Butternut Squash Coconut Curry

Since we usually go grocery shopping on Sundays, Saturday night dinners tend to be…creative:) By the end of the week, our fridge generally looks similar to the basket of random ingredients from Chopped. This particular week we had left:

A can of coconut milk, a bag of frozen rice, a squash, and an onion. Challenge accepted.

It’s in situations like these where I ask myself, “WWJcD?” (What would Julia Child Do?? haha)  Okay, so maybe Julia Child wouldn’t think “Indian!”, but she would definitely be able to make a 5 star dish of some sort from those random ingredients. So I cooked the squash, made a solid base of sautéed onion and garlic, added in whatever veggies were left on the bottom of the drawer, poured in the coconut milk and a few spices, and came out with this amazing yet super simple concoction:

Butternut Squash Coconut Curry.

butternutcurry1

With its warm flavors and a touch of heat, this dinner was definitely a welcome considering all the cold weather we have been having! With the exception of the squash, it required less than 15 minutes of cooking time, and was approved by everyone. Mission accomplished;)

Ingredients:

1 butternut squash

Mixed vegetables of choice (I chose broccoli and peas)

Large Handful of spinach

Onion, diced

1 can light coconut milk

2 cloves garlic, diced

1 generous T curry powder

dash of cayenne pepper

1/2 tsp. salt

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Cut butternut squash in half and cook for an hour until soft. Cut into squares. In a pan, saute onions and garlic in a bit of oil over medium heat until lightly browned. Add curry powder, squash, and all vegetables except spinach and continue to saute for another minute. Pour in 1 cup coconut milk, spinach, and cayenne and stir gently. Let simmer for 5 minutes, then add in salt.

butternutcurrysauce

I served mine over a big bowl of TJ’s brown rice that I steamed, which is one of my favorite brands, and then…

butternutcurrybrownrice

I made this:

butternutcurrbowl

turn into this:

butternutcurry2

butternutcurry

Done, done, and done! 🙂

Sunnie

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 35 Comments

Post navigation

35 thoughts on “Butternut Squash Coconut Curry

  1. Yum, that looks awesome! I’m a big Julia Child fan as well, just finished her biography. Indian food is always a win!

  2. I love making recipes out of limited ingredients. I find it so fun! Also, that bowl is absolutely adorable. Do you know where you got it?

  3. You had me at the title! This sounds so amazing!! I am obsessed with curry!

  4. Ooo yum that looks so good and colourful 🙂

  5. This looks good! I love butternut squash, but I usually just roast it. I’m always looking for ways to incorporate it into a recipe.

  6. Looks awesome! Gotta love TJ’s.. anything is a win from there haha I also love your serving dish! So cute!

  7. That looks delicious! I actually made a similar recipe a few days ago; I will be posting it soon:) I absolutely love coconut milk in curries; it makes them so creamy and decadent!

  8. This sounds great. I absolutely love Indian food, so this recipe is right up my alley. Thanks for sharing :).

  9. Yum!!

  10. So lovely! What a great vegetarian meal 🙂

  11. yum, looks delicious. Love coconut milk squash combo, but have to try with broccoli like you did..

  12. kimthevegan

    Wow that’s awesome! Wouldn’t you know I picked up a nice little butternut squash at the market this weekend. I think I just found what it is destined for =)

  13. My Friday night dinners are super creative! I always keep the TJ’s brown rice in my freezer to throw together for dinner. This looks like a great recipe!

  14. Sunnie, I’m so happy you stopped by my blog today so I could come check out yours this evening! What a fun dish and a cool thing to pull together with a bunch of random ingredients! Glad I’m not the only one who asks herself WWJcD. I’m gonna have to give this recipe a try, too, because while we love Indian food at my house, we have never made it. AND we have some awesome butternut squash that needs to be cooked up!

    • Thanks so much for the sweet comment! I’m glad you like it:) Curry always sounds like such a daunting dish to make, so I tend to forget how easy it is. Thank you again for visiting!

      • You’re welcome! It’s fun. And I agree about the curry. One of the reasons I’ve never made Indian food before is because it sounds so daunting, but I will certainly have to try my hand at it now. 🙂

  15. sofitsogreen

    Your blog is awesome! I just came across it and am floored that you are 15. I was interested in “being healthy” at 15, but back then it mean skim-milk and lowfat bread with deli meat…. not exactly good for you. It’s amazing how the organic movement is hitting every generation now. Good for you girl! I hope your friends see how ahead of the curve you are and take notes. I will definitely be stopping by your blog regularly to see your recipes!
    SoFitandSoGreen.blogspot.com

    • Thank you for stopping by and leaving such a nice comment! Agreed- I can definitely see how my definition of health has changed over time.I love your blog too- can’t wait to read more:)

  16. That looks really good! I am a huge fan of curry, but never make it for myself!

  17. I’ve always wanted to make curry from scratch but most recipes are too intimidating. Yours looks really easy and yummy too!

  18. Runner Girl Eats

    I need to make this now. BNS and coconut are two of my favorite things and I would never think to mix them like this.

  19. Loving coconut milk at the moment! Love this recipe. Can’t beat a good squash curry. And props on the limited ingredients 🙂

  20. This looks so great Sunny! Sorry I’ve been absent from your blog lately, life has taken over! But I just wanted to stop in a say hello 🙂

  21. Hey I nominated you for a Liebster award. If you want to participate, click here:http://herhappybalance.com/2013/01/15/liebster-award-and-lots-of-fun-random-facts/

  22. I can definitely relate to the Saturday evening dinners 🙂 Always random – but tasty nonetheless! The butternut squash curry sounds really good. I love curry and use it occasionally but would love to incorporate it into more of my weekly dishes. PS – I love the Julia Child reference 😀

  23. I want that bowl!!!….that is all. 😉 Well, if it came filled that would be even better.

  24. What a very delicious sounding curry!

  25. this looks soooooooo good! you always have such good pics !
    i also nominated you for the liebster award!
    http://kaityscooking.wordpress.com/2013/01/14/2402/

  26. Looks yummy Sunnie. I love the shot of the empty bowl followed by a bowl full of veggie deliciousness. What would Sunnie Do should be your new phrase.

  27. This looks so good! I’ll definitely be making it this week! I’ve had a butternut squash sitting on my counter for a good month because I can’t figure out what to do with it, I think this definitely fits the bill!

  28. I love anything with coconut milk in it! I just got back from Asia and while in Thailand did a Thai cooking class in Chaing Mai… best experience ever! I am now able to cook soo many coconut and curry dishes its unreal:)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

