A Comfort Food Classic: Chicken Noodle Soup!

When my sister and I were little, my mom would always take us to Sweet Tomatoes after we had our gymnastics class. The best thing there was the chicken noodle soup, which always had a giant line behind it. Nothing could beat a bowl of that goodness when it came to warming us up!  I may have mainly vegetarian recipes on MGN, but I definitely still have a weakness for a good chicken noodle soup…

chicken noodle

Packed with veggies and flecked with spices and pepper, this healthy take on one of my favorite comfort foods is seriously becoming a staple in this house. I made a second batch recently, and it went faster than I could get out a spoon:) The secret? Blending the soup with an immersion blender for just a few quick seconds. Prep your chicken breast and noodles ahead of time, and you have an easy weeknight meal that’s sure to be approved by the fam.

chickennoodle1

Ingredients:

1 container low sodium chicken broth (such as Imagine)

2 organic chicken breasts

1 box of whole grain pasta of choice (I used quinoa)

4 carrots,  sliced

1 can no salt added tomatoes

2 garlic gloves, diced

1 cup peas (frozen works)

1 onion, diced

3 cups spinach

1/2 cup corn

2 bay leaves

1 tsp. each thyme and rosemary

1 tsp. each salt and pepper

1 T. tomato paste (optional)

chickennoodle2

Directions:

For chicken: Preheat oven to 350. Rinse under cool water, pat dry, drizzle with a bit of olive oil, salt, and pepper, and roast for 35-45 minutes or until internal temp is 160 degrees. Set aside for 10 or so minutes to allow meat to rest. Shred chicken into pieces with a fork, or cut as desired.

For noodles: Break noodles in half. Cook  according to package, strain, and set aside.

In a pot, gently saute onion, garlic, thyme, rosemary and tomato paste over medium heat until onions brown and stick to bottom of pot. Add in the canned tomatoes, carrots, spinach, corn, and peas. Reduce heat to simmer and add in shredded chicken, noodles, and bay leaves. Let simmer for 15 minutes and season with salt and pepper. Now here’s the secret to great texture and flavor- With an immersion blender, blend the soup for just a few seconds. Not more than about 5 seconds though- you don’t want broth:)

chickennoodle3

Yum! I love the sweet and salty combo of this soup, and the fact that it doesn’t have that oh-so-oily film at the top since the recipe calls for chicken breasts rather than thighs. Complete with fiber-full carbs and protein from the chicken, this soup is perfect as a well-rounded winter dinner! It’s a good thing when you can’t stop going back for more:)

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 25 Comments

Post navigation

25 thoughts on “A Comfort Food Classic: Chicken Noodle Soup!

  1. I love chicken soup! It is perfect for this time of year!

  2. This is like chicken soup all grown up!! Looks great!

  3. I am such a big fan of chicken soups at the moment! And this sounds amazing. Nothing can beat the comfort and warmth of a good bowl of soup. It’s my go to food when I’m needing some TLC 🙂

  4. Delicious! This soup would be perfect for the chilly weather we’re having. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  5. Looks delicious! Chicken soup is one of my favorites on a chilly day 🙂

  6. With all the cold weather I’ve been dealing with, this warm chicken noodle soup recipe looks right up my alley. Soul warming food for sure. 🙂

  7. This looks awesome, Sunnie! I’ve been craving chicken noodle soup lately, too. I’m not lying when I say I will DEFINITELY be making this in the near future.

  8. oooh that looks like an awesome hearty soup. I feel cozy just looking at it 🙂

  9. Looks like a fancy bowl of chicken noodle soup! I absolutely love Sweet Tomatoes. I actually used to go to Fresh Choice more often since it was close by, but since many of their locations have closed, I guess Sweet Tomatoes is looking to be my only option…which is good I guess 😉

    • Yes it’s definitely too bad that so many of their places have closed! Glad you still have Sweet Tomatoes, though:) I don’t think I could ever get tired of their salads! Thanks for the comment and have a great week!

  10. Haha for some reason I thought you were a vegetarian?

    Looks good!

  11. This looks so amazing! Love a good hearty soup 🙂

  12. I don’t eat meat either, but I totally want some of this soup right now. Sounds so good on a cold winter day!

  13. One of my favorites, any time of year! My version is usually chickpea noodle, though. 😉

  14. Oh my gosh, my mouth is watering! I’ve been making chicken noodle soup from scratch for years, but you’ve got some excellent additions here, like the spinach and tomato paste. Love it!
    Thanks so much for all your great recipes 🙂 Cheers, Gina

  15. Pingback: Classic Baked Chicken and One Jealous Puppy « moderngirlnutrition

  16. Pingback: Benefits of Homemade Chicken Soup « People Excited About Co~Existence

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

