Classic Baked Chicken and One Jealous Puppy

Baked chicken, it’s been too long.

bakedchicken2

It’s been too long because:

1.) I’m a little tired of tofu right now(gasp!)

2.) Mary’s Organic Free Range Chicken was on sale

3.) I’ve been craving protein, and…

3.) It’s hard to beat having a healthy, prepared, and delicious protein in your fridge!

So today, I threw together my classic baked chicken breasts, which I plan on incorporating into plenty of lunches and dinners throughout the week! For all my lovely vegan and vegetarian readers out there, the balsamic marinade in this post is great on beans, lentils, tofu, tempeh-you name it:)

1.) Start with a few boneless skinless chicken breasts

bakedchickenmarys

2.) Rinse under cool water, and pat dry.

bakedchickenpatdry

3.) Wash hands and gather together these ingredients:

1 T. oil of choice

1/4 c. balsamic

1 T. Bragg’s

1 T. basil

1 T. rosemary

other seasonings of choice

bakedchickenlineup

Notice the now empty balsamic bottle that was only bought a week ago. I love it!

4.) Whisk marinade in a small bowl

bakedchickenmarinade

5.) Place chicken in a shallow baking dish and poke a few times with a fork, then pour the marinade evenly over the chicken.

bakedchickenbefore

6.) Bake at 375 for about 50 minutes or until done, depending on how thick your chicken is.

bakedchicken

…and that’s it! I put mine in an air-tight container to have on hand for easy meals, like:

My favorite Chicken Noodle Soup:

chicken noodle

Wraps of all kinds:

veggie wrap3

…and simple but amazing chicken+hummus sandwiches!

silver sprout grain sammy

All this chicken makes for some great meals…

and one jealous puppy;)

baked chickenau

Have a lovely day!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , | 37 Comments

Post navigation

37 thoughts on “Classic Baked Chicken and One Jealous Puppy

  1. That might be a jealous puppy, but it sure is an adorable puppy!! 🙂

  2. Your baked chicken looks so flavorful!

    • Thank you Kerry! It’s really flavorful but not overly strong, so it can be worked into recipes like soup (and even enchiladas, etc). It’s versatile:) Have a great night!

  3. I’ve been craving meat protein too. Tonight I even ordered a steak salad… I never do that!

  4. Please can you come and cook for me? Seriously, that chicken looks amazing – although to be honest the majority of your recipes make me hungry!

  5. that marinade looks great, def gotta make this for my family asap

  6. I have to say that chicken is my favourite protein. It’s so versatile and pretty much a blank canvas for so many recipes. I love your marinade. I love frying chicken in balasamic veingar so it becomes all thick and sticky.

  7. I make baked chicken all the time, so I will definitely have to try that marinade! I love having leftover chicken in the fridge because their are so many easy and healthy meals you can prepare with it. I hope your pup gets some chicken too!

  8. YES! I wanted to make baked chicken tonight, but I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do. This is perfect! And I love your puppy!!

  9. Haha that last picture made me think of this…

    Hilarious! ;D

    All your eats look delicious btw!!

  10. Aw your pup is adorable! I’m a vegetarian so no chicken for me but I also adore balsamic. I haven’t bought any in awhile but you’re bringing me back!

  11. This looks delicious! Easy too which is right up my ally 🙂

  12. Aw, poor pup 😉 haha

  13. haha aww my cats do that with yogurt lol

  14. Is it just me or is the chicken heart shaped? 🙂 looks good!

  15. I just bought Bragg’s liquid aminos for the first time the other day! I bought the small spray bottle and used it on salmon. So good! I’m going to try this marinade for chicken soon!

    • I love the spray bottle! It spreads much more even:) I used to hate the flavor of Bragg’s actually, and now I can’t get enough! Thanks for the comment!

  16. Love a nice classic chicken recipe!

  17. Baked chicken never disappoints! And this looks like no exception. 🙂

  18. Awww your pup is adorable! And the chicken looks excellent!

  19. Love your dog so much, and that wrap looks killer!

  20. This looks delicious!

  21. I take it Zazu likes chicken, and what have you been doing with all that vinegar?! The chicken, even as a vegetarian, looks good.

    • Haha he pretty much likes anything;) And I am obsessed with using it on salads, wraps,chicken- everything! My sister and mom love it too though, so it’s not just me;)

  22. Your chicken and wrap look delicious!

  23. I looove a classic baked chicken. Chicken is probably my favorite meat. mmmmm.

  24. wow…this looks delicious!!! I think I’ll try that marinade with some tofu 🙂

  25. What a great marinade recipe! Sometimes chicken can get boring, but you’re definitely a girl who knows how to use her leftovers well 🙂

  26. yummmy, make me some of that! seems like a healthy treat and an easy recipe for dinner tomorrow night 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

