Healthy Red Cabbage (and none for the puppy!) ;)

When I was little, we were taking a trip which involved driving across a bunch of states. Passing through a small German town, we stopped a hole-in-the-wall German “diner”, which had all sorts of traditional foods. My dad ordered the red cabbage, and once I tasted it, I essentially stole his plate. I then proceeded to ask for two more orders for road snacks. So while my family was snacking on nuts, chips, and the usual, I was in the backseat perfectly happy with my cabbage. Such a strange child.

Even now, one of  my go-to, super fast family dinners is a “healthified” German dinner, which is chicken sausage, sweet potatoes, and sautéed greens, complete with red cabbage. Although the first three are pretty self explanatory when it comes to making, red cabbage is more daunting. Most recipes call for plenty of butter, a generous handful of salt, and a rounded cup of brown sugar. Instead, I sub in olive oil, a pinch of salt, and agave to make this spin on one of my favorites.

red cabbage3

Healthy Red Cabbage:

red cabbage2

Ingredients:

1 bag or head of chopped red cabbage

3 T. apple cider vinegar

1 tsp. olive oil

2 generous tablespoons of agave or honey

1 chopped apple

about 2 T. water

1/2 tsp. good salt

a bit of black pepper

PicMonkey Collage

Directions:

Heat oil in a pan over medium high heat. Add in cabbage and apple and stir for one minute. Add in water, stir for another minute, then apple cider vinegar. Reduce heat and let simmer for about 10 minutes. Add more water if needed, as well as the agave, salt, and pepper. Stir well and serve hot

This recipe isn’t just for a German themed dinner. I cook a big batch and use the leftovers for salads, side dishes, and scrambles. Or, you know, you could just take it on your next drive;)

Sunnie

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 26 Comments

Post navigation

26 thoughts on “Healthy Red Cabbage (and none for the puppy!) ;)

  1. Looks great, as always!

  2. This looks great I’ll have to try it! You always post the best recipes!!

  3. that healthified german dinner sounds so yummyyyy

  4. I adore red cabbage! It’s so good! I have a German friend and shed always bring a huge jar with her at uni and we’d share it. Yum!

  5. I love red cabbage, but don’t eat it enough! This recipe sound so good.

  6. Mmm, I love fresh red cabbage but I’ve never had it cooked! Your recipe for it looks so good though!

  7. Ive been meaning to buy red cabbage lately! This looks and sounds so delicious!

    • Thank you so much! I didn’t make cabbage for so long because I thought it was going to be super hard…now it’s a staple for when I’m trying to make a super fast dinner:)

  8. This could not have been posted on a better day! I’m making homemade split pea soup that this would go perfect with (my family is Swedish and German so we cross tradition a bit 🙂 ! Perfect for a rainy holiday evening!

    • Agreed- perfect on a rainy day:) Mmmm homemade split pea soup is the best…and would definitely go great with this! It’s been sitting in my drafts for a bit, too- I guess it was meant to be:)

  9. I am so interested to try this! I’ve never made/ate a recipe like this before.
    Way to healthify it, too. That takes skill (which I obviously lacked with my granola making 😉 )
    Thanks Sunnie!!

    • Thanks Abby! It was super good- I don’t think leftovers have gone that fast in a while 😉 My sister was eating it for breakfast this morning haha. Happy almost Christmas Eve!

  10. This looks great and super healthy. I wonder if mixing the dressing up without heating it and pouring it over the cold cabbage would be any good, a nice cold salad?! I’ll try both!

  11. Cabbage doesn’t get much love, but I happen to be a big fan! This is such a simple, satisfying preparation. The balance between sweet, salty, savory, and sour is just perfect.

  12. Sunnie this looks amazing. Haha, whenver our puppy begs for food I always say ‘I can’t help you, no meat over here!’ It’s okay though, my little Flatpac (bunny) is a vegetarian like me!

  13. Pingback: WIAW! Merry Christmas (and other shenanigans) « Life Hands You Limes

  14. i loveee cabbage and this looks so easy ! def cant wait to try it

  15. kimthevegan

    I’m not actually a huge fan of cabbage but try and incorporate it once in awhile – this looks pretty good though.

  16. Pingback: BluePrint Cleanse – Preparation Day 2 « Rosemary and Olive Oil

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

