Lentil Vegan Meatloaf

Happy Monday!!

How is winter break over?? I may like school, but definitely did not miss hearing my phone go off at 5:45! Knowing there would be no shortage of tests this week, I decided to make another round of this Vegan Lentil Loaf for an easy dinner night. I really have no clue why I waited so long to make this, since it’s definitely becoming a staple around here! With a lentil base and hints of sweetness from carrots and a sweet potato, this loaf packs in a ton of flavor (and fiber!) in a little slice. Top it off with a healthier take on meatloaf sauce and you have a dinner that will please even the biggest traditional meatloaf lover in your family:)

vegan meatloaf3

Lentil Vegan Meatloaf (original idea from Oh She Glows)

Ingredients:

Produce:

1 sweet onion, diced,

2 grated carrots

1/2 grated raw sweet potato (or sub. a cooked one without skin)

1 apple

2 garlic cloves, diced

2 celery stalks, diced

Grains/ Others:

1 cup dry lentils

1 cup homemade breadcrumbs (I crumbled Ezekiel)

1/2 cup diced walnuts

2 T. flax + 1/4 cup water

1 tsp. Italian seasoning

For Sauce:

2 T. balsamic vinegar

1/4 cup ketchup

vegan meatloaf

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375. Cook lentils according to package, stir, and keep on low simmer 10 extra minutes.

vegan meatloaflentils

 Add flax to water and set aside until flax has consistency of an egg (about 20 minutes). In a pan, saute onions, garlic, carrots, sweet potato, celery, and italian seasoning in a bit of olive oil until onions are lightly browned. Toast walnuts on 375 for about 5 minutes (they burn fast!), and set aside. In a bowl, combine veggie mix, grated apple, breadcrumbs, flax egg, and walnuts and gently mix well until mix is slightly sticky.

vegan meatloafingredients

Combine sauce ingredients in a small bowl and stir. Set somewhere you won’t eat it;) I almost had to make a second sauce haha!

vegan meatloaf sauce

Press loaf mix into pan and coat with 1/2 of the sauce. Turn oven down to 350 and bake for 40 minutes.

vegan meatloafprebake

Ta-dah! The best part is that your whole house smells amazing!

veganmeatloafafterbakingk

The serving size is around 2 slices, but this loaf is so good it’s difficult to stick to that. Since it’s super filling, one loaf easily fed our family of 4.

vegan meatloaf2

Serve alongside a green salad and you are good to go! 🙂

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | 37 Comments

Post navigation

37 thoughts on “Lentil Vegan Meatloaf

  1. I love lentils!! I don’t eat them any more BUT if I did this would definitely be in my rotation, awesome recipe!

  2. Lentils are great. I will have to try this at some point. Question: is your family on board with your healthy eating? Also, are you able to cook for them often, or do they prefer to eat separately? I’m just wondering because my husband will typically accommodate my healthier eating habits but I think of my sister and how she struggles with all off the junk food in my parents house- any suggestions that I can pass along?

    • Amanda

      I am also curious about this Sunnie. I think it is so great if your family is completely on board. THAT IS AWESOME! I wish my family understood how eating healthy can taste absolutely delicious, and I wish they wouldn’t mock me over my food choices!

      • I definitely still get flack when I pull out my veggie burger or lentil meatloaf, but they are so great about eating everything I make:) My dad was definitely one of the people who got me interested in healthy eating, so I’m pretty lucky:) Thanks for visiting!

  3. Love when lentils are used in a meatloaf – they are so dense and meaty 🙂
    Looks great!

  4. I’m always looking for new meatloaf recipes (so easy and delicious), so this is great!

  5. That looks yummy!

  6. mmmm can it be dinner time yet? And good lord 5:45?! I forgot that was a thing… oh high school. I shouldn’t tease though, I have my first class in 3 years before 8:00 am and I am NOT looking forward to it tomorrow!

  7. Yum!! I will definitely be making this!

  8. I LOVE your blog! Excellent! Care if I link-up to ya!?

  9. I am a big fan of using lentils for protein and would love to find a loaf (especially if my boyfriend will eat eat)!

  10. mmmm! I don’t know , but lentil loaf is one of the things we still haven’t gotten around to making (in almost 2 whole years of vegan too!!) but this looks awesome! Maybe I will make this tonight, my last bit of freedom too! Have you ever turned ‘meatloaf’ (Or real meatloaf) into cupcakes? Topped with pineapple or mashed sweet potatoes, its so cute!

  11. I love being able to give my boyfriend a hearty vegan meal that reminds him of his pre-vegan days. Your lentil meatloaf sounds wonderful! Though, I might have to hide the fact that there are sweet potatoes included. Don’t tell!

  12. Yum, I love lentils! Looks like a fab recipe! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  13. Yummm looks hearty, nutritious, and delicious! Win, win, win!

  14. kimthevegan

    That looks *so* good!

  15. I have to ask, how do you have time to do all of these delicious recipes?! It’s truthfully insane.

    • Haha I really don’t have time during the week and I ride everyday, so on Sundays I usually do my recipe experimenting:) I love the leftovers for lunches, too! Thanks for visiting Liv!

  16. yummm i just made lentil loaf this wknd its the best, and i think even better as left overs ! i neverr had sweet potato in mine though what was i thinking ?! i cant wait to try it !

  17. I’ve been meaning to make this loaf for SUCH a long time!! I love the sweet potato/carrot additions. It sounds majorly delicious!

  18. I’m with Liv on this one.. If I spend more than 10 minutes cooking my food it’s a special day.. Haha you go girl. 🙂

    • Haha!! That’s how I am usually (Especially with all this homework!) – baked chicken breast, sandwiches, and salads are usually my go-to dinners in the week:)

  19. Meatloaf is not a common thing here in Germany. But this recipe looks really yummy!

  20. I adore lentils. They are so underused. It’s very cool you’ve made them into a “meat loaf.”

  21. looks delicious and soo healthy!

  22. I give everyone who makes vegan recipes an insane amount of credit because it seems as if it would be really hard to make vegan food delicious! This recipe looks spectacular… even a meat eater like myself would LOVE IT!!

  23. Hey…maybe it’s me but aren’t lentils missing from the ingredient list?
    It looks really good though

  24. Pingback: Thursday’s Eats and a Friday Food for Life Review! « moderngirlnutrition

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

