Crockpot Cowboy Chili with a Secret Ingredient

Growing up, we always had chili at least once a week. Often it was from cans, sometimes it had that classic orange layer at the top, and it always had some sort of mystery meat in it. Most of the time, after a night in the fridge the leftovers were so solid you could hold it upside down without anything coming out. But I loved it every time:)

We still have chili almost every week, and it’s still just as good, thanks to a secret ingredient that’s full of healthy fats. Nowadays, however, it’s just a little lighter with healthier substitutions like lean turkey, whole beans, low sodium tomatoes, and veggies! Add a little spice and a few key ingredients, put it in the crockpot, and you end up with a chili that’s just a rich and hearty. Only this time, your arteries will thank you;)

turkeychili4

 So without further adieu, here’s today’s recipe!

turkeychili1

MGN’s Cowboy Chili:

Ingredients:

1 pound lean (and organic, if possible) turkey

1 can kidney beans

1 can black beans

1 can pinto beans

2 cans (low sodium) stewed or diced tomatoes

1 cup low sodium chicken broth

1 bell pepper, chopped

1 onion, chopped

1 package organic mushrooms

1/2 avocado

more vegetables, like a handful of spinach (optional)

2 Tbsp. chili powder

1 Tbsp. cumin powder

1 Tbsp. smoked paprika

turkeychili2

Directions:

Saute onion and pepper with a bit of oil until onions are lightly browned. Add in turkey and saute on medium heat until just cooked. In a crockpot, add beans, tomatoes, spices, mushrooms, and turkey mixture. In a food processor, process the half avocado until smooth (or mash with a spoon in a bowl). Add to crockpot, set on low, and cook for 6-7 hours. After cooking, season with salt and pepper.

Top with a big dollop of Greek yogurt and more avocado!

turkeychili3

Don’t be an avocado skimper- it makes all the difference! Especially with this cold weather, you will be thankful when you come home to a big crockpot full of hearty yet healthy chili. And by the way, how perfect is that mug for this recipe?!

Have a wonderful (chili-filled) day:)

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , | 19 Comments

Post navigation

19 thoughts on “Crockpot Cowboy Chili with a Secret Ingredient

  1. Okay, all the blogs I have read today have delicious food, now I’m hungry! This looks so stinkin good, and I love avocados so I definitely won’t skimp there!

  2. This looks fabulous! And I am all about avocado-I put it on everything!

  3. Oh my god yesss, I want this in my belly.

  4. Oh my you’re right…this is just like mine, except without the turkey! I also used avocado in place of cheese…it’s SO delicious and creamy, right?!! Great minds think alike! I love that yours is cooked in a crockpot!! Yummy!

  5. I have chili going in the crockpot right now!! Great minds think alike. I love the avocado on top in your picture.

  6. Runner Girl Eats

    I am a big fan of avocado on chili. I also love throwing as many veggies as possible in there. Now you have me craving some chili…

  7. Yum, this looks like a great recipe! I love chili, and the addition of avocado is such a great idea!

  8. Love this! I’m about to prep some chili in the crock pot as well, only my special ingredient is sweet potatoes! This sounds amazing with avocado, though. I’ll have to try that out soon 🙂

  9. I have never put avocado in my chili, but seeing it now makes total sense! I will definitely have to add some to my next bowl of chili :).

  10. Looks delicious! I detest kidney beans, so I’d probably leave those out… 😉

  11. I love chili! So hearty and healthy!

  12. Great idea, I would have never thought to add in avocado!

  13. Love the chili recipe! I’ve seen so many chili recipes pop up in the blog world this weekend and the avocado idea is wonderful! I’ve never thought to add avocado to chili!

    I read your “About” page and I love that you’re getting a jump start on healthy eating! What a fantastic influence you must be on your peers! Good for you, Sunnie! 🙂

  14. OH man, this looks awesome!!! Writing down recipe right this second 🙂

  15. Cannot beat good old chilli. I love it, and I always add a load of mixed beans in it as well! So filling and nutritious. I like the idea of the avocado as well, nice touch 🙂

  16. Yum yum yum!! I need to try this! I love chili and this is perfect for a cold snowy day like today!

  17. Lean turkey, beans, avocado, low sodium foods, vegetables, and healthy spices in your Cowboy Chili cannot compare to regular chili ingredients! Avocados are delicious. I feel so good about myself each time I have them on a sandwich or add them to any meal.

    Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

  18. I’ve never thought of avocado in chili. Great idea!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

