Kale Salad with Lime Avocado Dressing and Fruit

Sometimes, the strangest combos are the best.

Peanut butter and sweet potatoes? Good-

BBQ sauce and eggs? Great-

and Kale + Lime Avocado Dressing and dried fruit?  Amazing!

Even my dad, who loves vegetables as much as a T-Rex does, went back for seconds:)

kale apple dressing

This tangy, creamy salad is seriously becoming a staple around here. The 3 ingredient dressing is super easy to make, and adding grilled chicken and quinoa on the side makes for a healthy and delicious dinner.

Kale Salad with Lime Avocado Dressing and Fruit:

1.) Start with a bag of organic kale, and gently steam until soft.

kale apple steamed kale

2.) In a blender, combine 1 avocado with the juice of 1 lime and a pinch of salt. Make sure to take the pit out of the avocado:) I broke my food processor with date pits when trying on my first attempt at this recipe!

kale avo dressing

Veggie Overload

kale apple salad

3.) Mix both in a big bowl!

Kale apple bowl

4.) Add apple chips, chopped apples, raisins, or whatever fruit pieces you desire.

kale apple

This salad may sound, let’s say, interesting, but it’s ridiculously good!

Before I go, here’s a quick hello from the blog dog, who’s still sleeping away this morning:)

zazu nose

Have a lovely day!

Sunnie

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | 36 Comments

Post navigation

36 thoughts on “Kale Salad with Lime Avocado Dressing and Fruit

  1. Yummm! Easy but tasty idea!

  2. We were both in a kale state of mind this morning! Love the avocado lime dressing, so simple and one of my favorite combos, yum 🙂

  3. applec

    Perfect! I have kale and I have 1/2 an avocado that I need to use. Now I know what to do with them.

  4. God I love kale.. I need to make thisssss

  5. Yum on the dressing!! Adorable pup as well.

  6. Your pictures are so pretty!! you’ve definitely got photography skills!
    I loveeee kale with avocado and lime, next time i’ll add in the dried fruit, it sounds delicious!

  7. The dressing is genius! Sounds incredible!

  8. Lime + avocado is my favorite combo ever! This is genius!

  9. I agree on the opposite flavors that go so well together! My latest favorite is toast, jelly and eggs. The kale looks delicious!

  10. I love how easy this is! I always love to make my own dressings, but I never want to go through too much hassle (lazy, I know). Haha but I totally agree with you on the opposite flavor thing. I just had a ham-strawberry leafy salad. Ham and strawberries? It works! 😉
    Your cowboy chili looks great too! Not sure how I missed that one, but avocado seems like such an obvious component now that I’ve seen it! Great job, girlie! 🙂

    • Thank you Abby! Mmmm ham and strawberry sounds so good. I love ham+pineapple pia so I can totally see how this would work. And I hate cleaning the blender/ food processor, too! My sister always says that if I make her this dressing, she will wash the blender haha;)

  11. I am loving the sound of that dressing! But then again, I pretty much love anything that involves avocado ;).

  12. Yum, the dressing sounds delicious 🙂 I love avocado and lime and can see how a bit of fruit would sweeten it. Love your photos, too!

  13. So healthy!!! This is such a power salad!

  14. I haven’t really been fond of raw kale, but maybe this dressing will change my mind!

  15. I have actually never thought of steaming kale LOL! So going to try that next time 🙂 it sure is tough to chew lol

  16. Runner Girl Eats

    You had be at avocado. looks delish!

  17. bbq sauce and eggs, yum! and i still havent tried kale salads though i have steamed kale almost everyday.. with this dressing though i may just have to !

  18. Looks great! There is a restaurant in Dallas that makes a really good kale salad with apples and parmesan cheese.

  19. Two of my favorite foods together – kale and avocado! Well done Sunnie 🙂

  20. Oh, your dog is adorable! Love that you call him the blog dog!

    And that kale salad looks amazing!

  21. I don’t think they sound Kale here 😦 😦

  22. Oh my gosh that is the cutest dog!

  23. I haven’t tried kale in a salad before (I know, I know, so behind the times) but I love the sound of this! I guess you can add anything to it, like make it a proper hearty salad and add some roasted veggies or chicken. Oooh endless ideas!

  24. you know I love strange combos! I love kale salads… I used to make a similar one using liquid smoke too. Need to bring it back!

  25. I’m not the best person to ask about strange combos (I eat plenty of them myself!) but I don’t think this salad sounds strange, I think it sounds delicious! Avocado and kale is one of my favorite salad combos and a little sweetness makes everything better 🙂

  26. kimthevegan www.rockmyvegansocks.vaskor.ca

    oh my god you are a genius. You have combined my two favourite foods!! Guacamole + kale. Awesome!

  27. Pingback: Current Obsessions and Shopping Trader Joe’s Style! « moderngirlnutrition

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

