Early Spring Cleaning on MGN!

In just a few short weeks, it will have been 1 year since I started MGN! I absolutely love seeing how much the blog has grown and changed since last January. But looking though old pages, I can also see how my view-point on food and healthy eating has changed throughout the year as well.

If you’re wondering why some of the old pages are deleted, it’s because of the fact that some of my very first posts are full of advice on healthy eating that I have trouble recognizing as my own voice. Although they might be good tips, some of them are a little too strict or just plain high maintainance. Case in point from one of my really old health posts “How Often?”…

The post claims that sweet potatoes, yams, dark chocolate, and dried fruit should be eaten only every other day, not every day. I really like sweet potatoes, and I tend to incorporate one into my meals almost every single day. After all, they are one of the world’s healthiest foods! And dark chocolate? A few squares after dinner sounds fine to me.

howoften

And then there’s the old post, “Navigating the Salad Bar”. First of all, the title of this post sounds like I’m trying to survive a field of land mines, not a salad bar;) The post claims that olives and pickles are too high in sodium and should be skipped over. I find that a few olives and pickles can boost any salad from ordinary to amazing. It also says to avoid tofu because it may be GMO. This I agree with, as I always buy non-GMO tofu and tempeh. But unless you’re at a health cafe, I don’t think you will get very far inquiring if the tofu they use is genetically modified!

saladbar

So I’m doing an early spring cleaning around the blog and taking out the old and restrictive pages. MGN will always be growing and changing as I grow and change my viewpoints, but I know that it will only be for the better:) Have a great day!

Sunnie

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: | 26 Comments

Post navigation

26 thoughts on “Early Spring Cleaning on MGN!

  1. I’m trying to look at 2013 as the year of new perspectives. I restricted myself a great deal in 2012, and while it helped me shed around 30 lbs, I have realized that I don’t need to be as restrictive and can enjoy a variety of foods (some just in more moderation than others!) I don’t think there is anything wrong with doing a bit of ‘spring cleaning’ on old blog posts. I have done the same thing with a few of mine too 🙂

  2. oh gosh I know I will get to that point where i can’t even look back at my first entries, it is great to see how we have grown though in our writing and voice behind the blog

  3. Happy almost Anniversary 😉
    This healthy eating this is a steady process. I find times when I eat “super” clean… maybe a little too clean and I feel great, but miss a lot of things (like chocolate or coconut yogurt etc). I think it’s all about moderation or the 80/20 rule (eating very healthful 80% of the time and having a little leeway the other 20% of the time.
    For the record I freakin’ love sweet potatoes!

  4. That’s awesome that you can go back and see how much you’ve learned. I’m definitely changing my nutrition views too. It can be so confusing to read all of the information out there on what to eat and what not to eat. I find it best to just eat what you want (well kind of) in moderation. Happy Thursday!

  5. Posts like these are like a breath of fresh air for me. I am so glad you posted about this because I think everyone can relate to looking at the past and wondering “what was I thinking?!”.
    This is so good to do though, because it shows us how much we have grown and that we continue to grow. We live and learn and everyday we learn that happiness is far more important than the number of servings of this or that.
    For the record, I could eat sweet potatoes and dark chocolate everyday for the rest of my life 😉
    Your words continue to boost my mood everyday. Have a wonderful Thursday, Sunnie.

    • Agreed- I don’t even know what I was thinking back then! And life is not complete without dark chocolate and sweet potatoes haha;) Your blog always makes my day, too!

  6. I love that your completely open to change and growth! That’s what is going to make this blog even more incredible and awesome!!

  7. haha! I get embarrassed when I look back at my first entries! A lot can happen in a year (or 3 in my case) It’s all about growing. I like the idea of an early spring cleaning. I’m off to clean the fridge! Thanks for the inspiration!

  8. exciting to re-do your blog!! can’t wait to see it

  9. That is so cool how you’ve seen the changes……makes me wonder how much I will have changed after a year!

  10. Change is so important for growth and also incredibly hard sometimes. Good for you for not only embracing it, but broadcasting it as well. You continue to amaze me Sunnie.

  11. Hehe it’s always funny looking back. Ages ago I didn’t touch cheese. I thought it was far too high calorie and high fat. I also convinced myself I didn’t like it! Now I know I don’t like cheddar, but goat’s cheese, halloumi, feta, cream cheese…I adore these cheeses and can’t believe they haven’t been in my life longer! I think you live and learn, and those posts are nothing to worry about as they just show how much you’ve grown in your thinking 🙂

  12. I’m so glad that’s a lesson learned. I have sweet potatoes EVERY DAY! Welcome to my life. 🙂

  13. Aww congrats to a year of blogging!’ Sometimes I look back on old posts and cringe, it’s crazy how much you can change in only a year!

  14. I think everyone’s nutrition views change over time–I’m glad you’re enjoying sweet potatoes and dark chocolate again! I know that sweet potatoes, dried fruit and dark chocolate are some of my favorite foods and I don’t feel so bad eating them often because they’re whole foods with lots of nutrients.

  15. Good for you, for realizing that your views on nutrition have changed. I’ve found that that happens a lot as a blogger. You find a post you wrote a few months ago or a year ago and realize that it doesn’t even sound like you, or that your opinion on whatever it is has changed since then. I have a hard time with it because, I don’t want to delete those posts… but I also don’t want people to read them NOW and think that that’s the person I am currently. I guess I hope that the voice I’m using at the time in my most recent posts is what people are going to judge me on. Plus, I’m sure there are tons of posts in the bowels of Biting Life that will never see the light of day again, because they’re so old haha.

    • I completely know what you mean! I cleaned out a few posts but figured the ancient ones will probably not end up being seen again haha. I love everything from your blog, though!:)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

