteful of me!

  10. Great tips! I do that exact same thing with coconut milk!

  11. These are such great tips- I especially need to check out Big Oven as I HATE throwing food away!

  12. I also like to use my leftover coconut milk in baked goods…anywhere where regular milk would be used! Such awesome tips!

  13. Ooh I’ve never heard of that Big Oven site before… such a cool idea! I’m definitely going to check it out.

  14. Great tips; I love the idea of freezing leftover tomato paste. I’ve done it with pesto and pasta sauce, but never paste. I love the Mayan calendar cartoon. Very funny.

  15. Great tips Sunnie. I do the coconut milk trick. I just freeze it in air tight containers. 🙂

  16. kimthevegan

    Great tips!
    My mom taught me to stick onion in the freezer for 15 minutes before cutting it up – it always does the trick.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

