Thursday’s Eats and a Friday Food for Life Review!

 TGIF!

Definitely looking forward to the weekend:)

Yesterday’s eats looked like this:

1.) PB and J Oats in a Jar. Enough said.

124oiaj

2.) Packed-to-school lunch of an almond butter sandwich on Ezekiel Flax Bread, which I will talk about in a minute:) Some Alive and Radiant Kale Chips (holy yum!) + banana

flaxbreadab

124banana

3.) Wallaby Organic Greek+ warm blueberries+ Granola+Flax

124yogurt

4.) A second batch of my favorite Lentil Meatloaf! With a salad on the side.

vegan meatloaf3

5.) A dessert of  Ginger Chews + some unpictured TJ’s Dark Chocolate. For the record, Chemistry homework is better when done with chocolate:)

124desser

Back to the bread!

 What’s better than bread? Nothing. Unless, of course, it’s flourless, sprouted, full of healthy flaxseeds, organic, and low glycemic.  And that’s just what Food for Life’s new Flax Ezekiel 4:9 is!

Being a HUGE fan of Ezekiel breads and the Food for Life company, I was super excited when the nice people over at Food for Life asked if I would do a product review. They sent over not one but two loaves of this heavenly bread (no pun intended!) 🙂 After taking this first picture, I was more than ready to break into this bag of goodness.

flaxbreadbreadbox

The first slice I tried was toasted, layered with hummus, and topped with an organic egg, which has to be one of my favorite breakfasts! It toasted well and had a dense texture as well as a mild nutty flavor. While it’s not very moist and could be on the dry side, it’s not bad for the flourless and egg- free ingredient list.

flaxbreadhummus

I repeated this the next morning, minus the hummus since I had run out (tragedy!!), and added a Green Juice alongside.  This bread definitely goes well with savory toppings.

flaxbreadegg

….as well as snack plates like this one- Almond butter, TJ’s strawberry jam, mango, and Greek yogurt. In other words, all of my favorites on one plate!

flaxbreaddessert

Finally, I made a second batch of my favorite Lentil Meatloaf and crumbled in a slice for more texture. Such a great addition! I love that you can swap out breadcrumbs for a few slices of this bread.

And then there’s the nutrition, which pretty much speaks for itself.

Ingredients:

Organic Sprouted Wheat, Filtered Water, Organic Sprouted Flax, Organic Sprouted Barley, Organic Sprouted Millet, Organic Malted Barley, Organic Sprouted Lentils, Organic Sprouted Soybeans, Organic Sprouted Spelt, Fresh Yeast, Organic Wheat Gluten, Sea Salt. Rolled in Organic Flax Seeds.
4g fiber per slice? Less than 100g sodium? Yes please! This bread is just another reason to love Food for Life:)
Have a wonderful weekend!
*This review was my sole opinion. I was not compensated*
Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | 35 Comments

Post navigation

35 thoughts on “Thursday’s Eats and a Friday Food for Life Review!

  1. gah I really want to find that veggie krunch but still can’t find it near me. Looks so good!

  2. Love that you’re as obsessed with hummus as I am!

  3. I love ezekiel products, but cinnamon raisin bread is definitely my fav!

  4. Ezekiel bread is so great, but I haven’t seen the flax bread yet! It sounds so good. Have you tried the ezekiel cereal? So crunchy – perfect for oatmeal toppings!

  5. Yum! That bread looks really great! I haven’t had bread in awhile- that sounds weird. I’ve been a snacker lately.. And I’m so jealous that you can eat salad 😦 haha those oats look awesome as well!

  6. That almond butter sandwich is calling my name – I especially love them with sliced banana. And I definitely agree that any type of homework is better done with chocolate 😀

    Happy Friday!

  7. That lentil loaf..YUM! This break looks awesome, I love this company.

  8. I’ve been looking for that flax bread! Sadly they don’t sell it by me yet lol

  9. i do that with my lentil loaf! i toast a piece then throw it in the food processor, its soo good! i love all ezkiel breads, there cinnamon raisin is amazingggg

    • I didn’t add a piece on the first loaf I made, and the second one had a way better texture! Definitely glad I figured that trick out:) Have a great day Kaity!

  10. I’ve seen a lot of pictures where people eat a meal out of the pb jar and it looks so good! Do you just use the jar when it’s almost empty? Yum!

    • When there’s only about a tablespoon left, I always make either overnight oats or regular oats and eat them out of the jar instead of throwing it away:) The PB gets all melty and it’s sooo good!

  11. I made lentil loaf this week too! All of your food looks deliciousssssss

  12. Goodness everything looks so good and is making me hungry!! I’m slightly obsessed with hummus too 🙂

  13. Hummus and egg sandwiches are DELICIOUS!

  14. I absolutely love all things sprouted, especially Ezekial bread! You just can’t beat those nutritional stats!

  15. Your lentil loaf looks so good!! I love vegetarian “meatloaf!”

    I am a huge fan of Ezekiel’s bread. It is so tasty, especially toasted and topped with peanut butter, almond butter, and/or pumpkin butter. Plus, I love that I can feel great about eating it, too. I have seen the new flax variety all over the blogs lately and I cannot wait until I can find it in the stores. It sounds great :).

    • It’s alot like the others, but I love all of them so that’s not a problem with me:) And Almond butter + pumpkin butter is a match made in heaven! Thanks for visiting Hannah!

  16. I haven’t seen that Flax Eziekel bread yet, but I love their other breads…especially the cin raisin! I will have to look for it!

  17. Everything looks so delicious and healthy!

  18. PB&J oats are a genius idea!

  19. Hmmmm I have been looking for a new bread, I am so going to have to try this, you made it look good and I don’t eat eggs even!!! 🙂

    • Thank you so much! I love finding new breads, especially when they are this healthy:) I never used to like eggs, but lately I have been loving them! Thanks for visiting!

  20. I’m going to have to try that lentil meatloaf! Looks delicious! I love lentils!!!

  21. I absolutely love lentil meatloaf!! I wish Ezekial bread didn’t bother me so much.. Some people eat it when they’re gluten free, but I can’t.

  22. Your almond sandwich just reminded me that I MUST make a fried pb & apple sandwich for a snack today 🙂

  23. I love that you topped a flourless and eggless bread with an egg!! Too funny, but it looks delicious. Then again, I’m a sucker for eggs.

  24. Hmmm, well I do love eggs, but I sudo vegetarian! 🙂 I eat limited meat, I don’t eat eggs, or drink milk, but I do eat other dairy on occasion, so trying to find things I can eat can be a challenge so thank you for that… 🙂

  25. Me too, I eat cheese and yogurt but don’t eat eggs or drink milk, I do rice milk, hence why I couldn’t do the vegan thing! My hubby and I have date night on Friday and that is when I eat meat, otherwise, we don’t have it, except on special occasions. 🙂 I am still going to get that bread though, it’s hard to find bread that doesn’t have milk in it! 🙂

  26. I recently started buying Ezekiel bread and I absolutely LOVE it. I have tried the Low Sodium bread and I most recently tried Sesame. I’ll have to try the Flax bread next 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

