Crockpot Sweet Potatoes and 6 Favorite Uses!

Boy do I have something good for you guys today!

If you didn’t already know, one of my favorite foods out there is sweet potato. Even this gigantic farmer’s market find didn’t stand a chance around here!

giant potato

You already know what superheroes these are in terms of health.  They’re just one of those foods that makes eating right a breeze. And eating right can increase your longevity as well as make you feel more confident. That’s a win win in my book:)

So when I discovered Slow Cooker Sweet Potatoes over at A Veggie Venture, I was super excited, since I had no clue you could do that! There’s nothing better than coming home to an already cooked dinner. Technically, her method doesn’t involve putting any water or broth in, but after my incident where someone nearly burned the house down with beans *cough cough* (me), I played it safe and threw in a bit of broth.

burn beans

So here’s what you do! First, scrub sweet potatoes. Then, take your pick:

Method 1: Cook on high for 2-3 hours with 1 cup veggie broth

Method 2: Cook on low for 5-6 hours with 1 cup veggie broth

crockpot potatoes

I then proceeded to fill one to the brim with this super good potato filling from Eat Healthy and Thrive! Not the prettiest picture, but I was ready to eat my arm off haha.

stuffedpotato

Now to my favorite ways to use these little gems!

1.) Saute in a bit of coconut oil and cinnamon

jan8salmon

2.) Use to sweeten oats and yogurt!

sweet potato oatmeal

3.) Make this Sweet Potato Pie Smoothie

sweet potato smoothie

4.) Top with a generous amount of nut butter (My fave)

sweetpotatonutbutter

5.) Coat organic skins in EVOO and salt/pepper and roast on 350 until brown at the edges.

sweet poato skins

6.) Add to a kale salad with your favorite dressing

yam kale salad

 Yum! This post is definitely making me crave one right now.

Have a great day!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 31 Comments

Post navigation

31 thoughts on “Crockpot Sweet Potatoes and 6 Favorite Uses!

  1. Great ideas for sweet potato use! I also love sweet potato casseroles at Thanksgiving. Maybe not the healthiest thing but it is delicious! I’ll have to try the nut butter combo!

  2. Using sweet potato skins in a kale salad is an awesome idea, and I never would have thought to do that!

  3. My favorite way to eat sweet potatoes is with copious amounts of nubutter too! It’s such a strange combo, but oh so good.

  4. Fancy that! The only food items I have in my house right now is a sweet potato and a piece of chicken! I will be eating sweet tots for the next 2 meals for sure! What great ideas to use them!!

  5. I honestly haven’t had sweet potatoes in the longest time because I’m afraid I won’t like them! Your post has tons of ideas I’d love to try though so maybe I’ll give them a shot again.

  6. Your photography and creativity contiiinue to amaze me, as usual. My favorite way to eat a sweet potato is of course, with some kind of nutbutter. Nothing compares!
    Those are such interesting facts you had, too! Definitely a win-win 🙂
    Have a wonderful weekend, Sunnie!

  7. Love all of these sweet potato ideas! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  8. I love coming home to a crockpot meal and knowing everything is all done! Sweet potatoes have gotten gigantic lately [but I’m not complaining hehe] 🙂 My two favorite ways to eat sweet potatoes are mixed into oats with lots of cinnamon or with a heaping spoonful of cottage cheese + peanut butter!

  9. What??? Sweet potato smoothie?? That’s crazy! 😉

  10. number 4 is totally my favorite too 😀

  11. Great ideas! I’m a huge fan of sweet potatoes too, and I’m always looking for new uses.

  12. I need to try a sweet tater with some nut butter. I have yet to do this!! I am slacking!

  13. These are some amazing ideas! I LOVE sweet potatoes but definitely need to be eating more of them. Thanks for reminding me about them 🙂

  14. Wow, what a great idea to roast the potato skins! That’s my fave part of any potato, sweet or white, so that sounds right up my alley. I first saw nut butter on a sweet tater on Meals and Miles and have wanted to try it ever since. I need to!

  15. I love sweet potatoes! Roasting some tonight to have with dinner 🙂

  16. I had no idea you could make them in the crock pot! So awesome 🙂

  17. They look perfect! What a beautiful meal. Loving everything you made!

  18. I love sweet potatoes and never thought to make them in my crockpot. Great idea! I have been trying to get the BOY out to grill them for me : )

  19. kimthevegan

    Well now, this is fun post. I *love* sweet potatoes too. They are super delicious.
    Thanks for sharing some great tips on how to use them (I have never thought of putting nutbutter on before eating it – I will have to try that out!)

  20. Yummy post! I love these ideas, and really appreciate the crockpot suggestion. Thanks for all these tips to help get the creativity up a notch since I could eat them practically every day. Cheers!

  21. Hey! I nominated you for a Liebster Award! If you want to participate, check out my blog post here: http://highheeledrunner.com/2013/01/15/liebster-award/

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

